Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2006
The content in this book should be gospel for all graphic designers. Until I saw this book I never knew what was right and what was wrong about layout and typography. Now I do.
If you know nothing about grid systems then reading this book will change the way you look at everything. For weeks I walked around affected by this book and applying it's rules to everything I saw - I know so many others who have found it an inspiration do so as well.
This book is not easy to come by. So find one - or find one of the many it's based on and study it hard.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2003
Grids, the most important and yet most invisible part of a graphic design.
This book is a very seriously constructed collection of very functional and pragmatical grids (as to expect from this swiss designer), for extense book publishing just as for simple one-page text editing, together with some very interesting comments on the balance of a page, showing the hipersensitivity of the author in visual (and especially typographical) composing.
Must-have for graphic designers, even if you prefer David Carson to classic Swiss Design, there's no denial to the importance of this book.
I must say that it is VERY hard to find, so, if you see a link up there, don't hesitate!
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2009
If you're a designer in your late 20's early 30's then this will be pure gold. My generation of designers came off the back of Carson and Brodie, who had rebelled against the Swiss style. As a student in that era very few of us were taught about grids and the Swiss ethos of order, we were very much pushed along the path of deconstructionism. This book, whilst not a design master piece itself, gives you the tools and knowledge lost in the 80's and 90's. A master piece of design education and by far the most useful piece of design literature I have ever read.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2007
This is a must for ALL designers.

Web, print, spacial... it's theories can be applied to all forms.

6 stars from me.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2009
Explains grid layouts comprehensively, giving full reasons. Much better than the all-too-common graphics recipe books. Perfect grounding in use of text, typographic choices etc. The best.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2008
its a masterpiece. truely a must have. all you need to know, and then some.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
Got this book for college and am very satisfied with it. I have quickly read through it and am using it for a current assignment. It is very helpful in designing grids, but I haven't got through everything yet. Am looking forward to applying the techniques to my own designs. Arrived in perfect condition.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
Grid Systems in Graphic Design: A Visual Communication Manual for Graphic Designers, Typographers and Three Dimensional Designers, 9th edition 2015, is no doubt a classic in the lore of graphic design and layout technique. A primer, textbook, and conceptual exposition all-in-one. We get a sense of how a message is conveyed through carefully laid design work as we read the many insights the book provides. It is all done with the clarity and conviction of a master in the field.

The book is a must read for students and practitioners alike as it encapsulates an approach to design from which creativity may ensue. So fundamental is the logic of the tools proposed.

On a negative note, the book is plagued with misprints, an unforgivable occurrence in any publication, let alone a work on typography and one by none other than Josef Müller-Brockmann.

It does nothing for the good name of Niggli Verlag that such poor proofreading was tolerated. I am grateful that the publishers keep the book in print, but such a sloppy edition ought never to have made it to print unchecked. It reaches absurdity when, previous to another error, on page 94 we can read two different measurements for the same item: 5.6 cm in the English version of the text; 6,5 cm in the German.

Furthermore, I am unaware if Herr Müller-Brockmann did not attach any importance to leaving orphans (single words on a line at the end of a paragraph), but I do know that it is a no-no of modern typography practice. Thus, I was puzzled to see numerous such orphans in the text of the book.

Nevertheless, the mastery of the author is above all that. Though irksome to encounter, the misprints can be overlooked as one is engrossed in the significance of the text and illustrations. The book can be enjoyed both in the German original, and in the terse English translation as the book is bilingual.

I heartily recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
Discovering this in the LCP's library was a revelation.
JMB's systematic walk through grids and layout are indispensable.
Every designer should have a copy along with Typography: A Textbook of Design by Emil Ruder.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
The book shows it age, when he discusses old lay-out processes, besides form that it is an excellent reading for any designer, product, interior or graphic designer.

the quality is very good in terms of content, however i still think it's a bit pricey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)