Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book
I really wish I'd had this book when I was a textile design student! It sums up everything my lecturers were trying to teach me in clear language and logical sequence. The pictures are inspiring and the captions and descriptions even more so. This book is full of tips and makes me want to grab some paper and go for it. It is written in a really kind and friendly tone -...
Published on 8 Mar 2012 by Kate

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OKAY
this book is okay but it doesn't tell you anything new, its good for beginners but not for more advanced students
Published 16 months ago by fashstudent


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 8 Mar 2012
This review is from: Basics Textile Design 01: Sourcing Ideas: Researching Colour, Surface, Structure, Texture and Pattern (Paperback)
I really wish I'd had this book when I was a textile design student! It sums up everything my lecturers were trying to teach me in clear language and logical sequence. The pictures are inspiring and the captions and descriptions even more so. This book is full of tips and makes me want to grab some paper and go for it. It is written in a really kind and friendly tone - not snobby or pretentious at all. I've always been daunted by the beginning process of design and dreaded blank sketchbook pages. This book gives practical tips and lessons on how and where to start, what to think about, and makes the whole process seem fun again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful book, 25 Sep 2012
This review is from: Basics Textile Design 01: Sourcing Ideas: Researching Colour, Surface, Structure, Texture and Pattern (Paperback)
This is a vibrant and enticing book to motivate students new to textile design.
We have included it on the recommended reading list for the first year students of our BA (Hons) Contemporary Textiles course at Shetland College UHI, and are encouraging all art students who need to lively up their visual studies to read it.
The authors encourage an expansive approach to visual research and I particularly like the inclusion of inspirational quotes, for example from Edward de Bono "it is better to have enough ideas for some of them to be wrong, than to be always right by having no ideas at all". (pg. 75)
The book promotes the use of a diverse range of sources for information gathering in conjunction with the internet, understanding "it is the textile designer's ability to seek out design potential from everyday surroundings that makes them special" (pg40). When the book is re printed it would be good to see a cautionary note added on the importance of accurate referencing of images and information from the internet and books, a requirement that students often ignore.
The authors have taken care to include a broad range of practitioners which represent the expanded roles within textile and surface pattern design today, from the freelance illustrator Joanna Baseford to artist Yinko Shonibare whose intelligent use of textiles to symbolise cultural, racial and sociological meaning creates works with richness and depth. Photographs of makers convey their fascinating studio environments and the interviews are packed with hard won and wise advice; Tim Gresham, woven tapestry designer and photographer, remarks on the importance of knowing where you are going with your work and "Also to realize that sometimes that direction has to change, and even a small change can be quite significant" (pg133)
The illustration of change and transmutation of materials and images through dynamic approaches to drawing will be the books most lasting value to our students from the really useful prompts and exercises to extend ideas in mixed media.

Angela Hunt
Senior lecturer in Creative Industries and Programme Leader for BA(Hons) Contemporary Textiles. Shetland College UHI, Gremista, Lerwick, Shetland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great handbook, 10 Sep 2012
This review is from: Basics Textile Design 01: Sourcing Ideas: Researching Colour, Surface, Structure, Texture and Pattern (Paperback)
This is a great handbook. I like its clear layout and its brightly illustrated pages where different stages of textile design are clearly identified and explained. This book mixes very specific tasks and useful tips with introductory sessions on well known designers. This book will without a doubt inform readers and future designers that designing for textiles needs thoughts, time, is process based, exciting and with fabulous outcomes. ! No quick fix here! This is a very useful book to have if you are planning a career in textile design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book is full of basic how to information., 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basics Textile Design 01: Sourcing Ideas: Researching Colour, Surface, Structure, Texture and Pattern (Paperback)
The book is a great first time information on textile design. It's a sort of basics 101 class, very useful. The product came very quickly from the UK to the USA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Design, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basics Textile Design 01: Sourcing Ideas: Researching Colour, Surface, Structure, Texture and Pattern (Paperback)
I gave this a 5 star rating because studying textile design, i needed a guide which will help me develop my work and this book is the best i have seen for this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect reading for any textile/ fashion student like me!, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basics Textile Design 01: Sourcing Ideas: Researching Colour, Surface, Structure, Texture and Pattern (Paperback)
Really good, explains everything really simply and links/ related to images and diagrams. Covers a lot of topics, really worth the money! will defiantly get a lot of use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy!!, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basics Textile Design 01: Sourcing Ideas: Researching Colour, Surface, Structure, Texture and Pattern (Paperback)
Absolutely fantastic book. Full of lots of inspirational imagery, and ideas to help generate your own project ideas. Great buy worth every penny, I would recommend if you are new to the Textile Design and Fashion field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OKAY, 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basics Textile Design 01: Sourcing Ideas: Researching Colour, Surface, Structure, Texture and Pattern (Paperback)
this book is okay but it doesn't tell you anything new, its good for beginners but not for more advanced students
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac9996d8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews