Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A hard to find map
Though the primary text is in German and Greek (obviously!) that doesn't detract from its usefulness to an English tourist. There's full detail of roads, tracks and features and a realistic contour shading.
It's very large when opened out!
Published on 18 April 2009 by Ian Terry

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Planning on travelling back in time? This is the map for you!
Seriously - this map should be withdrawn from sale. It's okay as a general guide to the geography of the island, but it's way too out of date to be anything more useful than that.

For example:
* It shows the main route North from Argostoli, the capital, as crossing a 1km bridge that spans the lagoon. That bridge was pedestrianised in 2005 and since then...
Published on 7 Oct. 2010 by Jake Perks


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A hard to find map, 18 April 2009
By 
Ian Terry (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kefallonia (Greece): Road Map (Freytag & Berndt Road Map) (Road Maps) (Map)
Though the primary text is in German and Greek (obviously!) that doesn't detract from its usefulness to an English tourist. There's full detail of roads, tracks and features and a realistic contour shading.
It's very large when opened out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Road map, 6 Jun. 2009
By 
Avid book reader (Birmingham England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Kefallonia (Greece): Road Map (Freytag & Berndt Road Map) (Road Maps) (Map)
We used this map in Kefalonia last week and found it very useful. It had all the info we needed except for in Argostoli where the one way system and signposting is a nightmare. The bridge which is shown as a road is now closed to traffic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars used every day of holiday, 3 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Kefallonia (Greece): Road Map (Freytag & Berndt Road Map) (Road Maps) (Map)
This map was most informative and invaluable for our holiday. We were given a road map by the car hire company, which only showed a limited amount of roads (probably the ones they wanted us to travel on - anyone who has been to Kefalonia will know what I mean - many 'roads' which start off as tarmac or concrete, only to peter out to rough stone track, then back to concrete again) This map could also be bought in many resorts, although the price was more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Planning on travelling back in time? This is the map for you!, 7 Oct. 2010
By 
Jake Perks (Shropshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kefallonia (Greece): Road Map (Freytag & Berndt Road Map) (Road Maps) (Map)
Seriously - this map should be withdrawn from sale. It's okay as a general guide to the geography of the island, but it's way too out of date to be anything more useful than that.

For example:
* It shows the main route North from Argostoli, the capital, as crossing a 1km bridge that spans the lagoon. That bridge was pedestrianised in 2005 and since then traffic has had to go the long route around the lagoon.

* The road between Argostoli and St George's Castle is shown as a secondary route (in yellow). It's actually dual carriageway for the most part - the only section of dual on the island.

* If you were to believe the map, then to head North you would need to drive to Argostoli, over the pedestrianised bridge, then make your way up the twisty West coast road. There's no mention of the massive, new fast road that runs from Dilinata to Divarata, which probably shaves 15-20 minutes off the journey. That's a useful time saving if you're holidaying in the North and need to visit a decent supermarket, as there are only three and they're all on the aforementioned dual carriageway South of Argostoli.

It isn't free from errors, either. We fancied visiting Petani beach, so tried to use this map to find a route there. It was labelled incorrectly on the map, so we wasted a good half an hour trying to work out where we were supposed to be going.

We bought this item as we thought a 1:50000 scale map would be far more useful than the scrappy little map the car hire companies tend to provide, but unfortunately it wasn't the case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful!, 1 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kefallonia (Greece): Road Map (Freytag & Berndt Road Map) (Road Maps) (Map)
This is just a tiny bit larger scale than my previous map, and therefore clearer, although we are not 100% sure of its accuracy on the very minor roads, some of which are missing altogether - I would expect them to be included in this scale. However, it is a very useful map and will see a lot of action, I am sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars General island map but insuficent details of minor roads., 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kefallonia (Greece): Road Map (Freytag & Berndt Road Map) (Road Maps) (Map)
This is a large map of the island but there is not enough detail of minor roads to let you explore the island in depth. Having said that it got us from the airport to the south of the island but once there locating the hotel using the map was impossible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars road map, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kefallonia (Greece): Road Map (Freytag & Berndt Road Map) (Road Maps) (Map)
good map for driving but could have more details of footpaths especially in the mountains and the way marked routes that tend to have missing sign posts, generally a good map.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars USEFUL, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kefallonia (Greece): Road Map (Freytag & Berndt Road Map) (Road Maps) (Map)
Good quality Map, fairly easy to use and up to date. Easy to keep in car and useful to use both when plannng journeys and actually using on the road. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than other maps of the island I have tried, 25 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kefallonia (Greece): Road Map (Freytag & Berndt Road Map) (Road Maps) (Map)
Northing compares with an Ordnance Survey map - but this is clear and reasonably detailed. It seems to be printed on good quality paper, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, 4 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kefallonia (Greece): Road Map (Freytag & Berndt Road Map) (Road Maps) (Map)
Enjoyed reading the map to guide us around Kefalonia. Clear and easy to use. Good scale and clear identification of different types of roads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kefallonia (Greece): Road Map (Freytag & Berndt Road Map) (Road Maps)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews