Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All graphic designers should read this.
The content in this book should be gospel for all graphic designers. Until I saw this book I never knew what was right and what was wrong about layout and typography. Now I do.
If you know nothing about grid systems then reading this book will change the way you look at everything. For weeks I walked around affected by this book and applying it's rules to...
Published on 30 Jan 2006 by P. Robertson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, but...
Was bummed when the description of the book made it sound like it was in better condition than what I got. Normally not a huge deal but it was a 60 dollar book.
Published 7 months ago by Graeme Nelson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All graphic designers should read this., 30 Jan 2006
By 
P. Robertson (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grid Systems in Graphic Design: A Handbook for Graphic Artists, Typographers, and Exhibition Designers (Hardcover)
The content in this book should be gospel for all graphic designers. Until I saw this book I never knew what was right and what was wrong about layout and typography. Now I do.
If you know nothing about grid systems then reading this book will change the way you look at everything. For weeks I walked around affected by this book and applying it's rules to everything I saw - I know so many others who have found it an inspiration do so as well.
This book is not easy to come by. So find one - or find one of the many it's based on and study it hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential graphic design manual, 22 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Grid Systems in Graphic Design: A Handbook for Graphic Artists, Typographers, and Exhibition Designers (Hardcover)
Grids, the most important and yet most invisible part of a graphic design.
This book is a very seriously constructed collection of very functional and pragmatical grids (as to expect from this swiss designer), for extense book publishing just as for simple one-page text editing, together with some very interesting comments on the balance of a page, showing the hipersensitivity of the author in visual (and especially typographical) composing.
Must-have for graphic designers, even if you prefer David Carson to classic Swiss Design, there's no denial to the importance of this book.
I must say that it is VERY hard to find, so, if you see a link up there, don't hesitate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Gold, 6 April 2009
By 
Thomas Woods - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grid Systems in Graphic Design: A Handbook for Graphic Artists, Typographers, and Exhibition Designers (Hardcover)
If you're a designer in your late 20's early 30's then this will be pure gold. My generation of designers came off the back of Carson and Brodie, who had rebelled against the Swiss style. As a student in that era very few of us were taught about grids and the Swiss ethos of order, we were very much pushed along the path of deconstructionism. This book, whilst not a design master piece itself, gives you the tools and knowledge lost in the 80's and 90's. A master piece of design education and by far the most useful piece of design literature I have ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch, 7 Dec 2007
This review is from: Grid Systems in Graphic Design: A Handbook for Graphic Artists, Typographers, and Exhibition Designers (Hardcover)
This is a must for ALL designers.

Web, print, spacial... it's theories can be applied to all forms.

6 stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just go ahead and buy it., 1 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: Grid Systems in Graphic Design: A Handbook for Graphic Artists, Typographers, and Exhibition Designers (Hardcover)
its a masterpiece. truely a must have. all you need to know, and then some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ideal for non graphic designers, 31 July 2009
By 
Mr. D. Collett "djsc" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Grid Systems in Graphic Design: A Handbook for Graphic Artists, Typographers, and Exhibition Designers (Hardcover)
Explains grid layouts comprehensively, giving full reasons. Much better than the all-too-common graphics recipe books. Perfect grounding in use of text, typographic choices etc. The best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every designer should have a copy., 24 Feb 2013
This review is from: Grid Systems in Graphic Design: A Handbook for Graphic Artists, Typographers, and Exhibition Designers (Hardcover)
Discovering this in the LCP's library was a revelation.
JMB's systematic walk through grids and layout are indispensable.
Every designer should have a copy along with Typography: A Textbook of Design by Emil Ruder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grid Systems in Graphic Design: A Handbook for Graphic Artists, Typographers, and Exhibition Designers (Hardcover)
I purchased this book to aid with my web design and book lay outs, it was been incredibly helpful providing detailed examples of existing lay outs, what is and isn't common features and why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
This review is from: Grid Systems in Graphic Design: A Handbook for Graphic Artists, Typographers, and Exhibition Designers (Hardcover)
Very informative - a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, but..., 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grid Systems in Graphic Design: A Handbook for Graphic Artists, Typographers, and Exhibition Designers (Hardcover)
Was bummed when the description of the book made it sound like it was in better condition than what I got. Normally not a huge deal but it was a 60 dollar book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grid Systems in Graphic Design: A Handbook for Graphic Artists, Typographers, and Exhibition Designers
38.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews