Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for French Language learners
I read this book at High School, while studying French. Being a teenage girl with an interest in history, I absolutely loved the book - it is so romantic, and wonderfully written, and simple enough for a French student to read and understand (and learn, while reading a compelling story - great motivation!).

I can't wait to re-read it!
Published 22 months ago by BootLover

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
not much happens it this .. reflects the in habitation of a French Family by a German soilder
Published 2 months ago by 4boys


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for French Language learners, 7 Jan 2013
I read this book at High School, while studying French. Being a teenage girl with an interest in history, I absolutely loved the book - it is so romantic, and wonderfully written, and simple enough for a French student to read and understand (and learn, while reading a compelling story - great motivation!).

I can't wait to re-read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I liked it!, 17 July 2011
This review is from: Le Silence De La Mer (Ldp Litterature) (Mass Market Paperback)
I don't usually enjoy this genre of book, but 'Le Silence de la mer' surprised me. It wasn't too difficult for my intermediate French either. I would recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Un livre a lire definitivement, 24 April 2002
This review is from: Le Silence De La Mer (Ldp Litterature) (Mass Market Paperback)
Le Silence de la mer est un classique. C'est un livre tres emouvant et romantique qui met l'amphase sur le silence.Un silence qui exprime a la fois la resistence francaise,l'amour existant entre l'allemand et la niece,silence qui exprime le sentiment des personnages,silence qui exprme le silence lui meme.le silence est qui omni-present a tous les stages du recit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A captivating novella., 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Silence De La Mer (Ldp Litterature) (Mass Market Paperback)
One of my favourite pieces of French WW2 literature. Thought-provoking and mesmerising. While a seemingly simple short story, Vercors instead encourages the reader to reflect upon life in France during the Second World War and French relations with the Germans. Best read in the original French, but the translation is just as interesting. It may take a few reads to truly appreciate Vercors' work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 12 Sep 2014
not much happens it this .. reflects the in habitation of a French Family by a German soilder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Oct 2014
By 
Ms. R. M. E. Hankins (Sussex, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Silence De La Mer (Ldp Litterature) (Mass Market Paperback)
So far, going well. R.H.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Le silence de la mer est tres tres ennuyeux!, 18 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Le Silence De La Mer (Ldp Litterature) (Mass Market Paperback)
L'histoire a lieu pendant le deuxieme guerre mondiale. Il y a trois personnage, l'oncle qui raconte l'histoire, sa niece et l'officier allmagne, Werner von Ebrennac. L'officier loge chez les francais mais les francaises ne parlent jamais a l'officier parce qu'il est leur ennemi. Pour exprimer leur resistance de l'occupation Allemagne de la France ils ne parlent a Werner von Ebrennac. Werner von Ebrennac n'est pas le soldat allemand type, il est gentil et il fait un effort de parle a vieux homme et sa niece. Il espere qu'a la fin de la guerre les deux pays seront unis.
...C'est tres emouvant.
A mon avis l'histoire est tres tres ennuyeux.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Le Silence De La Mer (Ldp Litterature)
Le Silence De La Mer (Ldp Litterature) by "Vercors" (Mass Market Paperback - Jan 1967)
£4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews