Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost there.....
Having bought our house in France three years ago, and the house being pretty old, I was very keen to tackle a rewiring job, something I could easily do in the UK. Sadly the French home electric system is very different from that in the UK so I had to have the French rules in one hand and a French/English dictionary in the other. This book, however, makes the dictionary...
Published on 16 Jan. 2011 by Philealing

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars don't buy this...
This book is so incomplete that it is a waste of money... People wiring their own houses in France are worried that they will get it wrong and are therefore looking for some kind of comprehensive guide. This book is not it. There are so many rules (e.g. on channeling cables in supporting walls, non-supporting walls, in plaster, brickwork, etc. etc.) that need to be...
Published on 30 May 2011 by mikkip


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost there....., 16 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electricity in your French house : Rules and techniques explained in English (Paperback)
Having bought our house in France three years ago, and the house being pretty old, I was very keen to tackle a rewiring job, something I could easily do in the UK. Sadly the French home electric system is very different from that in the UK so I had to have the French rules in one hand and a French/English dictionary in the other. This book, however, makes the dictionary unnecessary..... Almost. It covers a lot of the points I need to know about clearly and with good diagrams and in colour. The things I would have liked to have seen included is a chapter on three-phase, as that is what our house has and needs, as well as information on the rules relating to the routes allowed for cables/trunking within the walls of a house, they can be quite strict. I would recommend this book as a "must have" to anyone who needs to tackle wiring a single-phased French house and who cannot easily read French.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars don't buy this..., 30 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electricity in your French house : Rules and techniques explained in English (Paperback)
This book is so incomplete that it is a waste of money... People wiring their own houses in France are worried that they will get it wrong and are therefore looking for some kind of comprehensive guide. This book is not it. There are so many rules (e.g. on channeling cables in supporting walls, non-supporting walls, in plaster, brickwork, etc. etc.) that need to be adhered to and not nearly enough of them are addressed in this book. You would be much better off buying the French book of the "normes" and struggling through that with a dictionary (or translation software). The amount that this book leaves out -- doesn't even mention -- and at the same time claims to explain rules and techniques is criminal!

i honestly don't know why the book gets so many 5 stars... probably friends of the author or something...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Le Volts, 26 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electricity in your French house : Rules and techniques explained in English (Paperback)
Interesting, but not THAT helpful for the Brit abroad. Reads like the author was a night school teacher at a technical college who bought himself a place in France to try out his Brit text books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know to rewire you French home, 11 Oct. 2012
By 
Mr. A. Roberts "Tony" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is excellent! It will guide you through the French rules and regulations regarding house wiring, clearly explaining the major differences between UK and French wiring. You will need to have some previous wiring experience as it is not an idiot's guide, but does have clear diagrams and layouts of most circuits needed in a home. It also explains the process of getting the whole thing checked and certificated by the Counsel at the end, which is essential for insurance and connection reasons! All in all a good buy, although the hardback is a little over priced IMHO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Incorrect information, 13 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electricity in your French house : Rules and techniques explained in English (Paperback)
Although the book gives good background information there is much that is incorrect or missing. After I finished a complete re-wire on a renovation project I ask a French electrician to do a check before the full inspection required by EDF before they would make my temporary supply permanent. I had to make several changes which cost me in the region of 400 euros. For instance the consumer unit must be over 1 metre from the floor, there was no mention of this in the book. The book states there must be a phone socket in the WC, Bathroom and Garage this is incorrect and had to be removed from the WC and bathroom. There is no need for an exterior socket to be on a separate circuit if it is on the wall of the house, the book says there is. In the book it says the earth link to the earth stake can be inside or outside the house, incorrect it has to be inside, these are just a few of the mistakes. The book was good for background but don't rely on it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars electricity in your french house, 20 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electricity in your French house : Rules and techniques explained in English (Paperback)
a very useful little book will help me install the electrics easily in my french house I likethe photos ect the way the explanations are written and also the cable ratings and also the sheathings used
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electricity in your French house : Rules and techniques explained in English (Paperback)
Whilst the book is informative, I would have liked some more practical examples. It shows a single lighting, 2 way circuit,but does not show a tyical multi light & switch circuits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good as far as it goes - incomplete, 5 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electricity in your French house : Rules and techniques explained in English (Paperback)
Having wired a couple of houses in the UK I don't have too much fear of doing the same in France and I needed a practical guide to the different regulations and practices. Because of widely varying levels of experience and skill I appreciate how hard it is to produce a guide which will suit and please everybody. This book is fine as far as it goes but it is thin on detail which is where it counts in practical matters. It's only 80 pages - I learnt some useful stuff but I read it in an hour.

A book like this needs the author to also set up a website with FAQ's, Q&A's , maybe a forum too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book enables you (whether you're an electrician or not) to quickly grasp the in's and out's of French electrical systems., 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electricity in your French house : Rules and techniques explained in English (Paperback)
As a UK electrician, I know what I'm doing, wire colours, etc when working in England, but France is very different and this book enables you (whether you're an electrician or not) to quickly grasp the in's and out's of French electrical systems.
It covers everything from the different tariffs and electrical incoming supply to your house, to sockets, lights etc etc...
You may not plan on doing any work yourself, but at least you can understand what your French tradesman is doing and will be able to discuss your requirements a lot more clearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful Guide, 8 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electricity in your French house : Rules and techniques explained in English (Paperback)
A relatively slim book, so bit pricey, but contains a lot of useful information. It doesn't pretend to be comprehensive, but contains most of what you'd need to know to get by doing repairs or minor installations. It certainly fills a niche, because it will answer a lot of questions that you need to know before doing any DIY work on a French property.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Electricity in your French house : Rules and techniques explained in English
Used & New from: £12.15
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews