Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A single source for clinical neurology
This book is well formatted. The individual chapters focus on different presentations (e.g. headaches, peripheral neuropathy) and work logically through conditions, signs and symptoms. The author uses his clinical experience to add opinions and case studies, making the text more readable and memorable.
I've found this book very helpful. It collects together...
Published on 18 Feb 2004

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very good book but this one is in small print
The book is still very useful though printed several years ago. What I didn't realise was that this print is in small size, so the writings under the pictures or tables is a challenge for eyes!
Published on 2 Jan 2010 by Mohadash


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A single source for clinical neurology, 18 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Neurological Differential Diagnosis (Hardcover)
This book is well formatted. The individual chapters focus on different presentations (e.g. headaches, peripheral neuropathy) and work logically through conditions, signs and symptoms. The author uses his clinical experience to add opinions and case studies, making the text more readable and memorable.
I've found this book very helpful. It collects together information that you'd have to search numerous other anatomical and medical texts for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neurological Differential Diagnosis, 28 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Neurological Differential Diagnosis (Hardcover)
If there was one medical textbook that I would take with me to a desert island this would be it. I was lucky enough to get the first edition signed by the author and when (at the ripe old age of 47) I decided to MRCP I was delighted to find that there was a second edition.
The strengths of the book are threefold. 1) it draws on the clinical experience of a practising neurologist and does not rely on regurgitating guidelines and lists.Nor does it resort to the ubiqitous CT / MRI when things don't fit 2) The drawings (still by the author I think) are outstanding. 3)the reader (even one as hapless as I) can engage with the author who is both witty and anecdotal.
It is certainly a "must" for MRCP. I certainly recommend it to all my GP registrars and even medical students.Don't be put off by the size - it is so well written that you may enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a god send for under graduates and above !, 14 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Neurological Differential Diagnosis (Hardcover)
its diffecult enough grasping the in depth neurology required at medical level, and even more difecult to apply it to a patient with neurological dysfunction! its great to help you understand the detail required for your medical knowledge and when preparing for exams. its clear, concise, and easy to read, useful to a student, and as a graduate practioner. i would recommend it for everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Text, 11 July 2012
This review is from: Neurological Differential Diagnosis (Hardcover)
I am a medical student at Edinburgh University. This was the fifth book I purchased in pursuit of an understanding of the basic neurology underlying clinical presentation and is now the only one I use.

I find there is an increasing tendency for medical textbooks, particularly those aimed at students, to present information in the form of a revision aid. They become a confusing mixture of buzz words which might get you through an exam but do little to aid one's understanding and, therefore, clinical aptitude. This book is exactly the opposite. Sometimes more information actually makes things easier to understand because they seem more logical. This is a rare treat in that the author takes the time to explain the anatomical/physiological basis behind both the complaint and the presentation. The section on lumbar puncture is as detailed as it should be in other books of this kind but so often isn't.

Do bare in mind however, that the primary thrust of this book is towards understanding clinical presentation. As far as I can tell it is the first in that class. However, it is rather slight on pharmacology and interpretation of imaging so try other titles for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Neurological Bible for the General Physician, GP & Medical Student, 9 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neurological Differential Diagnosis (Hardcover)
Since I first met the first edition of this book some years ago it has never been far from my side.
It provides a first rate insight into neuroanatomy and clinical neurology and will be of inestimable value from the medical student trying for the first time to grasp the importance of neuroanatomy and liking it to a clinical subject they may not yet have confronted; through the recently qualified doctor studying for higher professional exams; to the practising doctor who wants to remind themselves of this vast subject its subtle clinical signs and updates in investigation.
My only disappointment was the loss of the larger format of the first edition and the inevitably smaller reproduction of the superb diagrams. But alas I suspect that the the book has become a victim of the expansion of the fascinating material which needs to be kept with in a manageable publication size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easy to use, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neurological Differential Diagnosis (Hardcover)
Brilliantly clear and wide-ranging. Good descriptions and drawings make it a very easy book to use and explore the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars interesting read, 29 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: Neurological Differential Diagnosis (Hardcover)
A must have book for anyone interested in neurology!

Clinical experience speaks here rather than academic lecture...

I would recommend to general physicians especially.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clinical companion, 3 July 2011
This review is from: Neurological Differential Diagnosis (Hardcover)
Amazing book. A must-have in clinical practice. Offers insights of years of experiences, clear tables and case-history and lots of useful tips. Tutors in clinic still refer to it all the times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the 'Daddy' of neurology textbooks., 10 Jun 2010
By 
Dr. M. Johnston (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Neurological Differential Diagnosis (Hardcover)
The book starts each section with interesting cases and describes neuroanatomy and clinical conditions excellently. The textbook has excellent pictures also to help understand. It will take a while to get through, but it is a book to last the ages.

I think it now comes in a smaller size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the bible 2, 7 Jan 2005
This review is from: Neurological Differential Diagnosis (Hardcover)
ok, so this is a hefty book, not one to carry in your white coat pocket (if you still wear one), but it tells you all you need to know about clinical examination, and procedures. I learnt how to do lumbar punctures properly from this book (and what to do if the opening pressure's sky high!) - it stands as one of the best medical texts I've ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Neurological Differential Diagnosis
Neurological Differential Diagnosis by John P. Patten (Hardcover - 25 Sep 1998)
£44.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews