Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book review -- essential software engineering
This book attempts to bridge the gap between the needs of professional software architects and the knowledge in software architecture. It aims to convey the essence of architecture thinking, practices and supporting technologies and provides concise discussions about the issues, techniques and methods in architectural practices. It also describes and analyzes the general...
Published on 15 July 2006 by Ivan Mistrik

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mainly for people who know Java
The code examples and much of the architecture examples are written for a Java environment. As I don't know Java this is a bit of a drawback.
Published 11 months ago by Martin Williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book review -- essential software engineering, 15 July 2006
By 
Ivan Mistrik - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book attempts to bridge the gap between the needs of professional software architects and the knowledge in software architecture. It aims to convey the essence of architecture thinking, practices and supporting technologies and provides concise discussions about the issues, techniques and methods in architectural practices. It also describes and analyzes the general purpose component and middleware technologies that support many of the fundamental architectural patterns used in applications.

As an introductory textbook it is very useful for (to be) ICT professionals and students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Software Architecture review, 29 Jan 2007
By 
D. Kuo - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Great comprehensive and concise book for software architects, academics and students. It provides a practical approach to software architectures with clear explanations of the fundamental concepts, technologies and techniques. A real case study in the book brings everything together nicely. The book also provides a good list of references after each chapter for readers to find further information easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mainly for people who know Java, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The code examples and much of the architecture examples are written for a Java environment. As I don't know Java this is a bit of a drawback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A super read, 24 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Software Architecture (Hardcover)
This book begins by defining what software architecture is - a term that can be mean different things to different people and different organisations. It then defines and explains all key non-functional requirements (performance, scalability, security etc) things that I think everyone would agree are very important in software architecture. It then explains various architectural approaches used in enterprise systems. This includes web services, message orientated systems, model driven architecture, aspect orientated architectures. There is also a case study which shows how some of concepts described can be applied.

My favourie part was on message orientated architectures. All the fundamental and sophisticated aspects are very explained. These include: the asychronous nature of it, the way you can cluster message ques and brokers, the hierachial naming formats in publish subscribe message topics and the different approaches to reliability (best effort, persistent and transactional). There was also some really good discussion regarding the background and importance of message brokers.

As well as technical concepts there are also some interesting sections on architectural processes, documentation and even my old favourite UML.

This book serves as a very good reminder to the importance of software architecture - especially in enterprise systems. Architectural approaches don't just need to be properly understood, they need to be compared with other approaches especially with respect to the non-functional requirements that are important to your system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mis-described, 11 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Software Architecture (Hardcover)
The book constantly name drops Java technologies and concerns itself with server architectures. As I write stand-alone C++ applications and know neither Java nor server stuff this is next to useless to me. The chapter on quality attributes was good though probably not general enough.

In this context I don't understand either the description or the three previous reviews. Am returning this, luckily I also bought Just Enough Software Architecture: A Risk-Driven Approach at the same time so I do have some idea of modern formal software architecture when it comes to report writing in the new job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essential Software Architecture
Essential Software Architecture by Ian Gorton (Hardcover - 6 May 2011)
£49.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews