Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb catalogue of Van Gogh�s Works, 21 Nov 2002
By 
Wayne Hindle (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Van Gogh (Taschen specials) (Paperback)
With most of Van Gogh's reproductions in colour and in chronological order, "The Complete Paintings" is an indispensable catalogue of his work. The book is both ideal for research and for general reading.
I enjoyed reading this book and being able to see a large amount of Van Gogh's paintings in full colour. As a former Art student I also found the painting information of interest, giving information on type of paint, size of canvas and details of where the paintings can be found.
Overall I am very impressed with this book and would recommend it as an excellent buy for anyone interested in Van Gogh or the history of Art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly illustrated, 3 Feb 2008
By 
Benjamin (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Van Gogh (Taschen specials) (Paperback)
This single volume edition ISBN 3822812153 published in 2001 containing 740 pages was originally issued in two separate volumes. It contains all of the about 870 paintings comprising the artist's complete output, reproduced in full colour with just a few exceptions where for any of several legitimate reasons a colour picture is not available.

It is an admirable effort, the quality of printing is superb, and the standard of photography in many instances is excellent showing the texture of the paint and brush work. In the case of the latter the paintings truly sing out from the page. The pictures are presented chronologically, which in itself is very revealing. The text is extensive and very informative, and being largely based on Van Gogh's letters makes truly fascinating reading and lends an intimate edge. It provides a background to the artist's life and his work and influences.

I should mention a couple of points. Many of the reproductions are quite small, less than post card size, some considerably less; there are of course some half page and full page size too. The other point is that while the text and illustrations are fully integrated there is little if any relationship between the text and image on each page. When there is a reference in the text to a picture the picture is invariably to be found many pages apart. Of course with the pictures presented chronologically this was bound to be a problem; but would it then not have been better to separate the two completely. One could also argue for a larger page size, but a least at this fairly modest size the book is at least not unwieldy.

That aside this is a splendid book; and one of the best surprises is that while there are of course many very familiar paintings here, the less familiar are by no means overshadowed by them; it is in fact a revelation to find so many superb yet relatively unknown works. Tremendous value, a book not to be passed over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise and invaluable., 29 Jan 2011
By 
Before purchasing these books I knew a little of Van Gogh's life and a few of his portraits. Knowing this I had a growing curiosity about the rest of his work. This is a book that has certainly covered every aspect of that curiosity and provides full colour prints of ALL his works. Invaluable to any lover of Van Gogh, students or just a curious thinker wanting to expand their horizons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vincent's unbelievable amount of paintings, 28 Dec 2010
Recently we were in Arles and saw the Langlois bridge that Vincent painted and more of the places that he painted in Arles. We sat on that famous terrace on the Place du Forum, which Vincent made immortal by his painting of it.
I wanted to see and learn more. I got the feeling that he painted so many paintings that I did not know. I found out that he painted 860 paintings of which only one was sold during his life. So I went on internet and found The Complete Paintings and ordered it at Amazon. The two books are in a holder. They are beautiful and there is so much information with the paintings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good, if imperfect, reference work, 6 Aug 2011
Firstly, I must say that this is a very good record of Van Gogh's output in paint, a revelation to anyone who is only familiar with his more famous paintings.
But I'm sure it is not complete, I'm sure I've seen a few more here and there that are not included here. And some of the locations are wrong, too.
The reproductions, whilst generally very good, are sometimes - on the bigger, better images - printed across two pages, so the picture partly disappears into the binding, which is frustrating. Perhaps a landscape format for the book would have worked better?
The text can't seem to make up its mind whether it wants to be a biography or strictly an accompaniment to the pictures and, therefore, tends to fall between the two stools. And, because the pictures referred to are nowhere near the text, that can become annoying, although page references are given.
All this seems like carping, and perhaps it is. The books are very well priced and are an excellent reference for any admirer of van Gogh's work. I look at mine often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a bargain!, 7 July 2014
A boxed set with 750 paintings reproduced in colour & another 150 in black & white. Note that the "original price" quoted was actually the remaindered price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The word SUPERB is an understatement, 28 Nov 2013
By 
Dr R (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I suspect that van Gogh, Munch and Monet would probably be high on many art-lovers' list. However, what gives van Gogh added attraction, especially to the general public, is his short life, loss of an ear, the fact that he never sold a painting in his lifetime and that his reproductions of works seem to be readily available in most charity shops.

That is not to suggest that the public will be queuing up to purchase 740 pages of the artist's "complete works", 465 in his last 30 months (466 now that one Norwegian's attic has been cleared), so that they can thumb through it and dog-ear the pages where "Sunflowers" and "Self-Portrait with a Bandaged Ear" (not to be confused with "Self-Portrait with a Bandaged Ear and Pipe"; my guess is that there is a "Self-Portrait with a Bandaged Ear, Pipe and Old Boot" out there too)) are reproduced, but it may explain why Taschen chose to publish van Gogh's complete works rather than those of any other artist.

However, it is the quality of the book that is of paramount importance - its commentary and its reproductions. As usual, with Taschen as publisher these issues are addressed superbly. Most of the works are reproduced in colour, 83% in fact, (the remainder include some that have been destroyed, their whereabouts are unknown or where permission for colour reproduction was refused. In many cases works are reproduced in colour for the first time).

I agree with the reviewer who commented about the varying sizes of the reproductions but the sheer number of paintings included and the desire to include them in a single volume mean that this was inevitable. The relationship, or lack of it, between textural comments and reproductions is a personal hobby-horse, but I am happy to park it in the corner in this case. In my view, separating the text and the reproductions, would be the least desirable option as well as running an increased risk of attending A&E with SFS, Squashed Finger Syndrome. A possible option might be to reduce the size of the text slightly although, on the downside, it might result in larger areas of white page.

Once again, Taschen deserve congratulations for publishing this book, the sheer volume of correspondence with public and private owners must have been quite staggering, as do the team of Ingo F. Walther, b. 1940, and Rainer Metzger, b. 1961, for their commentaries and for letting the artist speak for himself rather than `interpreting' his works and feelings. However, unlike some less expensive books, the selection has been chosen from an art historian's perspective. Congratulations too, to Michael Hulse for his excellent English translation. This is the first time that this number of the artist's works have been reproduced in colour but the authors of previous b/w catalogues should be acknowledged, as the authors do, since they were constrained by the limitations of available technology.

The book enables the reader to follow van Gogh's artistic journey, including the dead-ends, and to `spot' where the artist we all (think we) know first appears. The chapters setting out van Gogh's life and art are: `The Making of the Artist, 1853-1883'; `The Years in Neuen, 1883-1885'; `City Life, 1885-1888'; `Painting and Utopia, Arles February 1888 to May, 1889'; `''Almost a Cry of Fear, Saint-Remy', May 1888-May 1890', and `The End, Auvers-sur-Oise, May to July, 1890'. Each chapter is subdivided into separate sections. The book contains an extended Chronology, a comprehensive Bibliography, a Comparative Table of Catalogue Numbers, an Index of Paintings and an Index of Names.

Picking out individual works from such a book is rather silly, but let me just say that an early work, "The State Lottery Office", 1882, looks rather like the queue before any EuroMillions roll-over. Personally, I would prefer to save my money and buy books like this.

This should be on the (well-constructed) bookshelf any lover of van Gogh. It will repay dipping into or reading chronologically. Superb. It will be interesting to see whether, in this e-technology era, books like this still make economic sense. If so, then I shall peruse the Taschen catalogue with even greater enthusiasm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the complete pictures, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Van Gogh (Klotz) (Paperback)
Actually there are something like 1920 pictures - including sketches etc - but the most complete selection at a cheap price for your slightly more interested than normal punter. Works that you would hever normally see are great and it makes you wonder who chooses what goes in the usual books on him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Van Gogh's surprising output, 29 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. Robert Marsland (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Van Gogh (Klotz) (Paperback)
What strikes one about this book is just the sheer volume of paintings Van Gogh produced before he came upon his late style for which he is so well known. It makes one aware of not just the man, but also all the hard work that went in to achieving his final greatness, which often is just recounted as purely inspired. The text is excellent and the timeline of his life at the end of the book is insightful - we have the image of him never having received any recognition, but there are at least several accounts of him receiving just such, particularly from Monet, whom he exhibited alongside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Van Gogh (Taschen specials)
Van Gogh (Taschen specials) by Ingo F. Walther (Paperback - 28 Sep 2001)
Used & New from: 17.71
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews