Customer Reviews


9 Reviews

4 star
0

3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious!!, 22 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Fashioning Fashion: European Dress in Detail, 1700-1915 (Hardcover)
This book is fantastic. A great resource for anyone interested in fashion and costume. I'm a great fan of the Victoria and Albert Museum series of 'costume in detail' books and this is just as good.
The collecton is extremely well photographed. I like that the photos show a particular costume detail as well as a photo of the garment as a whole. However, personally I would like to have seen some line drawings of the garments like in the V&A books to understand the cut better.

A visual treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 22 Dec. 2010
By 
Bob J (Lincoln, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fashioning Fashion: European Dress in Detail, 1700-1915 (Hardcover)
Having recently become interested in Regency Period costume I bought this book to get some idea of how the clothes of the time were made. I found the book well-written, with a lot of useful information about the clothing and period fashion but it was the photographs which gave me the most pleasure, showing the incredibly detailed needlecraft that went into the making of the high fashion of the times. It would have been even more useful if there were diagrams of the various costumes but, as this is a reference book rather than a manual, I'm not too disappointed and I can always buy other books to get further information on making my own period costumes.

I heartily recommend this book to anyone interested in historical fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good book, 8 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fashioning Fashion: European Dress in Detail, 1700-1915 (Hardcover)
A beautiful large book detailing historical fashion from an exhibition, things you rush past and don't notice, the details, workmanship and beading etc along with the styles themselves and how the evolved (or often didn't.) For the size, interest value and photography it's definitely worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect book ! Beautifully illustrated fashion book , book worth every penny. Recommended, 19 April 2014
This review is from: Fashioning Fashion: European Dress in Detail, 1700-1915 (Hardcover)
I have several fashion historical books but this book is one of my best buy ever. Absolutely gorgeous book, beautifully illustrated with hundreds of large photos and comprehensively written. A ' must have ' book for any serious fashion student or fashion entusiast. A small down side is that the book is quite heavy and massive but it is intended to be also a lovely coffee table book as well as a very informative book. It is a nice book to display too and to read of course. This book is definitely good value for money !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Covering both men's and women's clothing in great detail, it is a wonderful showcase of historical ..., 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fashioning Fashion: European Dress in Detail, 1700-1915 (Hardcover)
An absolutely stunning book!

I bought this whilst I was studying costume design at university, and was one of the books which I turned to again and again for reference - the slipcover has become very worn from how often it was shoved into bags to be taken with me! Covering both men's and women's clothing in great detail, it is a wonderful showcase of historical dress, and one which I highly recommend for any student of fashion or costume history, or simply anyone with an interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to Fashion, 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fashioning Fashion: European Dress in Detail, 1700-1915 (Hardcover)
With easy to use chapters, stunning visuals, excellent explanations there is nothing not to like about this book. It serves as a wonderful introduction to fashion but cleverly demonstrates development through a good narrative. Easy to read and use and it leaves you wanting more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely amazing book, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fashioning Fashion: European Dress in Detail, 1700-1915 (Hardcover)
You don't have to be a dressmaker or a fashion historian, to appreciate the stunning photographs of the clothes and fabrics shown. A classic book. Good service, fast delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fashioning Fashion: European Dress in Detail, 1700-1915 (Hardcover)
A great book to have on the shelf. An inspiring reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fashioning Fashion: European Dress in Detail, 1700-1915 (Hardcover)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fashioning Fashion: European Dress in Detail, 1700-1915
Fashioning Fashion: European Dress in Detail, 1700-1915 by Kimberly Chrisman-Campbell (Hardcover - 31 Aug. 2010)
£36.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews