Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leonardo like you've never seen him before.
The reproductions in this book are fantastic. They are huge. Some of the pages feature blown up parts of his paintings or drawings on a scale I dont think anyone has seen before. A real pleasure to browse. While you'll love this book, have a heart for the postman who has to deliver this massive heavy book. I bought this book so I could study his style and its easily done...
Published on 28 Jun 2003

versus
20 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Huge, impressive book but rather poorly presented
This is a very heavy and impressive book covering all of Leonardos works. The quality of the book binding and pages is very good.
As far as his sketches go these are covered in great detail.
The book falls down dramatically when it comes to his paintings. There are some very nice full page colour reproductions of some of his works. But the book contains a full...
Published on 13 Dec 2003 by Biff


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leonardo like you've never seen him before., 28 Jun 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leonardo da Vinci (Hardcover)
The reproductions in this book are fantastic. They are huge. Some of the pages feature blown up parts of his paintings or drawings on a scale I dont think anyone has seen before. A real pleasure to browse. While you'll love this book, have a heart for the postman who has to deliver this massive heavy book. I bought this book so I could study his style and its easily done with such large images. Well worth every penny if you like Da Vinci's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding, 8 May 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leonardo da Vinci (Hardcover)
If only there were books like this on all the other artists: I'd buy the lot. Huge (and I mean HUGE), superb reproductions of all of Leonardo's paintings and most of his drawings. There is page after page after page to look and wonder at. The book (which is 11.5 x 17.5 x3.5 ins) is also very solidly made with a stitched binding, and doesn't seem likely to come apart easily, as can be the case with other folio-sized books.
My only quibble is that sometimes the scale of the reproductions seems unnecessarily large (eg really gigantic blow-ups of small ink drawings), which resize and recompose - and so in effect, redraw - Leonardo's drawings with a modern eye. I'd prefer them all at their actual size wherever possible - exactly as they were conceived. But this is book is so good I can live with it. And where else could you buy something like this for 70?
Astounding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 15 Feb 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leonardo da Vinci (Hardcover)
Excellent book. ALL of the major paintings attributed to Leonardo are reproduced in the first 200 pages or so, with each painting given at least one full-page reproduction, and huge details.
This section is followed by a catalogue raisonné, which traditionally gives only a small picture as reference because its main function is as a history and criticism of the painting at issue.
The remainder of the book, some 400+ pages, shows the drawings. Worth buying for the drawings alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, besides being uplifting and inspiring, 25 Jun 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leonardo da Vinci (Hardcover)
I borrowed this book from the library, thinking it must cost a few hundred pounds. it is ENORMOUS and every page has very high quality reproductions of the master's work. The quality of the accompanying text is also very good, explaining what message da Vinci was trying to convey and what techniques he used to convey it. The quality of the images and da Vinci's own gift for drawing make it an outstanding experience to turn the pages - some of the pages almost make you gasp on first seeing them.
This is an ideal present for a friend or relation who has an interest in art, and it's worth buying if you like da Vinci. It cannot possibly be called a coffee table book because it is so big it is about the same size as a small coffee table itself.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Book, 17 Jun 2003
By 
Alan Kennedy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leonardo da Vinci (Hardcover)
I recieved this book recently as a birthday present and am delighted with it.
Taschen produce exceptionally well printed books and this is no exception. They use a five colour process which give a fine quality to each page. You could buy this book for the prints alone, however, it is also very well researched and includes comprehensive histories of each painting.
By the way, this book is huge. Consider reinforcing your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The genius of Da Vinci, in your own home!, 23 Oct 2005
By 
Road Apple "who brings the mustard?" (Mean Gene's Bar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Leonardo da Vinci (Hardcover)
This is an astonishing book, by virtue of the fact that Leonardo Da Vinci's work is so mesmerising. The photographic reproductions are second to none, the size and scope of the book is astounding. I consider the price to be a bargain, especially as it is without doubt a book you will keep for a lifetime. I only take off one star for the reproduction of The Last Supper, that dissappoints because it's printed over two pages. A shame considering it is one of Da Vinci's most interesting pieces. However, this book is an excellent purchase and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The closest to having the Mona Lisa hanging on your wall, 23 Feb 2005
By 
Prof E. Gross - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leonardo da Vinci (Hardcover)
The closest to having the Mona Lisa hanging on your wall.
The best one night stand I have ever had - actually it took me more than one night to explore the book -
I do not recall enjoying a book that much in my life.
It was a high level sensual experience. Who cares about the text... write your own...
I am a Prof of Physics and a Rock Musician (for your ref of the reviewer) - and this book rocks the bottom of anyone who has some artistic soul hidden inside him. It worths 10 times more than its price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Leonardo Viewed At His Best In Print!, 18 May 2013
By 
D. Datta "dsinghduk" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leonardo da Vinci (Hardcover)
I had the privilege of going to the National Gallery Da Vinci exhibition in 2012 and was able to view these beautiful
Paintings.
Whilst it is difficult to transpose the qualities of the work into printed form I believe this book has done so, it depicts
Leonardo's art work and drawings in a faithful light.
It is an beautiful reproduced book and goes into detail my criticism of it would be that it does not provide enough narrative on Leonardo for such a monumental talent a detailed narrative is in my opinion a must.
Many know his work as he is iconic but little is known about him and I feel this elevates his mystique,
I would recommend this book for those whom have an interest in the works of the maestro and those whom
Wish to view his works, it is as near a reproduction in print you will get to appreciating his genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Amazing Book, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book because I am a huge fan of Leonardo da Vinci and when it arrived as quickly as it did I was just glued to it for the rest of the day, In the 1st book it presents Leonardo da Vinci's beautiful paintings and very well written information throughout it then in 2nd Book there were many sketches and notes from his manuscripts I had never seen before and they are so well presented it's not hard to see why these two books were awarded the art book of the year and a landmark in illustrated book publishing.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone with a fascination with Da Vinci and his art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Painting Catalogue, large Graphic Catalogue, 6 Sep 2012
By 
Marcolorenzo (Italy) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leonardo Da Vinci (Paperback)
Good basic visual and provenance reference work for both the paintings and the graphic works (for the graphic works only those in British Collections are reproduced). Many other works (paintings) by Leonardo's contemporiaries and later artists are also reproduced for comparative stylistic reasons etc. The Litta Madonna (Hermitage, Moscov, Russia) which is no longer attributed to Leonardo,is nonetheless reproduced in the catalogue raisonné. Good quality printing and binding with a shoddy slipcase however. A bargain. This work has just been republished as a one volume XL format at a much higher price(November 2012). Also see a fantastic exhibition catalogue and scholarly treatise which discusses many new ideas, reveals heretofore never before published secrets and contains some very fantastic analyses of several Leonardo paintings and drawings. See:The mind of Leonardo. The universal genius at work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leonardo da Vinci
Leonardo da Vinci by Johannes Nathan (Hardcover - 28 Mar 2003)
108.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews