Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best way to start understanding and recognizing art
I have bought this book in a museum in London, initially as a gift but after having a read through it I bought another copy for myself! It's incredibly well written, well organized and i have recommended it and given it as a gift many times. It helps you recognize the main artists that you should know (as the book title indicates) and gives you a nice guideline of what...
Published on 1 April 2010 by M. Plotkowiak

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Poor commentary and too few paintings to illustrate the artist's work. Lacks substance.
Published 6 months ago by Max


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best way to start understanding and recognizing art, 1 April 2010
By 
M. Plotkowiak (Belfast, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 50 Artists You Should Know: From Giotto to Warhol (50 You Should Know) (Paperback)
I have bought this book in a museum in London, initially as a gift but after having a read through it I bought another copy for myself! It's incredibly well written, well organized and i have recommended it and given it as a gift many times. It helps you recognize the main artists that you should know (as the book title indicates) and gives you a nice guideline of what else was happening at the same time.
Absolutely love it! Highly recommended, especially for someone who likes art, would like to know more about it, but doesn't really know where to start!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Collection of Important Art, 4 April 2011
By 
Dr. Bojan Tunguz (Indiana, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 50 Artists You Should Know: From Giotto to Warhol (50 You Should Know) (Paperback)
This is a very nice collection of reproductions and information about some of the best Western artists form the past few centuries. Some of the included artists are: Giotto, Sandro Botticelli, Titian, Rembrandt, William Turner, Francisco de Goya, Claude Monet, Marc Chagall, Jackson Pollock, Andy Warhol, and many others. Many of the artists are familiar household names, while I have personally never heard of many others that are included in this anthology. As in any such book the exact rankings or the importance of artists is debatable, but the overall impression that one gets from the list is that it is rather representative. Each artist is given about a page of biographical information, including the predominant style and themes that he or she employed. There are also several large formatted photographs of the most important works, and these tend to be the best part of this book. The book is overall artfully designed and would make a great gift or a coffee-table book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and Useful, 14 Mar. 2011
This review is from: 50 Artists You Should Know: From Giotto to Warhol (50 You Should Know) (Paperback)
This book provides an insightful and concise guide to major artists of the last millennium. It is written in an easy to understand yet critical style providing both analysis and a breakdown of artistic techniques. Helpful text boxes and timelines also help contextualises the artists' lives, their contemporaries and various invents and influences on their works. The book and binding itself is of a high quality. Full page illustrations of important works are provided in colour. This book is not just perfect for beginners to art looking to find a way in but also as a quick and useful reference for art-lovers and aficionados of all levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An artbook for beginners, 8 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Artists You Should Know: From Giotto to Warhol (50 You Should Know) (Paperback)
I was most pleased to recieve this introduction to some of the most famous artists ever. It was easy to read and had exactly the information about these artists that I could digest. Definitely a beginner book but that is where I am at at the moment. I would recommend it to anyone who needs an easy introduction to some of the big artists of our western civilisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 50 Artists You Should Know, 9 Oct. 2010
This review is from: 50 Artists You Should Know: From Giotto to Warhol (50 You Should Know) (Paperback)
A lovely book with some lovely examples of art work and the timelines were excellent to give an apreciation of their time in history. Some of the choices for the most important 50 were a little unexpected. I would have liked to have seen Gaugan, Rousseau, Degas and Delacroix amongst the list and also Vetriano. However I would recommend the book as a starting point to get an apreciation of art and to recognise different works. I bought it for my children so that they could find out a bit more about the artists of popular pictures that they had come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars art in few words, 24 Sept. 2010
This review is from: 50 Artists You Should Know: From Giotto to Warhol (50 You Should Know) (Paperback)
I'm still reading it, but gee, that is really good book! gives you an insinght into art suitable for everyone, not only for art students! Brill!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book, 19 Dec. 2011
By 
Mrs. P. A. Lewis "Mum" (UK south east) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Artists You Should Know: From Giotto to Warhol (50 You Should Know) (Paperback)
This is a fabulous reference book, bought for my daughter who is doing GCSE art. We have several books in the "50" series and they are always good. Cleary presented, timelines to show context in terms of world affairs, biographical information, and some useful interesting titbits - such as Turner strapped himself to the mast of a ship in a storm to "capture" the feeling of the storm ...! Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant introduction, 8 Feb. 2012
By 
M. Hammond (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 50 Artists You Should Know: From Giotto to Warhol (50 You Should Know) (Paperback)
I bought this for my wife, who was going to both the Leonardo da Vinci and David Hockney art exhibitions.
While she loves art, she knows relatively little about the artists, their place in history etc.
This book is brilliant. It has a time-line running right through it, with artists in chronological order.
On the time-line, it shows the particular artist you are looking at, then also shows the other artists that had their lives around the same time. On each artist, it gives relevant facts, anecdotes etc, plus photo's of some of their works.
My wife really enjoyed ticking off the paintings in the book that were on show at the National Gallery.
Even if you're only faintly interested, like me, you'll still find it extremely usefull, and even for the knowlegeable, it's layout is worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a rough guide, 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Artists You Should Know: From Giotto to Warhol (50 You Should Know) (Paperback)
this was not an expensive book so I guess I could not expect to receive too much in the way of facts and beautiful paintings. however, if one is interested in outline facts about a number of well known artists plus examples of their work, this book is sufficient, but not for anyone who wants to delve further into the history of art and artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction, 15 April 2014
By 
Harvey Washbrook "Harvs" (Stockholm) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Artists You Should Know: From Giotto to Warhol (50 You Should Know) (Paperback)
Very accessable, easy to brows and get into the subject. Context is everything when understanding what makes an artist worthy - and this does a pretty good job of generating interest. Its not intended to be in depth and thorough but most will people like it as an introduction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

50 Artists You Should Know: From Giotto to Warhol (50 You Should Know)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews