Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for anyone studying or working in design
Really well thought out and informative book detailing everything from typography to layout. There is even a whole section on tools of the trade. Fabulous resource and great for dipping in and out of!
Published on 19 Jun 2011 by Wha

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's cover a lot but goes around a subject
It's my first graphic design book, and even I don know much about graphic design I didn't find any new information in this book, nothing negative about this book because I like a design and illustrations there, also it's easy to read.
Published 21 months ago by Alena


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for anyone studying or working in design, 19 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Fundamentals of Graphic Design (Paperback)
Really well thought out and informative book detailing everything from typography to layout. There is even a whole section on tools of the trade. Fabulous resource and great for dipping in and out of!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to graphic design, 12 May 2009
By 
This review is from: The Fundamentals of Graphic Design (Paperback)
I've just started studying graphic design, and this book has been incredibly helpful. The whole idea of graphic design can be a little intimidating to start with, but this book covers all the basics.

Graphic designers can be a little precious with their trade secrets, so it's nice to have these two guys outline the principles of typography, identity, layout and so on in plain english.

There are some nice pieces on inspiration and coming up with ideas, and a lot of stuff on the practical side too (making a portfolio, promoting yourself, etc).

The book's full of recent and current work by various design studios. There's a lot of really great design work and lots to be inspired by, including the book itself - it's nicely laid out and printed on some lovely paper.

Heartily recommended for students or anyone who wants to lift the lid on the industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Introduction to Graphic Design., 24 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Fundamentals of Graphic Design (Paperback)
This book is a great starting point for anyone studying graphic design. It covers all the relevant areas including typography, identity and layout, with style and enthusiasm. The book covers the different roles and businesses in the design industry, which was a great introduction to a career path I had thought I knew about. The author combined the practical side with a fantastic history of design at the beginning of the book. I found this gave me a great sense of `what' graphic design truly is before I was encouraged to think about how I can become a graphic designer in later chapters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's cover a lot but goes around a subject, 11 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fundamentals of Graphic Design (Paperback)
It's my first graphic design book, and even I don know much about graphic design I didn't find any new information in this book, nothing negative about this book because I like a design and illustrations there, also it's easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 28 Aug 2009
This review is from: The Fundamentals of Graphic Design (Paperback)
This is a book all abt the fundamentals of Graphic design as been a real inspiration to my work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Fundermentals of Graphic Design, 10 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Fundamentals of Graphic Design (Paperback)
I suspect this is a reprint from the early 1990s. Very disappointing to me although probably helpful for all novices. For me, a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fundamentals of Graphic Design
The Fundamentals of Graphic Design by Paul Harris (Paperback - 24 Nov 2008)
23.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews