Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michel Angelo Complete Works, 7 Nov. 2009
By 
This review is from: Michelangelo. Complete Works (Hardcover)
Hello,

This is the most comprehensive, beautifully documented and printed book of this beloved Renaissance Master's work. It's complete with detailed photos and information you'd find only in a classroom. Included are rare works that are rarely seen and/or difficult to locate. I'm no scholar but it sure inspires me to be one. I can only imagine the amount of time, work and attention to detail required to piece this great book together.

Jeffrey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stellar edition, 14 Dec. 2007
By 
Serghiou Const (Nicosia, Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michelangelo. Complete Works (Hardcover)
This extra large format book represents the perfect companion volume to Leonardo Da Vinci also published by Taschen and similarly authored by Frank Zollner. The outstanding quality of both books pays a proper homage to these two titans of Renaissance.

In particular the book on Michelangelo, the subject of the review is a sumptuous edition, with stunning photographs of both whole works and their details and a comprehensive text.

With respect to structure, the first part concerns the life and work of Michelangelo in text and images while the main body of the book presents his complete paintings, sculpture, drawings, and architecrural designs.

This gem of a book will undoubtedly be the definitive volume on Michelangelo for years to come.

The book will grace your coffee table; the only snag is that it has to be substantial in size, otherwise it would be overwhelmed by this gigantic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent buy, 1 Nov. 2009
By 
Soumitra Bose (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Michelangelo. Complete Works (Hardcover)
If you are a fan of Michelangelo, this is a must buy ! The paintings are shown in detail and well indexed. The section dedicated to his sculptures is slightly limited - ie could have had some more pictures from different angles and not sure whether all of his sculptures are included. However I am not complaining! One word of caution though, this is a massive size collection - you need a relatively big coffee table to keep this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 5 July 2011
This review is from: Michelangelo. Complete Works (Hardcover)
The book is just amazing, the quality of the images, and the paper are fantastic. The book is big, but is perfect to have as the only book you put in a coffee table. They have another version with less pages, perfect ofr a nice gift.
The book resumes the all work of Migelangelo, painting, design, letters, sculpture (my favorite part), although is a bit difficult to read it, due the sizes and weight of the Book, but you just can sit in a big table and read it.
I'm very satisfied with my purchase, and I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book on Michelangelo,s paintings and for the price amazing value., 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michelangelo. Complete Works (Hardcover)
The real emphasis is on Michelangelo and the paintings for the Sistine chapel ..The section on Miichelangelo,s drawings is only fair as the author Popper leaves out many of Michelangelo,s most famous drawings and seems to doubt just about everything attributed to him and includes poor copies nevertheless .DRAWINGS OF A GENIUS by ACHIM GHAN is far better and TOLNAYS 4 VOLUME SET EVEN BETTER..I bought this book for the paintings mainly . and it is worth the price for these alone ..The section on MICHELANGELO,S Sculpture would not be adequate for those who are interested in sculpture as most of the reproductions are small and there are, not many details-.this huge tome is primarily for the painter and there is none better in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 31 Mar. 2013
By 
Sebastian Palmer "sebuteo" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michelangelo. Complete Works (Hardcover)
We've only had this book one day at the time of writing, so I haven't had time to read much of the written content. What little I have read seems fine (and the inclusion of Michelangelo's own writings - I've only read a couple of his poems, relating to sculpture and the ceiling - makes for very interesting reading). But the visual content is just, well, almost indescribably wonderful.

Having just recently watched, albeit for the umpteenth time, K Clark on Michelangelo, in the superb Civilisation series (episode five: The Hero As Artist), perusing this magnificent mammoth of a book reminds one that, via such a spectacularly large and beautifully printed publication, one is able to enjoy a view of the Sistine ceiling that even a visit to the chapel itself won't furnish. Of course seeing it in the flesh, so to speak, will have other and different benefits that owning a book won't reproduce. But obviously this review is all about the book.

Divided into sections on sculpture, architecture, etc., and with a large and very opulent section of 'presentation' images, there are superbly photographed and beautifully printed illustrations galore. The Sistine ceiling is, unsurprisingly, the centrepiece, but many aspects of this amazing artists work are treated to lavish exposition (this is, after all, the complete works). So there are photos, sticking with the ceiling for now, of the whole thing, individual scenes, and then details within scenes, and some of these fold out, via double-page spreads into images equivalent to four pages in width, making the already enormous scale of this book even grander and more luxurious.

Personally I think that, whilst not cheap if compared to more average art books (not in itself a cheap category, it has to be said), this is, especially at Amazon's current heavily discounted price - at the time of writing/purchase this was approx £85, as opposed to RRP of £135 - something of a bargain, and certainly a worthwhile investment in aesthetic pleasure and edification. I'm hoping the written content will address such issues as how many people (if any: I have no knowledge on this topic yet) helped Michelangelo complete his work, and also to what extent the frescoes have changed with restoration over the years, etc. but that remains to be discovered.

Having already enjoyed several hours of extreme (almost ecstatic) pleasure just looking through this, I look forward to many more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Michel Angelo Complete Works, 7 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michelangelo. Complete Works (Hardcover)
A candidate for the most beautiful book in the world.
Incredible reproductions & excellent supporting commentary, beautifully bound.

I feel very fortunate to own this marvelously huge tome, what a bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderfull, 7 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michelangelo. Complete Works (Hardcover)
A beautiful, stunning book. The detail is great and even more so with some pages folding out. Much too big and heavy to put on your lap!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great quality., 20 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michelangelo. Complete Works (Hardcover)
Full collection of Michalengelo work, great quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect present!, 1 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Michelangelo. Complete Works (Hardcover)
This was ordered as a Christmas present and it arrived very promptly. It was just as described and now sits on their coffee table looking gorgeous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Michelangelo. Complete Works
Michelangelo. Complete Works by Thomas Popper (Hardcover - 20 Nov. 2007)
Used & New from: £250.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews