Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars14
3.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£26.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 September 2015
All good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2014
fantastik book lost places vol. 11 is also fantastic, both books are good and the pictures are amazing and like posters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2014
Very much a lost opportunity, Sylvain Margaine's rather beautiful photographs have been very badly served by terrible page layouts and cheap production standards.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
The book is full of interesting photographs.
The images are excellent and very inspiring.
The text is well thought out and easy to read.
A very good book for both the experience photographer as well as a beginner.
Very good value for money as the quality of the paper and printing is very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
Interesting subject and quite a few exciting locations, but the photographs are not particularly good. Neither is the print quality. Worst of all; the texts are nothing less than terrible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2012
Did not like this book at all, There are not many places in the book , very little information on the places and half the pictures are of no interest at all. If you are into photography, then it's fine, but if you are into Urban Exploration like myself, don't bother because my copy went straight on Ebay where it made four pounds and that's about two pounds more than it's worth.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2011
Very disappointed with the book, to be honest. Expected mucho more. Photographs are not up to the standards I expected, and literature pretends too much... Very focussed on Belgium.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2011
Not quite what I expected, lots of pictures from around europe of places I have never heard of. Good quality photographs though. Looked at only once!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2011
This book contains photographs of abandoned buildings across Europe and in America, but mostly in Europe, with a bit of a thing for Belgium. What sets this one apart from the growing pile of books of derelict theatres and crumbling hospitals is the standard of the photography. Often these books contain photographs that one might politely call a straight record, but Mr Margaine knows his craft. The text tends to let the side down, though, with it's tendency to cringe-making 'poetry' but sometimes, though rarely, contains actual information. It's the superb photography that I'd strongly recommend you get this book for. Expertly composed with tastefully muted colours, but by no means monochrome, they make you want to get your camera out and get trespassing.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2011
As an explorer myself, I've wanted a look at this book for quite a long time.

The final product isn't quite as good as I'd hoped in terms of photographic quality, but still very much worth a look through, especially considering it's so cheap. Many sites I'd never heard of as well as those that I had, which was a pleasant surprise. Such a shame a lot of them no longer exist.

The only real downside to the book is the terrible text written alongside the photographs for each site. Poetic nonsense instead of actual information seems like an obviously poor choice for a book about urban exploration, but that's what we're given. Very little factual information is given, which is very disappointing.

One final point. Considering that many sites only contain 4 or 5 pictures each, the number of blank pages within this book is completely inexcusable. There's one after almost every different location.

Thankfully, the locations themselves mostly make up for the book's shortcomings.

For an alternative, I would strongly recommend Abandoned Places 2, by Henk van Rensbergen http://www.amazon.co.uk/Abandoned-Places-Henk-van-Rensbergen/dp/9020990837/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1302799471&sr=1-1
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)