Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars16
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 1999
This book represents one of the greatest collections of alchemical and occult art ever to appear in print. Beautifully produced to Taschen's usual high standard, the majority of the illustrations are in full colour and are culled from collections all over the world. The only slight quibble may be its size - octavo (A5ish), but at this price it represents amazing value. Useful index.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
This book is very useful who is interested about mysticism, symbols, alchemy and religions. For the esoteric student this book will make lots of subjects clear. Its illustrations are too many and colourful. Absolutely recommended.
review image review image review image review image
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2006
This book is a great source book - perhaps not for those who are only just starting to learn about alchemy, because the plates are not given a thorough explanation as to the meaning behind the diagrams and the text. However, for those who have been reading on the subject for a while and are prepared to sit with latin, french, german, and hebrew dictionaries, or travel to where the original texts are available for viewing in the flesh, the book is a very good start. Covers a wide range of subjects pertinant to alchemy with just enough text to make the mercurial mind begin to run...
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2012
such a nice product, perfect standard. the book is so beautiful with lots og amazing pictures, which also makes it a bit heavy ;)
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
I'm interested in the symbolism used to illustrate alchemical texts. Many books on alchemy reproduce odd plates from key texts, which whetted my appetite to find out more. This book is extensively illustrated, and arranged by themes, and went a long way to satisfy my interest. The author draws connections with William Blake's thinking and illustrations, as well as masonic and Asian sources. You'd probably want to have a basic background knowledge first, but to me it was an economic way of accessing a lot of the art around alchemy. "Mysticism" in the title I felt a bit misleading: it was more about esoteric world views.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
this book is amazing , its never out my hand i use it all the time to ref my own work
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
The pictures are a quality and the information is short and succinct but there is a lot of repitition in the images themselves.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
A fantastic book, well presented and not bulky in the slightest.
A very interesting book when used in conjunction with symbology books.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
A must for anybody interested in alchemy - crammed with excellent quality illustrations and so much cheaper than anywhere else
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
Not started reding yet, but what a beautiful book, gorgeous illustrations. Will update when start reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.