Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bruce the Ripper?
Attempting to introduce Jack the Ripper into the world of Bruce Wayne/Batman was always going to be a risky move, as it requires either bringing the Ripper into the modern age, or putting Batman into history. Thankfully this tale chooses the latter, re-positioning Batman and Bruce Wayne as turn of the century figures who unfortunately get caught up in Ripper hysteria, and...
Published on 12 Feb 2009 by Icy Sedgwick

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for the price
I wasn't blown away by this, which was somewhat disappointing. I love the elseworld stories, and the idea of throwing batman into the Victorian age seemed like the greatest what if of all. The art was great at setting the mood, and I loved the historical tie-ins. My problem was that there was a fight going on between the character-study aspects and the actual plot. Bruce...
Published on 30 Jun 2010 by A. Russell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bruce the Ripper?, 12 Feb 2009
By 
Icy Sedgwick "Icy" (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
Attempting to introduce Jack the Ripper into the world of Bruce Wayne/Batman was always going to be a risky move, as it requires either bringing the Ripper into the modern age, or putting Batman into history. Thankfully this tale chooses the latter, re-positioning Batman and Bruce Wayne as turn of the century figures who unfortunately get caught up in Ripper hysteria, and Batman has to track down one of history's most notorious killers.

The artwork is beautiful, and while the plot is a bit of a departure from the usual Batman adventures, it's well-written and unfolds at just the right pace. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steampunk Batman, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What could be better, i ask you?
The original elsewords tale really is the best. Both comics collected here are great workings for the writers and the artists and are absolutely thrilling to read, even when you've heard the spoilers!
Personally, i think this s my fave elseworlds batman, and i've read them all (and theyre all good.) His suit and gadgets are simpler but better, his training and preparation is shown to be taught by some of the world's greatest minds at the time and his dedication to justice over revenge is challenged in this volume.
Also, this bruce manages to find someone who is able to love him and his batman duties, which is something we've not really seen before and i was happy about.
Old-school detective work and manipulation of victorian fear of the eccentric are used to great effect in this book and i loved every panel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 and a half stars. It's so thin. Blink and you're done, 16 Dec 2012
A nice story and art work. It could have been padded out and lengthened as you're done in 15 mins or less. It could have been great, but instead it's good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bats goes Victorian!, 20 Sep 2010
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Two alternate stories of the Batman set in the 19th century from such star artists as Mike MIgnola and P Craig Russell. The first, "Gotham by Gaslight" is arguably the best. A retelling of the Jack the Ripper murders with a continuation in Gotham where the Batman confronts him. A great short story with some magnificently gothic drawings by the excellent Mike Mignola it's no wonder his talent took him on to bigger projects like Hellboy and BPRD.

"Master of the Future" is the second and longer story in this collection featuring an alternate origin story for the Joker and another test for the Batman to save Gotham. Eduardo Barreto's drawings are excellent here too and Brian Augustyn, who penned both stories, writes another great script.

An excellent "What If...?" collection of two great Batman stories with some fantastic art thrown in. A must for Batfans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for the price, 30 Jun 2010
By 
A. Russell (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I wasn't blown away by this, which was somewhat disappointing. I love the elseworld stories, and the idea of throwing batman into the Victorian age seemed like the greatest what if of all. The art was great at setting the mood, and I loved the historical tie-ins. My problem was that there was a fight going on between the character-study aspects and the actual plot. Bruce Wayne is amazing in this, but the plot just kind of creeps up on you and then it's done; the ending was anti-climactic to say the least. Part of me also wishes there had been more Victorian style gadgets involved but at the same time that probably would have detracted from the plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved this, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this
its a brilliant read. Enjoyed every minute of it and well worth the money
Absolutely great Graphic Novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars WORTH THE MIKE MIGNOLA ART!, 8 Aug 2009
By 
Angel D. Angelov "Crimson Reader" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you like Mike Mignola's art work than you might want to add this to your collection otherwise I can't see much reason to own this book. The second story is mildly interesting but the artwork is not to my taste. I enjoyed the first story and would recommend this to anyone who wants to see how Batman deals with the world in a different era, I just can't help but feel that they could have done something more interesting with this idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Victorian Knight, 9 Feb 2009
I must say that I had no idea what to expect but was pleasantly surprised. The story centres on a victorian set Bruce Wayne and a different take on Batman. Its very much a collector's item and comes with all of the aura that such things entail. With Mike Mignola doing artwork on the first of the two stories, its a very nice touch. As well as this, the little add-ins such a Joker-esque criminal as well as a whole new take on the Jack the Ripper story, its a must for Batman fans and Mignola fans alike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Batman year one minus one hundred years, 26 Dec 2006
By 
H "H" (Ancient kingdom of Northumbria) - See all my reviews
In Gotham by Gaslight, Augustyn creates a turn of the twentieth century Gotham that is in need of a Batman every bit as much as at the turn of the twenty-first century. Add Jack the Ripper and you have all the hallmarks of a fine Dark Night story. The atmosphere is brooding and Mignola & Russell create arwork that is reminicent of Batman Year One or League of Extrordinary Gentlemen.

Some of the clues and details are rushed though leaving a feeling of being short-changed on the detective work.

The second story is a much lighter super-hero-versus-megalomaniac romp with much lighter artwork. A romance for Bruce Wayne adds a bit of feel-good.

overall, definitely worth the money for Batman lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elsworlds befor "Elsworlds" or Batman vs. Ripper, 21 Jun 2002
Alternative history books - "proper" or comic - start with The question - "What if?" In this case, what if Bruce Wayne happen to live in "innocent" Victorian times - than he could easily become a friend and an apprentice of Sigmund Freud and visit London at the hight of Ripper crimes...
It seems that bat mythos is as reach and as flexible as Greek ones you can tell them again and again in different decor, use different cast - and hav ethe same impact!
Beutifully paced story, darkly magnificent art - and horror grandmaster Robert bloch as an intro writer - what can be better?
Definitely worth hunting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman : Gotham au XIXe siècle
Batman : Gotham au XIXe siècle by Eduardo Barreto (Paperback - 13 May 2009)
Used & New from: £145.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews