Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down
If you want to take great portraits and are seeking inspiration with some guidance, this is the book for you. It is not a step-by-step (ABC) guide so would not appeal to someone who is seeking wide ranging, (where to start) how-to advice. It is more for those seeking ideas and inspiration which can be adapted to whatever style and approach taken. ie. it makes you think...
Published on 17 Feb 2004 by Nicole

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I was looking forward to receiving this book, and whilst some of it is useful I found many of the photos to be of an amateur standard and poorly executed. There is very little technical information, I suspect that this is because the authors just delved through their photo collections & threw the book together. It doesn't strike me as a book that they set out to produce,...
Published on 29 Sep 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 17 Feb 2004
By 
Nicole (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Perfect Portrait Guide: How to Photograph People (Hardcover)
If you want to take great portraits and are seeking inspiration with some guidance, this is the book for you. It is not a step-by-step (ABC) guide so would not appeal to someone who is seeking wide ranging, (where to start) how-to advice. It is more for those seeking ideas and inspiration which can be adapted to whatever style and approach taken. ie. it makes you think about what you are doing and what you want to do.
The Perfect Portrait Guide suits all levels with its' concise yet detailed approach. It contains the usual chapters you would expect for portraiture on such things as lighting, family portraits, equipment etc, as well as less common chapters such as capturing the moment, using shape form and texture, shooting in sunlight etc. The photographs are excellent backed up with detailed (and readable) creative and technical information and diagrams on lens type, film, lighting, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little too shallow., 4 Dec 2004
This review is from: The Perfect Portrait Guide: How to Photograph People (Hardcover)
The book basically shows famous and certainly very good pics with some commentary. Nevertheless there is something lacking.
I am a beginner with 2 year experience. The book surely gave me a very good boost for making progress in photography however revealed very little about technique authors used when taking those photos. If you are experiencing problems with aesthetics and composition in your photography this book will surely help you but you will learn very little about the authors' workshop. The book contains tips which to me were only sometimes innovative.
It is nice to have it, but if you're looking for some good advice on exposure times, aperture values, filters, etc., turn elswere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 29 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Perfect Portrait Guide: How to Photograph People (Hardcover)
I was looking forward to receiving this book, and whilst some of it is useful I found many of the photos to be of an amateur standard and poorly executed. There is very little technical information, I suspect that this is because the authors just delved through their photo collections & threw the book together. It doesn't strike me as a book that they set out to produce, taking new photos to illustrate their skills & techniques.
Some of the photos are good for creating ideas, but I would have been far better off buying a photo magazine with a feature on portraits - this book has taught me nothing. I bought this on the strength of the other reviews so thought it only fair to provide my own one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Mar 2004
This review is from: The Perfect Portrait Guide: How to Photograph People (Hardcover)
Very nice book with a hard back cover, high quality pictures and background to why and how each photograph example was taken including location, set up, lighting, composition, etc. All areas of portraiture covered and I was pleased to see that studio did not dominate the content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great textbook, 31 Jan 2003
This review is from: The Perfect Portrait Guide: How to Photograph People (Hardcover)
This book is a must have for all amateur or even semi-pro portrait photographers. It discusses portrait photography in every aspect from taking it to presenting it.
There are many beautiful photographs in this book each of which is provided with the technical details and a commentary.
The text is rather brief but yet comprehensive. Bigger fonts highlight the key ideas and make them easy to find and memorize.
The graphic design of this book is excellent.
I evaluate this book pretty high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not a how to do it book at all, 4 Jun 2009
By 
This book is not a how to do it book at all.

There is nothing on how the relative camera hight changes the shape of the face or how you can use the change or perspective created by different focal length lenses to manipulate the image. There is virtually nothing on the creative use of lighting either. The two or so pages on the use of filters and other camera accessories is just too inadequate and no mention of soft focus lenses either. Such technical details that are included are ok at best but not particularly instructive.

The book is really just a collection of photo's with some technical notes appended to them. Clearly from the other reviews some people considered that enough and there are one or two very good photographs to look at but Michael Busselle has had an incredibly long career as a top flight professional photographer so he should have had no difficulty in pulling out some good pictures from his archive. He has also written some good books on photography over the years but this is not one of them. If you are serious about portraiture get a second hand copy of the Kodak "Profesional Portrait Techniques" which is really excellent.

The long and short of it is that this book just is not good enough to justify space on the book shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Perfect Portrait Guide: How to Photograph People
The Perfect Portrait Guide: How to Photograph People by David Wilson (Hardcover - 31 Oct 2002)
Used & New from: £0.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews