Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars24
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£27.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 April 2013
Although it loses something in the translation to English it is certainly thought provoking. The lack of references to check some of his statements/conclusions gets to be annoying as there are several areas eg empty cells in the brood nest delberately left for heater bees, where I frankly don't believe him. The photographs in the book are simply stunning and will be a major reason for the purchase of this book by those readers with less interest in the more scientific aspects of the work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
An excellent book, I can't praise it enough. I bought it for my partner who keeps bees and he is constantly dipping into it for new information. It is worth buying for the photos along. The book is full of really interesting information about these amazing creatures. Would definitely recommend the book despite the price. The author has a facebook page so we continue to get updates with recent research articles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
I read other reviews before buying this book - and what they say is true - it's amazingly
well written for a 'lay' person (i.e someone with no biology or science background).
The facts are mind blowing and the photographs really well selected to amplify the text.
Highly recommended for specialists and idle curiosity alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
Packed with information and disseminating the latest research and thinking about our six legged four winged friends. We all know they are not like us - they're insects - but by the time you finish this you start to wonder how close we really are
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
Great Book worth the money for the potos alone, was reccommended to me by a Master Bee Keeper to further my knowledge on breeding Queens. I have'nt been disappointed.
great service from Amazon as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
I have been a beekeeper for fourty years and this is the best bee book I have read, it is not a "how to do it " book but an in depth look at the life of the bee and an insight to hive life,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
This is the absolute best book about the biology of the honeybees, fascinating to read even if you know nothing about bees, incredibly helpful if you deal with theses extraordinary insects
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2012
A stunning book about the natural history of the fascinating creature called the honey bee. Lots of great images and diagrams help to explain the text
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2015
interesting if you are into bees - a lot of it is now common knowledge
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
Full of information but a hard read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.08

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)