Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential Graphic Design handbook!
This is an excellent handbook that attempts to cover every aspect of Graphic Design. The chapters are short and managble, with a wide range of visuals that are excellent for research.
This book has been very useful and helped inspire many of my ideas. It is a great size (220mm x 180mm) which is an ideal reference book to transport to and from Uni or college.
I...
Published on 14 Jan 2003 by clairesmc

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty, but impractical (2002 Edition)
This is visually very pleasing, but the content is disapointing. I'm happy with the high quality images but what i did not find was a straightforward discussion of design. The text is unnecessarily stylized. For example, a pencil is described as: "the traditional instrument of rapid transfer of thought to a surface". Also, as i read, i often found myself thinking "what...
Published on 26 Feb 2008 by billy...


Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential Graphic Design handbook!, 14 Jan 2003
This is an excellent handbook that attempts to cover every aspect of Graphic Design. The chapters are short and managble, with a wide range of visuals that are excellent for research.
This book has been very useful and helped inspire many of my ideas. It is a great size (220mm x 180mm) which is an ideal reference book to transport to and from Uni or college.
I would reccommend this book to anyone who is aiming to persue a career in Graphic design, but seeks guidance deciding which specific area to specialise in.
This book is an ESSENTIAL item for any serious graphic designer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty, but impractical (2002 Edition), 26 Feb 2008
This is visually very pleasing, but the content is disapointing. I'm happy with the high quality images but what i did not find was a straightforward discussion of design. The text is unnecessarily stylized. For example, a pencil is described as: "the traditional instrument of rapid transfer of thought to a surface". Also, as i read, i often found myself thinking "what is this section supposed to be about?" because the way the chapters are organized sometimes leaves you guessing as to what you re supposed to be reading about. On the up side it did get me thinking about some ideas that were new to me as a non-designer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars delivery and product review., 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What Is Graphic Design? (Essential Design Handbooks) (Paperback)
the product arrive quickly and was packaged well. The book is in really good condition.
The book itself is a very interesting read with lots of great inspiration, and its a good contextual resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Far to out of Date, 20 Jan 2012
This review is from: What Is Graphic Design? (Essential Design Handbooks) (Paperback)
THIS WAS SO OUT OF DATE! the cover made it look new but It is sooooooo OLD! Not worth buying as there have been such major developments in the Graphic Design World
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 25 Feb 2009
By 
its very good and hes helped me understand what graphic design is and helped me with my work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

What Is Graphic Design? (Essential Design Handbooks)
What Is Graphic Design? (Essential Design Handbooks) by Quentin Newark (Paperback - 1 Sep 2007)
Used & New from: 0.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews