Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I had the wrong impression of this, it is really worth reading.
Oscar Wilde, imprisoned for homosexuality, writes a public letter to his partner, in what then was a crime. There is no bitterness in this book, I expected an attack on Bosie, the marquis of Queensberry's son, Wilde's lover, for not pulling strings to save him from prison in Reading Gaol but it is a highly philosophical work showing how he comes to terms with confinement...
Published on 9 May 2012 by H. M. Sykes

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Edited version
I read over half the book, which was very enjoyable, but then discovered it was the edited version,without any of the personal details, so had to locate an unedited version and start again
Published 17 months ago by Kieran Murphy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I had the wrong impression of this, it is really worth reading., 9 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De Profundis (Kindle Edition)
Oscar Wilde, imprisoned for homosexuality, writes a public letter to his partner, in what then was a crime. There is no bitterness in this book, I expected an attack on Bosie, the marquis of Queensberry's son, Wilde's lover, for not pulling strings to save him from prison in Reading Gaol but it is a highly philosophical work showing how he comes to terms with confinement and how this is a positive influence on his life. Personally, I don't want to go to prison to encounter the same experience but as a book / letter to make you think this is well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Edited version, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De Profundis (Kindle Edition)
I read over half the book, which was very enjoyable, but then discovered it was the edited version,without any of the personal details, so had to locate an unedited version and start again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How can you not love Oscar?, 30 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De Profundis (Kindle Edition)
Its Wilde's wit and his emotional range which make him a remarkable Irish author and De Profundis is a classic work of Wilde. Written while he was in jail for 'gross indecency' to his lover, we see Wilde's soul emerge on the pages of this work. Honest, open and touching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Depths of despair, 24 Dec. 2012
By 
Mr. N. B. Hodson "Bruce Hodson" (Northants, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De Profundis (Kindle Edition)
Written by an experienced author, previously so admired in his career, to try to explain his sexual outlook whilst locked up in prison. By this means he managed, through diverse language, to bring home to his (open minded readers) how he had (he at one point thought "degenerated") overcome his 'failed' mind, actually bringing home to those readers - and eventually himself - what good in him these 'failings' produced. Part of this is to explain his admiration of Lord Alfred Douglas (Bosie) to himself, the world, and Bosie himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars De Profundis is one of those beautiful books that can change your life, 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De Profundis (Kindle Edition)
I had never heard of this book until watching the TV program, My Life in Books, where the actress, Natasha McElhone, spoke movingly about it's poetic beauty. Before this, my acquaintance with Oscar Wilde was limited to a few popular plays & novels, some witty quotes and the usual biographical stuff about his rise and fall. Wilde claimed that the two most important events in his life were being sent to Oxford and being sent to gaol and De Profundis combines both this learning and humility. I was particularly moved by the passages about Jesus as a romantic artist - indeed, I was often moved to tears by the truth and sincerity of Wilde's words. De Profundis is one of those beautiful books that can change your life, or at least turn on a light to help overcome the darkness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Prose. Disappointingly read.!!, 22 Sept. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a great lover of De Profundis, and the joyful owner of a facsimile copy, I really looked forward to hearing Colin Redgrave reading this audio version, especially as it was actually recorded in Reading Jail. Alas though that was the first big mistake as far as I am concerned, as the echo of the empty cell that we are supposed to imagine, really does at times drown out Corin Redgraves emotion filled voice. A voice, which a lot of the time is not very clear anyway, and made worse by an poor attempt at an Irish accent. An accent which incidentally, by the time Wilde wrote this letter, he had deliberately lost.
I am very disappointed with this reading, but would not dissuade anyone from buying it, as we all hear things differently..!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars choosing a brave response, 22 April 2012
By 
Mr. Philip R. Hyne (Gloucestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De Profundis (Kindle Edition)
I've enjoyed the usual Wilde plays but never found this item by him until now; written in prison and looking to his own punishment and his response to it, and society's likely response to himself as an ex-con who'd had it all before and lost it - except that what it seems he found was himself as never before. A profoundly moving piece that looks deep into his own soul and his relation to his punishment and the society that imposed it upon him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incomplete version, 10 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De Profundis (Kindle Edition)
This is the abridged version, don't waste time on it. Very disappointed that this is not made clear before purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De Profundis (Kindle Edition)
The voice of Oscar in his most terrible time. Sad but beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De Profundis (Kindle Edition)
oscar wilde at his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

De profundis.
De profundis. by Oscar Wilde (Paperback - 31 Jan. 2001)
Used & New from: £22.87
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews