Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
12
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 October 2002
This book is really for people who absolutely love Giger's work - there is just so much of it here. Including that fabulous dining table and chairs and the bar in Switzerland. If anything, this book opened my eyes to more of Giger's work, I had always thought of him as the bloke with the Aliens to his credit and a million student calendars! The severity of the work has always 'jarred' me, by which I mean that it has made me pay attention to it. While I prefer the monochrome shades which dominate the majority of his work, it was interesting to see the more colourful pieces. A couple of pictures at the end of this large tome let the book down as the model gives them away as being a bit dated, but that was the only disappointment. It really is a fantastic item.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
I bought this for my boyfriend as a present, I thought I'd have a flick through whilst wrapping.... An hour later, I was still reading it! Ooops! This is such a good book, showcasing his work beautifully. I would reccomend this book to new fans of his art and to his existing fans as its just such a lovely book to own, a nice big hardback too, well thought out with lots of pictures and annotations, a perfect present to oneself or indeed if you can part with it anyone else!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
Wow. This just arrived in the post. I was VERY skeptical that a hardcover book of HR Gigers work could be purchased for around £6. I expected something terrible, badly printed, battered, second hand, poor binding. But the reality is that its actually quite beautiful! Nicely printed, nicely bound and a good choice of pictures and text. Fascinating read. It can be pretty "explicit" at times. But if you are a fan of his work this is money well spent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
This book was used but in a good condition and at a bargain price. I think its a thorough look at Giger's work and life. Its pretty full on and quite explicit but thats the shock value and very much part of the works impact.
I purchased it to lead me to pastures new with my own artwork and I was surprised to see how dark Giger,s work actually is. Visceral and disconcerting he works with a variety of mediums and delivers a signature blend of horrific yet enthralling images that tap in to the dark sides of our soul.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2010
Just what i needed as an Art teacher,great illustrations from most of his career..
Show with caution..his work is VERY explicit!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
The book arrived really promptly and in great condition. I feel the book was fantastic value for money and was larger than I expected. Bought as a present for my son and he loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2014
Very good value large book with lots of great quality pictures. Arrived promptly, a real bargain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2014
Beautiful book choc full of the Biomechanical master's works. Print quality is impeccable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
Excellent.Warehouse purchase at significantly reduced price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2014
Get this book for a friend as a gift. She really loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)