Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight, clear and straightforward
Excellent resource written directly by the father of the term Responsive Web Design (RWD). Lightweight, clear, with superb [...]t example developing throughout the book's sections. Read it!
Published 22 months ago by joooc

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get it for kindle
You can buy the english text version at Abookapart, just look up Ethan Marcotte. If you buy the ebook version it comes in the .mobi format for kindle (complete with illustrations).
Only cost $9.00 = 6.02.
Not a perfect solution, but way better than getting it in a foreign language.
Published on 9 Jan 2012 by _hn6


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get it for kindle, 9 Jan 2012
This review is from: Responsive Web design (Paperback)
You can buy the english text version at Abookapart, just look up Ethan Marcotte. If you buy the ebook version it comes in the .mobi format for kindle (complete with illustrations).
Only cost $9.00 = 6.02.
Not a perfect solution, but way better than getting it in a foreign language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Web Design Responsive!, 3 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. R. Ambrose (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Responsive Web design (Paperback)
Whilst I am comfortable learning CSS and PHP I found the additional pressure of having to learn French a bridge too far. I am not aware of this trend. I understand people purchasing 'Mobile First' have had the same issue. If you insist on adding this extra challenge to your series of IT books, how about patois or cockney rhyming slang.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Book is in French! Be warned!, 20 Dec 2011
This review is from: Responsive Web design (Paperback)
When I opened the book I was shocked about the language: this book is written in French even while it's title is in plain English. Please be warned if you can't read French (I can't). I'll rate this with one star just to get you alerted that something is wrong. The book looked alright so if you're french speaking please see other reviews for this book. At least what I've seen the actual reviews of the book seem to praise it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book is in French, 1 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Responsive Web design (Paperback)
This book is in French despite the title "Responsive Web Design" !!!! Avoid buying it as you will have to pay postage on returns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's in FRENCH!, 29 Nov 2011
This review is from: Responsive Web design (Paperback)
Using the mobile app from Amazon to order this meant it wasn't clear that it was in French - also, I have never been sent a foreign language book before and can only assume Amazon should surely warn you if it is not your native language. Can't speak French so it will have to be returned.

Unfortunately, I cannot review the product, only the service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars French edition!, 7 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Responsive Web design (Paperback)
Difficult to give a good or bad review but I will be carefully checking the language next time I order a book from Amazon.

Pretty hacked off that there there isn't a more prominent warning about foreign language editions on an English website (particularly when the title is English).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars French Only, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Responsive Web design (Paperback)
I was a bit thick and bought this but it is in French but it really is not that clear that it is ONLY in french
I thought I was buying a translation but alas no
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Je ne comprends pas!, 31 Dec 2011
This review is from: Responsive Web design (Paperback)
Yes, I got a French copy too! What's that all about. Ordered the book on amazon.co.uk - not for me but a gift. Looks OK to me, wrapped it up and bingo, huge disappointment. Anyway, all looked fine and sent it back to Amazon who were happy to replace it with...

.... yep! Another French copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars French is not responsive, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Responsive Web design (Paperback)
Should I order a French language book, so I can learn how to read this book? I would order it from Amazon but then again that book might be in English or a totally random language.

Sort it out please. Ridiculous to not state the details in the description.

I'm really upset at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Book text version is french.not english..WARNNING....!, 18 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Responsive Web design (Paperback)
The book title is english but the book text version is french. really disappointed.Please double check when you make a orderResponsive Web design
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa68daf90)

This product

Responsive Web design
Responsive Web design by Ethan Marcotte (Paperback - 15 Sep 2011)
9.46
In stock but may require up to 2 additional days to deliver
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews