Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An indispensible tool for any artist, 27 Dec 2003
By 
Kirsty Hall "kmhlamia" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Art Forms in Nature: Prints of Ernst Haeckel (Paperback)
I utterly adore this book. It's one that I come back to time and time again for visual inspiration. It is undoubtably beautiful to look at but it's also completely nutty in that delightfully mad Victorian way. People tend to think of this sort of very detailed drawing as being very accurate and as being "real art", yet nothing in nature is as symmetrical or refined as Haeckel drew it. He created an erzatz nature, a nature that is highly sylised to the extent that his forms read not as natural but as profoundly alien. The way he drew was not realism, but an extension of his scientific beliefs. Haeckel was a fervent believer in Darwinism and the essay at the beginning of the book is an interesting exploration of the way in which his belief overrode his scientific objectiveness, to the extent that his scientific research has since been proven totally false. He committed the cardinal sin in the scientific world of falsifying his data to fit his theories. Yet artistically he remains an influential yet little known figure, whose engravings played a huge part in the development of Art Nouveau and continue to inspire artists to this day. His work deserves to be much better known and this book should be on the shelves of every artist, designer and visually literate person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best inspirational book, 21 Dec 2006
This review is from: Art Forms in Nature: Prints of Ernst Haeckel (Paperback)
This is a book based on natural organism that we rarely see and yet the forms and shapes are amazing it is like seeing the creatures for the deep which exsist but we rarely see, the ones that seem so alien to us when we do get to see pictures of them.

This is one of the books that i have used over and over to inspire me for new projects.

i have also given or recogmended this book to countless amount of people in various craft fields from knitters to embroiders to jewellers and potters.

it is one of the inspiration sources that Antonio Gaudi used for some of his designs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 12 Mar 2009
By 
MattM (Ipswich, Suffolk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Art Forms in Nature: Prints of Ernst Haeckel (Paperback)
In every sense of the word. There's something relentlessly fascinating about this book, it's a monument to obsession, to the scientific viewpoint, to nature, too. The introductory essay is tedious beyond words, but still puts the images themselves in context - and what images. Timeless, intricate, bordering on heavy metal at times, with their spikes and prongs. These starkest images of micro-skeletons etc are the ones I treasure most. Unearthly - yet also simply a clear view on what is really there, in our world. Every home should have a copy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art Forms in Nature: Prints of Ernst Haeckel, 6 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Art Forms in Nature: Prints of Ernst Haeckel (Paperback)
this book is of great quality, good coloured images, easy to read text. i am doing an art foundation course and this book includes all the information you would require from a bibliography about the artist. theres a good quantity of images which you can not access off the internet, it includes a wide range of works. overall a great book, well worth the money.[[ASIN:3791319906 Art Forms in Nature: Prints of Ernst Haeckel]]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for artists . . ., 19 Feb 2012
This review is from: Art Forms in Nature: Prints of Ernst Haeckel (Paperback)
Having used the 1974 version of 'Art Forms in Nature' as a well-used reference for lots of art projects, I felt I would also use this. Which I have, but alongside my older one, as this edition does not have all the same prints, whilst this newer edition has some the old one doesn't. A great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One word...., 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art Forms in Nature: Prints of Ernst Haeckel (Paperback)
Beautiful!!!
Amazing drawings of exceptional detail, every time I look through it I see something I din't the time before.
Some people have bought it to give them inspiration in their drawings, which I'm sure it does, I bought it to see if it would give me inspiration to do some unusual woodworking pieces, it does that too.
Even if you're not an artist in any kind of medium be it pencil, paint, wood, clay or crayon, this is a book worth looking at and going 'ooooh' over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 31 Dec 2010
This review is from: Art Forms in Nature: Prints of Ernst Haeckel (Paperback)
another beautifully printed book of amazing drawings and prints by Ernst Haeckel. For anyone that loves detail and patterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art Forms in Nature: Prints of Ernst Haeckel (Paperback)
Words cannot express the intricacy and sheer majesty of the representations on display here. I suggest you order this be you artist, biologist or have a mere fascination with extraordinary art. Art that is based on the living and the dead inhabiting our world every precious second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice and beautiful book with Art Noveau ornaments, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art Forms in Nature: Prints of Ernst Haeckel (Paperback)
Haeckels classical book with many ornamental pictures of nature. Illustrations should be printed with better attention to colors, but on the other hand this is low-price edition. Good example of scientific illustration for students of zoology, although from the beginning of the last century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful book, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Art Forms in Nature: Prints of Ernst Haeckel (Paperback)
The drawings of Haeckel are biologically precise and at the same time they are real art works. Very inspiring.
All plates in full colour and good quality printwork. A must for evereyone interested in sealife and art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Art Forms in Nature: Prints of Ernst Haeckel
Art Forms in Nature: Prints of Ernst Haeckel by Richard Hartmann (Paperback - 1 Aug 1998)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews