Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it in a flash! (woeful photographic pun acknowledged)
I have recently taken up photography as a full on hobby rather as an occasional activity when on holiday or when out with friends. The first book I bought about it was Hot Shots by Kevin Meredith. I was really impressed by the uncluttered presentation, the de-mystifing way he writes about what can at times be an esoterically confusing technical craft and the sense of "I...
Published on 28 July 2010 by Chornukopia

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first book
Kevin Meredith's first book Hot Shots is one of my favourite photography books, but in this second book he has tried too hard to reinvent the wheel and the result is the ideas aren't as accessible as the first book. For example one idea involves attaching a camera to a kite to take photographs, clever, but not something the majority of us are likely to do.

A...
Published on 26 Jan 2011 by Clare Mccann


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it in a flash! (woeful photographic pun acknowledged), 28 July 2010
This review is from: Photographic Projects (Paperback)
I have recently taken up photography as a full on hobby rather as an occasional activity when on holiday or when out with friends. The first book I bought about it was Hot Shots by Kevin Meredith. I was really impressed by the uncluttered presentation, the de-mystifing way he writes about what can at times be an esoterically confusing technical craft and the sense of "I could do that" that he inspires.
As soon as he released this new book I knew I wanted it. I am please to say it doesn't disappoint. Kevin and the other contributors present different photographic projects and equipment and know how to carry them out. On several levels this format works perfectly. It shows beginners like me the vast scope of photographic tricks and skills that can be learnt, sampled and enjoyed. Several of these are so obvious that you may not ever think of them, Kite-Aerial-Photography for example, but this book plants the idea firmly in your head and unbidden you find yourself thinking where you could try this next weekend. For the more seasoned photographer the instruction may be simplistic but no less inspiring
The love for the act of photography that each project's author portrays is infectious and insistent. This book will open your eyes to ideas and techniques that will have you reaching for your camerabag.
Want to make the points of light in Bokeh shots look like lovehearts? This will show you how. Want to know what Bokeh is? That's in here as well. Want to make a street scene look like a macro model shot. It's all in here.
Buy this book and his other one (Hot Shots) you won't regret it. Hot Shots: How to Refresh Your Photos
I'm off out with my camera
Bye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More technique than project..., 12 Aug 2010
This review is from: Photographic Projects (Paperback)
Kevin Meredith's latest offering is neatly packaged, cleverly designed and conveniently sized to keep in the camera bag - or at least the car.

"52 Photographic Projects" is a thought-provoking book for novice and advanced photographers searching for unusual techniques to push out the boundaries of their photography. It explores a wide range of ideas, from camera tossing (not a good idea with a Canon 1DS) to aerial kite shots; other suggestions include action sampling, light painting and jump shots.

In each case, the project is written in an easily understood manner that for the most part, stays well away from technical jargon. Its easy manner is undoubtedly helped by the author's more unorthodox entry into photography via an obsessions with compact film cameras, especially the Lomo - although he's no stranger to digital cameras, and his early involvement with the image-sharing website, Flickr.

He cheerfully admits that he learned many of the techniques specifically for the book and had no hesitation on calling on photographic colleagues, both professional and "super hobbyist" to make their specialised contributions. It's an approach that works to the reader's advantage because Kevin's infectious passion nurtures and encourages a keenness to experiment.

His outlook sits happily with my view that the camera is a tool and given a creative, experimental inquiring mind, the simplest of equipment can produce creative and individual shots. Rarely is it suggested that an expensive and wide range of photographic gear is a prerequisite to good photography.

The only issue I have is the title, since the "projects" are really "techniques". There are a few projects, but having decided what technique to use, the reader can get ideas of what to shoot from other sources, like photo-blogs and photography portfolio books, etc.

On reflection perhaps it should have been entitled "52 Photographic Techniques - Or Thinking Out-of-the-Box for Curious Photographers".

George Munday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the first book, 26 Jan 2011
By 
Clare Mccann (Elgin, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photographic Projects (Paperback)
Kevin Meredith's first book Hot Shots is one of my favourite photography books, but in this second book he has tried too hard to reinvent the wheel and the result is the ideas aren't as accessible as the first book. For example one idea involves attaching a camera to a kite to take photographs, clever, but not something the majority of us are likely to do.

A good book, but one perhaps better aimed at the seriously experimental and arty photographer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Quality book, 26 Dec 2011
By 
Lauren (South Wales) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Photographic Projects (Paperback)
First of all this book is great quality, it's a good size and is nicely printed.
I've only flicked through the book so far and read a few pages but so far so good, it's a really inspiring book and is ideal for anyone interested in photography.
The book has some photography techniques i've never even heard of in it, which is really good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A useful book full of inspiration and imagination, 28 Nov 2010
This review is from: Photographic Projects (Paperback)
I've been a concert photographer for some time and even though I love photography in general I needed a little bit of extra inspiration to start taking pictures of other nature than live music again.

This book is fun to read and explains everything in an easy way, and will encourage you to try the different projects Kevin suggests. Very inspiring, and showing stunning and original pictures of the author (quite an authority in lomo photography), this will make a great Christmas gift for both lomographers, medium-level photographers looking for ideas and newbies to photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xf82b9e4)

This product

Photographic Projects
Photographic Projects by Kevin Meredith (Paperback - 1 July 2010)
Used & New from: 32.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews