Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all those adults who still ask why?
I love it when all those dry science facts can be linked together to explain things we see around us. This book is full of those experiences. The science is well explained and there are panels with more complicated explanations for those with more than a basic knowledge. The book has inspired me to experiment with the various methods of cooking - just finished baking a...
Published on 18 Feb 2001 by Ms. Phoebe Bright

versus
35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, but ...
I enjoyed reading this book, especially the chapter about chocolate (which I must re-read some time soon), BUT overall it was a bit like nouvelle cuisine: looks good, tastes good, but ultimately not entirely satisfying. It was more like a starter than a main course and because it is a hardback I do not consider it particularly good value for money (as a paperback at half...
Published on 1 Aug 2006 by food4thought


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, but ..., 1 Aug 2006
By 
food4thought (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Science of Cooking (Hardcover)
I enjoyed reading this book, especially the chapter about chocolate (which I must re-read some time soon), BUT overall it was a bit like nouvelle cuisine: looks good, tastes good, but ultimately not entirely satisfying. It was more like a starter than a main course and because it is a hardback I do not consider it particularly good value for money (as a paperback at half the price it would be an excellent buy).

I was surprised by some omissions - for example there's nothing about the process of caramelisation, which is central to many sweet and savoury dishes. Also, it gets a bit too autobiographical for my taste - especially things like the lutefisk incident which used up several of its all-too-few pages.

If you're only going to buy one book on the science of food, it might be better to go for a more comprehensive tome but if you're assembling a collection of such books, this one should definitely be included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For all those adults who still ask why?, 18 Feb 2001
This review is from: The Science of Cooking (Hardcover)
I love it when all those dry science facts can be linked together to explain things we see around us. This book is full of those experiences. The science is well explained and there are panels with more complicated explanations for those with more than a basic knowledge. The book has inspired me to experiment with the various methods of cooking - just finished baking a sponge so I could try the idea of dropping the cake when you take it out of the oven to stop it sinking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb book, 31 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Science of Cooking (Hardcover)
This book is wonderful in two respects. First, it explains interesting science clearly and with examples that make sense. Second, it explains what happens when we cook. It contains more tips on producing tasty food than many cookbooks I've read. It also makes clear why many claims about cooking are just myths. Essential reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for scientists or cooks, 27 Jan 2003
By 
Mr. A. Laing - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Science of Cooking (Hardcover)
This book explains clearly the fundamental processes that go on when cooking basic dishes. For example: bread, pastry, or meat. It enables you to use the scientific principles described to improve and understand your cooking. A fascinating read, and understandable even if you're not a graduate scientist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some detail missing perhaps..., 28 Dec 2004
By 
Neil Attrell "Neil Attrell" (Holloway, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Science of Cooking (Hardcover)
In common with all the other reviewers, I found this book to be a revelation. My mother's rules-of-thumb, passed down, are now given a scientific basis, or a better alternative is offered.
Although this book has changed many of my cooking practices, I would offer one caveat: if you are seeking specific information when designing new recipes you may find this book lacking. In particular, the index has no entries for either salt or alcohol; the latter rarely needed, admittedly, but the former absolutely basic.
These niggles aside, I can thoroughly recommend this book to all but the most pedantic (probably including myself!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars P. Barham's The Science of Cooking, 28 Oct 2008
This review is from: The Science of Cooking (Hardcover)
Having been lectured by the author in Physics at the University of Bristol it was interesting to read a book that continued to portray his enthusiasm for science. A thoroughly useful book that has definately improved my understanding of cooking, would have liked a bit more physics, and as I know he posseses great explanatory skills to illuminate topics that would appear otherwise unfathomable to the non-physicist, I feel this may be it's only low. However this book is certainly accesible to all and has some good basic recipes to illustrate the scientific principles covered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book about cooking I've ever read, 26 May 2008
By 
Tomasz Wegrzanowski (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Science of Cooking (Hardcover)
This book is a rare gem - instead of just providing a list of recipes like most books about cooking do, it gives you detailed descriptions of how various methods of food preparation work.

The book presents both scientific theory behind the techniques and practical instructions on how to use it in everyday cooking.

Definitely a must have for everybody seriously interested in good food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Full of information, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Science of Cooking (Hardcover)
The book does get quite anecdotal. The recipes in the book are pretty OK however if you are only going to buy one book about the science behind cooking than this book is not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book to find out what is really happening in your kitchen, 14 Nov 2007
By 
R. Young (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Science of Cooking (Hardcover)
Peter has an obvious analytical passion in this book. He answers a lot of the questions I had about why certain things happen as they do when I'm cooking. A really interesting and good fun read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Food from a physycist, 10 Nov 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Science of Cooking (Hardcover)
The contents of the book are fascinating, and Peter enlivens thing with his personal narrative on occasion. Unfortunately his style is a little dry but the amount of information packed into this book is well worth the effoprt involved in reading it. Peter is a superb lecturer and if you get the chance go to one of his food science days run occasionally at Bristol University. Not only will Peter make ice cream using liquid nitrogen (beating Heston Blumenthal by many years) but will also freeze and shatter his tie for the amusement of his audience. Then you get to eat the practical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Science of Cooking
The Science of Cooking by Peter Barham (Hardcover - 4 Oct 2000)
29.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews