Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well illustrated and informative
A chronological presentation of Egon Shielle's landscape paintings, commencing with works produced when he was only sixteen. Each painting is reproduced in colour on one page with brief informative explanatory notes on the facing page, and invariably with additional photographs usually of the actual scene depicted in the painting, and occasionally Shielle's own...
Published on 22 Oct 2007 by Benjamin

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars affecionados only
An interesting book but you really need to be into Schiele . The explanations are clear and concise. Some of his work is fabulous a lot rather dull. Its a real contrast to the impressionists and maybe the beauty is there. a good library addition.
Published 13 months ago by steven davies


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well illustrated and informative, 22 Oct 2007
By 
Benjamin (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A chronological presentation of Egon Shielle's landscape paintings, commencing with works produced when he was only sixteen. Each painting is reproduced in colour on one page with brief informative explanatory notes on the facing page, and invariably with additional photographs usually of the actual scene depicted in the painting, and occasionally Shielle's own preliminary sketches. The book concludes with a brief illustrated biography, and bibliography. A most informative and beautifully illustrated publication with text kept to a minimum and free from pompous waffle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars egon schieles landscapes, 28 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Egon Schiele Landscapes (Paperback)
i bought this book because i love egon schiele's way in which he draws his semi nudes...i was not disappointed this is a wonderful book with beautiful colour illustrations, some gorgeous sketches in black and white with the text easy to read. If you like schiele you will love this book.
It was delivered beautifully wrapped in tissue i am thoroughly chuffed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Egon Schiele Landscapes, 25 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Egon Schiele Landscapes (Paperback)
If, like me, you're a Schiele fan, then this is for you. His landscapes are just as interesting as his figures and portraits: just as original, quirky and simply fascinating. Check out Krumau (or, in Czech, Ceskż Krumlov, the town Schiele did many studies of) on Google Maps and Google Images: fascinating to contrast the reality with what he made of the place. A plus in the book is that contemporary photographs (contemporary with Schiele) of the town are shown with the drawings. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Egon Schiele Landscapes (Paperback)
I was only recently introduced to this artist's landscapes and am so glad that I now have the book in my possession.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars artbook, 5 May 2013
By 
A. L. Crompton "happigran" (Royal Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Egon Schiele Landscapes (Paperback)
Schiele had been compared to Barbara Rae--whom I admire greatly. This book gave a good account of his life and work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unusual collection, 24 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Egon Schiele Landscapes (Paperback)
if you only know his nudes this collection will surprise you!Beautiful colourful landscapes more contemporary than many of this era.reminescent of the Scottish Colourists or Barbara Rae.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Egon Schiele Landscapes, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Egon Schiele Landscapes (Paperback)
I hadn't seen much of Schiele's landscape painting and this book is a revelation. Excellent photographs and text which show his experimental way of working. Very contemporary and useful for my painting development. I love his layering of paint colour and texture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Egon Schiele Landscapes (Paperback)
Bought this after reading and studying a similar book on Gustav Klimt. This book was equally as well produced and I would have given it five stars had Schiele's work been quite as inspiring as Klimt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying., 25 April 2014
By 
Essell. (South Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Egon Schiele Landscapes (Paperback)
More gloriously free work to encourage you to let go of exact reproduction and just go for the big picture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting book, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Egon Schiele Landscapes (Paperback)
good selection of illustrations and well produced book. many of the images are more like sketches, but it does show how schiele constructed a composition. schiele not much known as a landscape painter, but the book should be of interest to landscape artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Egon Schiele Landscapes
Egon Schiele Landscapes by Rudolf Leopold (Paperback - 31 Mar 2010)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews