Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review by Diana McKnight, Director of Studies, KLC School of Design, 5 Aug. 2010
This review is from: The Fundamentals of Interior Design (Paperback)
Through the eyes of a designer as well as an educator, the author informs and inspires the reader about understanding and creating effective interior spaces.

I found the analytical approach to design and its process set out in a very readable and inspirational way. Lovely, fluid sketches, mind mapping exercises, plans, CAD drawings, photographs of residential and commercial interiors and other visuals illustrate and reinforce key topics. A no-nonsense approach demystifies the principles of design and shows how a balance of creativity and practicality is achieved through mediums such as colour, texture and light. The more technical aspects of building construction, sustainability, and environmental concerns are also discussed making this an excellent book for up-and-coming designers, or designers wishing to add breadth to their existing knowledge.

I would thoroughly recommend this book to anyone who is fired by interior design.

Diana McKnight, Director of Studies, KLC School of Design
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of The Fundamentals of Interior Design, 20 July 2010
This review is from: The Fundamentals of Interior Design (Paperback)
I found `The Fundamentals of Interior Design' to be an inspiring book and impressively rigorous in its approach.
The content was strong, well expressed and thoroughly compiled, and the book clearly explained the role of the interior designer, the design process, along with the concepts, tasks, and terms associated with the profession.
The book's illustrations, sketches, drawings, and photos were all well selected and of a consistently high standard, and the graphics and layout of the book were very stylish.
This would be the perfect book for either the student, the designer at the start of their career, or those looking for an insight into the world of interior design.
I would have to say this is one of the most impressive books of its type - highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you'll ever need to know about interior design, 14 July 2010
This review is from: The Fundamentals of Interior Design (Paperback)
I am a working interior designer and I think that this book provides the best overview of current practice that I have come across.

This is a very approachable book with a good mix of attractive pictures, designers' drawings and informative text. It clearly explains the role of the designer and takes the reader step-by-step through all of the choices the designer faces when creating solutions for different spaces. Scale and drawing methods are explained, and the author explains the different visual techniques used by interior designers to plan and illustrate proposals. The book also addresses all of the aesthetic, practical and ethical considerations you would expect from a comprehensive text book on this subject.

The book is written to be accessible to the beginner with a serious interest in the subject, and would be a useful tool for students and working professionals too. The cover image is quite architectural and masculine; the photos within are drawn from a wide variety of styles, although all up to date, so there is inspiration for everyone.

Whether you have a project at home in mind, or you would like insight into correct professional methods I'd recommend adding this to your library. There are lots of books available with pretty pictures (which this book has too) but very few give you such clear guidance on how to actually do it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well-written introduction to interior design, 16 Jun. 2010
This review is from: The Fundamentals of Interior Design (Paperback)
This book is the ideal starting point for anybody interested in interior design. It's a clear introduction to the discipline, which can be considered as creativity applied to spaces and planes. I really enjoyed the fresh writing style of the author and the richness of images which accompany the text in order to explain the ideas discussed and inspire the reader.

Some of the pictures are beautiful and portray the works of many famous designers. There are also many sketches and construction drawings, which were very helpful in clarifying some of the more practical details of the designs.
After reading this book not only have I come to understand the meaning of very specific terms such as ergonomics and proxemics, but I've also achieved a good understanding of the design process and the methods behind creative projects, space planning and building structures.
I would therefore strongly recommend this text to students and people who would like to learn more about interior design and who want to gain an introduction to the discipline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Book, 11 April 2011
By 
This review is from: The Fundamentals of Interior Design (Paperback)
If like me you are just starting out in the Interior Design industry then this is an excellent book, which is packed full of very useful information. There is one downside to the book however and they are the pages of Yellow Type on a Black background can really do your eyes in when reading. Apart from that I would recommend this book to anyone, no matter what your experience in Interiors is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very decent book for beginners, 31 Aug. 2011
By 
B. Van Langen (the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fundamentals of Interior Design (Paperback)
I bought this book to get a basic insight into interior design, not to become a professional interior designer. The book did exactly that, it gave a good overview of the different challenges and tasks that interior designers are occupied with.

So far, I'm the first person to not give this book a 5 star rating. The simple reason for this is that while this book is very good in almost all respects, it just missed that little extra to push it to 5 stars. To me, more practical examples of room configurations would've been welcome for example.

Having no experience with other interior design books, I can't really say how this book stacks up to others on the same subject. What I can say is that the book provides an easy read, neatly presented and with clear examples when necessary. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great overview of Interior Design...., 18 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Fundamentals of Interior Design (Paperback)
I really rate this book! I've started an interior design course and this book brought another perspective on the industry, gave me some invaluable tips and more confidence in my abilities to tackle things like sketching, model making and plans.

I highly recommend this book and would go as far as to say that without reading this I wouldn't be as capable as a budding designer!

Thank you Simon Dodsworth!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interior design, 3 Dec. 2011
This review is from: The Fundamentals of Interior Design (Paperback)
This book is excellent, after starting a diploma in interior design I needed something to help me along my way and this book
Is a excellent purchase and well worth the money! Recommended to everyone starting or interested in interior design
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fab design book!, 19 Sept. 2011
This review is from: The Fundamentals of Interior Design (Paperback)
fairly well priced, but very very informative book; was an enjoyable read. It could have purhapse come in some wrapping when posted, but I am very happy with the design book, it will be incredibly handy at university!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great value, 13 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The Fundamentals of Interior Design (Paperback)
bought for interior design course
on the essential reading list
inspiring
comprehensive
all round introduction
varied means of communication with text, sketches, diagrams, photos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fundamentals of Interior Design
The Fundamentals of Interior Design by Simon Dodsworth (Paperback - 1 Jun. 2009)
Used & New from: £23.85
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews