Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars LIKE THIS BOOK
I LIKE THIS BOOK FROM WHAT I SAW OF IT BEFORE IT WAS TAKEN FROM ME BY MY SON. HE IS A PURIST OF THE ART AND LIKES MINIMALISM FROM WHAT I SEE OF CORBUSIER THE BOOK IS WELL SET OUT AND HAS GOOD TEXT WOULD RECOMMEND THIS BOOK AND OTHER BOOKS IN THE SERIES. PICTURES WELL LAID OUT AND THE READING GRIPPING FROM WHAT I SAW AND READ THIS DESIGNER AND ARCHITECT WAS FAMOUS FOR...
Published 11 months ago by labi

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nicely Produced But A Very Disappointing Text
This is an irritating book about an irritating man. It is true that Taschen art and architecture monographs usually represent outstanding value for money, however, in this case that cannot be said. Whilst the book is nicely produced and contains many excellent illustrations arranged in chronological order, the accompanying text by Jean-Louis Cohen is, in many places,...
Published on 24 Mar. 2011 by Dr. R. Brandon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nicely Produced But A Very Disappointing Text, 24 Mar. 2011
By 
Dr. R. Brandon (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Corbusier (Paperback)
This is an irritating book about an irritating man. It is true that Taschen art and architecture monographs usually represent outstanding value for money, however, in this case that cannot be said. Whilst the book is nicely produced and contains many excellent illustrations arranged in chronological order, the accompanying text by Jean-Louis Cohen is, in many places, incomprehensible and often downright nonsensical. Reading the introductory text does not give a clear exposition of either the life or work of Corbusier (Charles-Edouard Jeanneret) and reading the texts that accompany sections devoted to his seminal works is rather like joining a conversation that has been in progress for some time. References are not explained or clarified, Corbusier's texts or influences are often mentioned but exactly what the text or influence meant is not made clear and some sentences and phrases are just plain silly, what, for example, is a "narrow cube" ?
There is no critical appraisal of the ideas or plans of Le Corbusier, many of which were unsuccessful and did not work although he has, without doubt, had a tremendous influence on modern architecture. Perhaps I am asking too much of a small monograph, but beware, if you are new to the subject, and it is likely that you are if you are considering buying this introductory monograph rather than a larger tome, you will not be very enlightened by the text. Like many of Taschen's books a chronological summary of the subject's life is provided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Small little book, 17 Nov. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Corbusier (Paperback)
It is a pitty that one cannot find a nice large album of Le Corbusier's work. This is the next best thing that is still available. Unfortunately it is only a little booklet with not too many photos of his buildings and only a few of his other works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LIKE THIS BOOK, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Corbusier (Paperback)
I LIKE THIS BOOK FROM WHAT I SAW OF IT BEFORE IT WAS TAKEN FROM ME BY MY SON. HE IS A PURIST OF THE ART AND LIKES MINIMALISM FROM WHAT I SEE OF CORBUSIER THE BOOK IS WELL SET OUT AND HAS GOOD TEXT WOULD RECOMMEND THIS BOOK AND OTHER BOOKS IN THE SERIES. PICTURES WELL LAID OUT AND THE READING GRIPPING FROM WHAT I SAW AND READ THIS DESIGNER AND ARCHITECT WAS FAMOUS FOR WHITE BUILDINGS AND THE USE OF MINIMALISM IN ITS PUREST FORM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 16 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Le Corbusier (Paperback)
This book is perfect summary of Le Corbusier work, lots of pictures in colour. The hard cover would be nice upgrade for this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Corbusier (Paperback)
Excelent short study
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug. 2014
By 
This review is from: Le Corbusier (Paperback)
Brilliant Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Corbusier (Paperback)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Le Corbusier
Le Corbusier by Jean-Louis Cohen (Paperback - 26 Nov. 2004)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews