Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHAT DO YOU WANT
A small book, some 4"x6" and under ½" thick, it's a nice size for carrying in ones pocket.

The area it covers encompasses both the Rhine and the Mosel Valleys so, as you can imagine, some of the towns, and as far as I have been able to check it mentions just about all of the towns and villages along the Rhine, don't get much space. For example Breisach gets...
Published on 17 Jan. 2011 by A Happy Chappie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars SMALL: Small size, even small detail!
This book was such a disappointment. Its only redeeming factor is the size which makes it very easy to carry around, but you probably wont want to bother as the contribution it makes to places along the Rhine is minimal. Its comment on towns and sites is so shallow it doesn't even whet the appetite. If you are looking for a guide book that will tell you the best places...
Published 17 months ago by Sparky


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHAT DO YOU WANT, 17 Jan. 2011
By 
A Happy Chappie (Surrey England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhine (Paperback)
A small book, some 4"x6" and under ½" thick, it's a nice size for carrying in ones pocket.

The area it covers encompasses both the Rhine and the Mosel Valleys so, as you can imagine, some of the towns, and as far as I have been able to check it mentions just about all of the towns and villages along the Rhine, don't get much space. For example Breisach gets about 2 column inches, but within that space one gets the main points of info, what's worth looking at and some brief background information. There are lots of maps both within the main body and also at the back, there is even a `large' pull-out one covering on one side a relief map of the Rhine area and on the other the distances between the various towns etc., very handy.

The text, which is clearly written and is not to small either, is certainly easily readable, and there are plenty of photographs, though of a necessarily small size. There is also a comprehensive index at the back. One slight annoyance is that occasionally the page numbers are omitted.

Overall, it's a handy little book with a reasonable amount of information on most places. Having said that if you are a keen walker it probably won't contain enough detail, information on trackways and paths is not available within but then that's not it's purpose. Would have liked just a little more on the smaller towns hence only 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Guide, 10 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Rhine (Paperback)
My husband and I have just returned from a river cruse along the Rhine and Main rivers and the Danube canal. Our three Tour Managers had limited knowledge of the places we visited and this little book certainly made up the deficit with useful maps for finding our way around. It is light and fits easily into a pocket or handbag. An essential purchase for this type of holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 6 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhine (Paperback)
I've headed this 'very useful' because that's what this publication is. It is not a fully comprehensive guide to the Rhine and all its tributaries but used, as I did, for basic information to take with me on a cruise on the Rhine it was invaluable. At about 160 pages and 14 x 10cms it is ideal for putting in your pocket for instant use when other material is not available. The fold-out map, while not hugely detailed, shows the surrounding area in enough detail to be useful when on excursions away from the river, as well as locating where you are in relation to the main centres of population not on the river. The town and city maps are another good practical addition. As I said, very useful, especially when used in conjunction with more detailed information of any areas of interest. It could, of course, be used even if you were not river-based but just following its course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 27 Jun. 2010
By 
M. Stonitsch (Wolverhampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhine (Paperback)
Short, sharp and to the point. Told me just enough without too much detail. Also speedy delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars SMALL: Small size, even small detail!, 11 Sept. 2013
By 
Sparky "Cole M" (Lubbecke, Germany) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhine (Paperback)
This book was such a disappointment. Its only redeeming factor is the size which makes it very easy to carry around, but you probably wont want to bother as the contribution it makes to places along the Rhine is minimal. Its comment on towns and sites is so shallow it doesn't even whet the appetite. If you are looking for a guide book that will tell you the best places and features to see along the Rhine I suggest you look elsewhere. It took just minutes after picking up this book when it had arrived, to realise that it had been a waste of money and more than that, frustrating. It just glances over this huge area with such scant detail that there is no point carrying it. Better to research the areas you are about to visit on your iPad & just carry that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Rhine Comprehensive pocket guide, 27 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhine (Paperback)
This guide is pretty comprehensive for someone contemplating a trip down the Rhine and contains a lot of city facts and maps, including a fold out map of the highlights of the tour. It has to be commended as there is little copetition out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not detailed enough, 17 April 2012
By 
A. Sharp (yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhine (Paperback)
I really only wanted a guide book about the middle section of the Rhine. This covers the entire length and as it is only pocket sized there is not enough detailed information. If you are on a river cruise it may be sufficient but I wanted more in a small package!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Book on the Rhine, 3 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhine (Paperback)
I bought this book as I am going on a mimi cruise along the Rhine in August. I was very disappointed with the content, particularly lack of pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A brief but useful guide, 31 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhine (Paperback)
As a short guide for a Rhine Cruise, it provides clear and useful information on the essentials and can be the basis for acquiring more in-depth details if required. Its handy pocket size format is convenient
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A pocket guide, 24 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rhine (Paperback)
Small enough to take with you. Covers the basics
Larger cumbersome guides naturally contain more but leave them at home and travel light
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rhine
Rhine by Elke Frei (Paperback - 15 Jan. 2009)
Used & New from: £17.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews