Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book of all time
I'm not kidding. This book is fantastic. A combination of action packed historical novel fused with technology and business aware funkiness. It's based in two main time periods that proceed in parallel throughout the book: near present day and the second world war. The WW2 thread examines the games of deception played by the Allies, the German's and the...
Published on 21 Feb. 2006 by Jim Moores

versus
4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars English description but German Book!!!!
Don't buy this by accident. Book is in German even if description is in English. Very misleading!!! However this author is normally exceptional.
Published on 27 Aug. 2010 by Brendan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book of all time, 21 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Cryptonomicon (Paperback)
I'm not kidding. This book is fantastic. A combination of action packed historical novel fused with technology and business aware funkiness. It's based in two main time periods that proceed in parallel throughout the book: near present day and the second world war. The WW2 thread examines the games of deception played by the Allies, the German's and the Japanese and demonstrates how key code-breaking was to the outcome of the war. In the modern day thread we follow a young entrepreneurial programmer through a web of business deals and along a road of personal discovery.
Stephenson is able to bring to life real historical characters like Alan Turing (famous cryptographer and pretty much inventor of the concept of computers) and General MacArthur and weave them deep into the story line in a totally beleivable way. There is a sharp wit in the writing and he pulls no punches in his depictions of war and life and death.
If you like crypto, tech and history, you'll make this book your new bible. If you don't, you should at least find this book facinating.
I don't find new writers I like very often, but after reading this book I'm going to read everything this guy has ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stunning Work, 30 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Cryptonomicon. (Hardcover)
This novel deserves to be put up on the shelf with the all time greats of literature. One day it will be taught in schools alongside Shakespeare and Moliere. Stephenson manages to create a work of such exquisite plot, pace and erudition that it stands head and shoulders above any genre distinctions, taking its place as a true classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Wonderful book, 2 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Cryptonomicon (Paperback)
It hardly seems worth reviewing as everyone else has given it five stars. I loved it. If you aren't a bit of an encryption or computer buff you may find it hard going. But even there it has plenty of plot, people, scenery to keep everyone happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN ABSOLUTE JOY!, 27 Mar. 2007
By 
David Balfe (Bedfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cryptonomicon (Paperback)
I've read most of Stephenson's books and while the Baroque Cycle is wonderful and a must-read, this is still the book I'd rate his best.

I took it on a holiday with friends that turned into a disaster (big fall-outs between families!!!) but I didn't care, cos reading this book was such an absolutel joy it didn't matter that it rained most days or that everyone else was miserable and hating each other, I was happy as a sandboy sitting by myself ploughing through this every spare minute!

It's got a plot as riveting as the best airport thriller but with the scope and intelligence of an epic historical masterpiece. Don't worry if you know nothing about codes and code-breaking, or that you really don't want to know - by the time you've finished this book you'll be an expert on the history of cryptography and enjoyed every fact you've ingested.

I can't recommend it too highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars English description but German Book!!!!, 27 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Cryptonomicon (Paperback)
Don't buy this by accident. Book is in German even if description is in English. Very misleading!!! However this author is normally exceptional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cryptonomicon
Cryptonomicon by Neal Stephenson (Paperback - 28 Feb. 2005)
Used & New from: £9.51
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews