Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glossy 'Coffee Table' Perfection
Two big heavy volumes! If like me you love to see full pictures and close ups of costumes from times gone by these volumes fit the bill. The costumes are on manequins and are more alive as a result. You get more of a feel for the size of the wearer. Page 168 Volume 1 is particularly good with a male manequin in coat and breeches with a female manequin in a dress and...
Published on 15 Aug. 2007 by Diane

versus
17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete lack of men's clothing.
If, like me, you work in men's vintage fashion, and you have high hopes for this book, here's a warning: STEER CLEAR OF IT.

Apart from several photographs regarding men's 18th Century fashion in the first volume, there is NOTHING on men's fashion whatsoever. As for the second volume, zero! No pictures at all regarding men's fashion throughout the whole of the...
Published on 15 Feb. 2008 by Scott Dean


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glossy 'Coffee Table' Perfection, 15 Aug. 2007
By 
This review is from: Fashion. A History from the 18th to the 20th century (Hardcover)
Two big heavy volumes! If like me you love to see full pictures and close ups of costumes from times gone by these volumes fit the bill. The costumes are on manequins and are more alive as a result. You get more of a feel for the size of the wearer. Page 168 Volume 1 is particularly good with a male manequin in coat and breeches with a female manequin in a dress and spencer. The comparison between the height and size is very real.And these are no 'ordinary' clothes either. They are the creme de la creme - the elite of the history and fashion world. Dive in and be amazed. Not cheap - but an investment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 13 Feb. 2008
By 
Annette Sumption (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fashion. A History from the 18th to the 20th century (Hardcover)
As a costume designer I am always on the lookout for really good reference books, this has to rate as one of the best. Two large fully illustrated volumes for a bargain price. The photographs are glorious showing wonderful detail and the costumes are beautifully mounted, particularly in volume one, giving a real feel of how they must have looked when worn. My only criticism would be that in some eras, particularly in the twentieth century, Male costume is underepresented, however this is nearly always the case in costume books. I definately recommend this book to any lover of fashion, costume or beautiful things...truly scrumptious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of quality photos, 17 Dec. 2012
By 
T. Jahanpour (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fashion. A History from the 18th to the 20th century (Hardcover)
Two big, heavy books full of colour photos. The antique garments of centuries past are presented in a such a way that, although the manequins are shot in neutrally set studios, with the simple addition of period-relevant wigs to the heads of the dummies, we get a strong sense of what a complete outfit would really look like on the body. There are also inserts of paintings to see these fashions in the context of art work of the time. Clear, close-up shots of modern fashion too. A very rich and useful resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable Value, 7 Mar. 2013
By 
J. O'leary (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fashion. A History from the 18th to the 20th century (Hardcover)
Taschen books are well known for their quality and value, but this is exceptional - a pair of large format (and very heavy) hardbacks presented in a slipcase. Stunning photographs of clothes from the collection of the Kyoto Costume Institute including many close ups showing details of embroidery and design features. The text is informative without being dry. Highly recommended for anyone with an interest in fashion or textiles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stunning value, 27 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Fashion. A History from the 18th to the 20th century (Hardcover)
The quality of these two volumes is superb and I imagine that everyone with an interest in Fashion would find the content thoroughly engrossing and inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complete lack of men's clothing., 15 Feb. 2008
By 
Scott Dean (Lincolnshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fashion. A History from the 18th to the 20th century (Hardcover)
If, like me, you work in men's vintage fashion, and you have high hopes for this book, here's a warning: STEER CLEAR OF IT.

Apart from several photographs regarding men's 18th Century fashion in the first volume, there is NOTHING on men's fashion whatsoever. As for the second volume, zero! No pictures at all regarding men's fashion throughout the whole of the 20th Century. A serious omission, even more so if you deal in men's clothing from the 1920's onwards.

I'm so disappointed with this that I'm sending it back two hours after receiving it.

PS: If you're interest is strictly in women's clothing, this book has some stunning pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant seller, 24 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fashion. A History from the 18th to the 20th century (Hardcover)
I purchased this book and it arrived in perfect condition and on time. I was, and am more than happy with the product itself and I would most definitely buy from this seller again.
They also answered all my questions thoroughly and didn't hesitate to answer them.

This book is also currently out of print and was a major find, and very reasonably priced.
You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully illustrated, 10 Nov. 2011
By 
J. H. Chapple (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fashion. A History from the 18th to the 20th century (Hardcover)
These books are beautifully illustrated with dressed manequines (specially designed by the Institute), fragments of cloth, accessories and painting from the periods represented and shows some of the contents of the Kyoto Costume Institute [...] The Institute does not have it's own exhibition space. The historical garments shown in the books are exclusively western.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great books, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fashion. A History from the 18th to the 20th century (Hardcover)
Great books, my girlfriend loved them as they were for a present for her. She is writing her PhD's about Vintage in fashion and these books will help her a little bit to do so.
They definitely look very nice! Recommend to anybody who loves fashion and like reading about it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful additional to my bookshelf, 25 Oct. 2009
By 
K. Russell (Somerset , Ye Olde England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fashion. A History from the 18th to the 20th century (Hardcover)
I'll keep this short and simple;
This is amongst the best visual references for historical fashion. Every garment is exquisitely photographed in exceptional detail, notes on the maker are brief but useful. Both books are of general high quality, they are hard-core big, heavy bulky things (bargain for the price!). The book covering 20th century fashion is a little larger than the first book, which is useful for anyone studying fashion are higher education. Overall, you will find yourself dipping in and out of them at leisure or when in need of research.

The only drawback to the books is they showcase very expensive, upper-class clothing. I am interested in costume design and like to have a range of clothing from a specific period, even so, these are great reference books.

Overall I highly recommend buying them, especially at this ridiculously cheap price.
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fashion. A History from the 18th to the 20th century
Fashion. A History from the 18th to the 20th century by Akiki Fukai (Hardcover - 8 Sept. 2006)
£23.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews