Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too funny!
This book is hilarious! It's easy to read and understand. Of course there are some words I had to look up, but overall, it's a great read.
Published 10 months ago by Emilie Prasadam

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lundi comme tous les lundis
Kiffe Kiffe Demain (Same Old Tomorrow) is notable for being the work of Faïza Guène, written when still a teenager and making use of her experience as a girl of Algerian origin growing up in Paris.

The short, journal style chapters record the thoughts of Doria, a fifteen-year-old girl living in a grim tower block in a Paris suburb, understandably...
Published on 10 April 2012 by Antenna


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lundi comme tous les lundis, 10 April 2012
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Kiffe Kiffe Demain (Le Livre de Poche) (Mass Market Paperback)
Kiffe Kiffe Demain (Same Old Tomorrow) is notable for being the work of Faïza Guène, written when still a teenager and making use of her experience as a girl of Algerian origin growing up in Paris.

The short, journal style chapters record the thoughts of Doria, a fifteen-year-old girl living in a grim tower block in a Paris suburb, understandably bitter because her father has returned to Morocco to find a new wife who will hopefully give him a son. Her illiterate mother struggles to make ends meet with a hotel cleaning job, where the racist boss calls all the Arab women "Fatima" and the Chinese workers "Ping Pong". Forced to accept charity from neighbours and buy untrendy clothing at cheap sales, Doria and her mother have to endure visits from a social worker, while the teenager is also required to visit a psychiatrist to improve her withdrawn behaviour, and low school grades.

Doria is far from a tearaway - she frantically cleans the cooker to pass muster when the social worker pays a "spot check" visit, and dresses as her mother wishes. Yet, she is quietly subversive in her private thoughts, and is drawn to unconventional people like the local drug-dealing dropout Hamoudi, who challenges the system, and quotes Rimbaud's poetry at her, encouraging her to better herself.

Doria is inevitably naive in many ways, and her dreams and reactions are generally couched in terms of the cartoons, soaps and American films she has absorbed on the TV. Her language is often crude - a weird mix of Arabic and French "verlan" - leading her to comment on how she has to make an effort to speak correctly to her "shrink" since they are "not really on the same wavelength".

There are some moving moments in the book, as when she takes her mother to see the Eiffel Tower for the first time, although it is only a short ride from home, but they meekly accept that they cannot afford the tickets to climb to the top. On another occasion Doria tells us that her eyes are like her father's so that when she looks in the mirror she sees his nostalgic look - an admission that he has been pulled back to Morocco partly through homesickness. When she can look in the mirror and see only herself, she will be cured.

The book is revealing on the status of women in Arab communities. It is interesting that three of the young women mentioned manage to escape into careers or relationships with men on equal terms - but at the price of losing contact with their roots, at least for a while.

Although the author has probably been seeking realism in plodding through a succession of mundane events, the plot is very slight and tails off at the end, with even the final note of optimism seeming rather woolly and doubtful. Most of the characters seem somewhat underdeveloped and two-dimensional, all described through Doria's eyes rather than breathing with a life of their own. What makes the story bearable is Doria's sharp-eyed observation of life, with her wry humour.

This book has been so popular that it must appeal to teenagers, but I think they deserve something a little more challenging. Guène has plenty of time to progress to this, but in the meantime I only read to the end to practise my French and learn a bit more of the "argot" which increasingly divides the generations on France.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too funny!, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiffe Kiffe Demain (Le Livre de Poche) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is hilarious! It's easy to read and understand. Of course there are some words I had to look up, but overall, it's a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, insightful and current., 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiffe Kiffe Demain (Le Livre de Poche) (Mass Market Paperback)
Great book about a modern, second-generation French Morrocan teenager. Excellent humour and insight into the everyday life and concerns of a 15 year old, living with her mum in a Paris HLM suburb. Great for catching up with modern slang and language. Happy ending really helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Relentless, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book alongside others to choose one to tread with my IB class. Whilst it is accessible, does have a story line and certainly links to several IB topics I rejected it as I find it relentless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comme Ci, Comme Ça, 17 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Kiffe Kiffe Demain (Le Livre de Poche) (Mass Market Paperback)
I didn't really like this book. I didn't find the characters likeable and Doria's attitude annoyed me at times - I didn't find her sense of humour very funny. The book did give quite a good insight of life for a second generation muslim living in the banlieues, but it wasn't anything that I couldn't have thought up myself. It was alright for getting a general idea and background of immigration and various other issues (e.g. racism) in France. The ending was a great disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good copy, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiffe Kiffe Demain (Le Livre de Poche) (Mass Market Paperback)
I got this book for my studies, and for a second hand book, it is in good condition hopefully it will help me with my studies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kiffe Kiffe Demain (Le Livre de Poche)
Kiffe Kiffe Demain (Le Livre de Poche) by Faiza Guene (Mass Market Paperback - Aug 2005)
£5.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews