Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A seminal work
Certainly worthy of a place in any self respecting library, Buchner's tale of a soldier driven mad by his cheating wife works on many levels.
Told with the minimum of stage directions, Woyzeck has been (famously) put together by various editors to meet Buchner's perceived intentions. This edition certainly reads as the definitive one, and the full and informative...
Published on 17 Nov 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
good read
Published 2 months ago by R


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A seminal work, 17 Nov 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Certainly worthy of a place in any self respecting library, Buchner's tale of a soldier driven mad by his cheating wife works on many levels.
Told with the minimum of stage directions, Woyzeck has been (famously) put together by various editors to meet Buchner's perceived intentions. This edition certainly reads as the definitive one, and the full and informative notes provided here help give you as much insight as you could need, and more than is probably merited for a bargain price of £3.99.
A fantastic play, full of characters and motives that are beautifully fleshed out with the maximum of subtlety and the minimum of effort, Woyzeck provides an essential antidote to the over produced plays and scripts of the modern age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frighteningly accurate picture of human nature, 2 Jan 2002
By A Customer
As a student director I picked this up as a challenge and it certainly was! This chilling play is a fantastic example of some of the most cutting edge theatre of our time. Chronologically, this version makes more sense than other copies I have read, the editor has kept the play in it's unfinished state which, in my opinion, makes it all the more interesting. It is well worth a read whether or not you consider yourself a theatre buff.
*: take the time to read the editor's notes and original manuscript (at the back) rather heavy going but stick with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My preferred translation, 7 Aug 2007
By 
Mr Benjamin J. Ellis (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Of the translations that are out there, I think this one by Gregory Motton (a fantastic playwright in his own right) does the most illuminating job, keeping the play jagged and alive. Other translations tend to stem the rhythm of the dialogue within the lines. This edition also comes with a very useful introduction, so that readers can understand why other versions of the play might occur in a different order of scenes, as well as highlighting the importance of Woyzeck as a revolutionary moment of dramatic writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have wanted to get a copy for years - likewise wanted to see a performance and always missed out (poor availability & timetabling). So happy to receive this and enjoy. Paper quality could be better - but for the price can't quibble. Delivery and packaging all good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Woyzeck, 19 Aug 2010
This script arrived promptly and in excellent condition. I would definatly use amazon for this purpose again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Woyzeck, 15 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. A. Oliver - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very quick and easy transaction. Got exactly what I asked for and it arrived really quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars exam read, 6 May 2009
By 
A. Sunners "sunny" (liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Woyzeck (Modern Plays) (Paperback)
this is a quick read, but with a twist, you never quite know which order the scenes should be in. lots of ideas and styles for studying with students, you can have great fun with this. lots of people warned me that it was difficult, maybe i'm missing something, i found it easy to read and looking for answers. get hold of the DVD it works well with the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Woyzeck
Woyzeck by Georg Büchner (Paperback - Nov 2011)
£3.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews