Customer Reviews


252 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (39)
1 star:
 (58)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never will you know a character so well in 24 hours...
Saturday is a day in the life of Henry Perowne, a Fitzrovia Square dwelling neurosurgeon. The book follows an eventful day in his life, describing & detailing every thought he has about his surroundings, family, coworkers and generally his life. When a minor traffic accident brings unwelcome elements into his life, his diurnal evaluations will count for nothing as a...
Published on 2 Sep 2010 by J. Morris

versus
35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A brussels sprout of a book
It was surprising to find so many 1- and 2-star reviews here at Amazon. "Saturday" has a lot going for it. Much has been made of the technical impressiveness of McEwan's prose; his meticulous research into multiple topics; the attention to detail in the stream-of-conciousness narration of the central character, whose constantly calculating approach to life seemed entirely...
Published on 30 Oct 2009 by muddy-funster


‹ Previous | 124 25 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Its in the bin!, 19 Aug 2010
This review is from: Saturday (Paperback)
I've never before put a book in the bin but that is what happened to this crass bit of tripe. All the lead characters are stomach churning successes who are all so far up their own b____________s it makes you wonder where Ian got his ideas from. A bit worrying really if he mixes with these obsequious types.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A McEwan masterpiece, 1 May 2010
This review is from: Saturday (Paperback)
The book begins slowly with over detailed descriptions but a great story once you get into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 28 Feb 2007
This review is from: Saturday (Paperback)
This is a good in between book to read. You can't get your teeth into it, but if you're on a bus or a train - you can read it and enjoy it.

I would like to give this at least three and a half stars but not four. However, three seemed to low and four a little too high. Not an outstanding book - not a book which makes you think wow or one that you can jump back into - but it is very readable and feels like a pair of old slippers. Comfortable, familiar and snug. The moment you open the pages you're in there for that duration of time. At the same time though, you can just slip them off and put your feet up else where.

It follows the life of a consultant neuro surgeon. He is a bit stuffy and a little bit naive about the real world I feel. He just knows his rich middle class life which he leads perfectly. He floats through his day and nothing much happens to him apart from meeting Baxter which brings his world into a reality.

You can imagine him just going along looking through his upper middle class bubble, bumbling along in his Mercedes around the posh part of London - which is all he knows anymore. What came before, is something apart from him. He is an insular character and lives in a ball of cotton wool.

It is just a normal day for him, apart from a couple of things that result in a climax.

It is predictable, but safe - you can just go along with it and relax. A nice book, a good book extremely well written without fault there.

Can be enjoyed a lot but don't go in looking for some massively interesting storyline because it isn't there. It is about a character, a person - the events that occur during the day are merely there to portray him in a reflective light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is brilliant., 26 Mar 2007
This review is from: Saturday (Paperback)
Some other reviewers have really moaned about this book but I don't know why. I found it subtle, enormously gripping and invigorating. Don't listen to the whingers - read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tedious read to get an interesting ending, 23 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Saturday (Hardcover)
This book was a lot of work for me to get through. I know it has a lot of positive reviews, but it does not work for me. Much of it drags on to long, without any pay off. I think it could have been cut by a third. The book starts off good when a London doctor witnesses a plane on fire streak across the sky toward the Heathrow airport. He suspects terrorist, it is a few days before the start of the War woth Iraq. The book then follows the doctor through his day: brain surgery, a car accident, an encounter with a street hood, a vist to a nursing home to visit his mother, a detailed brain surgery. The ending was a surpirse and I did like how it all caomes together at the end, I just thought the journey to the end was a bit over done. Oh yes, I do say you should check out the underground hit "A Tourist in the Yucatan"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A DAMAGED OPPONENT, 23 Jun 2005
This review is from: Saturday (Hardcover)
I have like McEwan's work for a long time, because of his talent for metaphor which both entertains and illuminates. In Enduring Love, the runaway hot-air balloon is a cinematic image, perhaps symbolising human loyalty, maintained by reason or by faith. In Saturday, Baxter, Perowne's damaged opponent, displays that dangerous unpredictability that we can all see in post-war Iraq. A damaged country may not react rationally when challenged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MOVING STORY, 31 Aug 2006
By 
Mambo (Amstelveen, NL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Saturday (Paperback)
Saturday brilliantly depicts life in a post 9/11 environment and successfully portrays a world of divergent but understandable differences. This novel's varied attributes places it in the line of great stories like DA VINCI CODE, DISCIPLES OF FORTUNE, THE TRIUMPH OF THE SUN, NEVER LET ME GO. They have at their core mystery, love, happiness, hope, sufferings and uncertainty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To what extent is a surgeon obliged to fulfil his duty?, 9 Dec 2007
By 
DonJon (Luxembourg, LUXEMBOURG) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Saturday (Paperback)
One of the best books I ever read. The twitch at the end poses one of the essential questions of life: Is it possible to forgive, or at least forget, when it comes to a critical point? The book also describes the irony of life very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Saturday mission, 27 Jan 2006
By 
This review is from: Saturday (Paperback)
I couldn't help myself but finishe reading it from beginning to end to immerse myself into this boring and pointless book.
No matter how hard I try I cannot bring myself to say anything good about it. It takes a square to read it and enjoy it.
Now I can start reading a decent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ian excels again, 31 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Saturday (Hardcover)
he has done it again. I am a fan of his more earlier macabre works but this book is another example of how this man is the British number one writer of his generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 124 25 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saturday
Saturday by Ian McEwan (Hardcover - Sep 2012)
£6.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews