Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Testing Electrical Installations A practical guide for electricians: A Practical Guide for Electricians
I think this is an excellent publication. I take on board the comments about testing for Zs and I agree with the author of the book. I have come across installations where there is no actual true Ze, but it is being provided by other parallel earth paths. Testing this way is about risk assesment and there is a big difference between testing domestic and industrial...
Published on 19 Sept. 2007 by A. Marshall

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money
This review concerns the Sixth Edition of this book. If you know nothing about testing then it may help - somewhat. However as a 'companion' to the C&G Testing & Inspection course I found it poor, especially when compared to the IEE Guidance Note 3, which is an excellent book.

It's not particulary well written, the graphics (particularly of consumer units)...
Published on 26 Mar. 2009 by Clive369


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Testing Electrical Installations A practical guide for electricians: A Practical Guide for Electricians, 19 Sept. 2007
By 
A. Marshall (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Testing Electrical Installations A practical guide for electricians (Paperback)
I think this is an excellent publication. I take on board the comments about testing for Zs and I agree with the author of the book. I have come across installations where there is no actual true Ze, but it is being provided by other parallel earth paths. Testing this way is about risk assesment and there is a big difference between testing domestic and industrial properties. At least this author has had the courage to pragmatically show testing and the efficient and accurate ways to do it. Too many people think they know how to do it, but have never actually tried to do it. If they had they would understand the confusing results that you get with the effect of the parallel earth path problem - difficult to explain when the sums just do not add up!
My only criticism of the book is that it would have been nice to have had the Zs table and the protective devices table and fault current graphs included out of the regs. It would just reinforce why we are testing and what we are truly looking for.
But an essential for those sparks who need a refresher and don't want long winded explantions and an absolute must for any young sparks starting out, I wish I had this 30 years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Claire Kelly, 12 Dec. 2007
By 
Ms. C. Kelly "Claire" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Testing Electrical Installations A practical guide for electricians (Paperback)
I bought this book because I am in my second year of Studying City & Guilds Electrical Installation 2330; attend two evening classes per week. This course consists of underpinning knowledge facilitating entry into a career as an Electrician, although I work full time in a completely different industry. I have found the book useful because the clear diagrams and attendant explanations can be used to back up testing and inspection on our practical work and during class discussions. I have recommended this book to my fellow students some of whom are electricians working to gain qualifications; they have found the information very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Testing and Electrical Installations - An Excellent Practical Guide for C&G 2330, 21 Jun. 2007
By 
D. Stephenson (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Testing Electrical Installations A practical guide for electricians (Paperback)
Excellent precise reading for a 2330 student, very straight forward and uncomplicated. The size and content of the book is also perfect for reference and I apprecieted the fact that is is straight to the point without trying to be too clever - no offence IEE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, 26 Mar. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Testing Electrical Installations A practical guide for electricians (Paperback)
This review concerns the Sixth Edition of this book. If you know nothing about testing then it may help - somewhat. However as a 'companion' to the C&G Testing & Inspection course I found it poor, especially when compared to the IEE Guidance Note 3, which is an excellent book.

It's not particulary well written, the graphics (particularly of consumer units) aren't good and I found it slightly confusing. The 'official' 17th Edition Guidance Note 3 or the On-site Guide are far better value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Testing Electrical Installations., 7 Mar. 2008
By 
D. M. Orrock - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Testing Electrical Installations A practical guide for electricians (Paperback)
A good and well laid out book with clear diagrams. This is an ideal book for students when they begin to do their dead and live testing. Note on review below re. measuring Ze, GN3 and the NICEIC do state disconnecting the means of earthing from the installation earthed equipotential bonding to remove parallel paths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Visual Aid, 20 April 2011
This review is from: Testing Electrical Installations A practical guide for electricians (Paperback)
Great book showing good visual pictures of different circuit testing/layouts procedures, would recommend this for most sparkies as a visual aid,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Outstanding guide to testing, 27 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Testing Electrical Installations A practical guide for electricians (Paperback)
This book has good clear diagrams which show you exactly how to carry out testing. This is complemented by clear, easy to understand explanations of what to do and when to do it. In my opinion this is a must have book, always useful when on a job to use as a quick reference guide, I must stress the diagrams are very clear and easy to understand and the explanations down to earth and very understandable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electircal book, 11 May 2010
This review is from: Testing Electrical Installations A practical guide for electricians (Paperback)
I have no idea about the contents of this book as it was a gift but the recipient was very glad to have it and assured me it was exactly what they wanted. It would appear to be an excellent and informative if not essential book for anyone needing testing and inspections training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars its exilent i got what ineed and it was great services including packeging and delivery also thank you, 13 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Testing Electrical Installations A practical guide for electricians (Paperback)
i realy need this book i was in surch for this book for a long time its a great stuff and all services were great i recieved in time also .
thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 9 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Testing Electrical Installations A practical guide for electricians (Paperback)
This is a quality book , for anyone training for 2391 , or as a refresher for all types of testing ..great read ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Testing Electrical Installations A practical guide for electricians
Testing Electrical Installations A practical guide for electricians by Anthony Hinsley (Paperback - 1 Aug. 2006)
£15.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews