Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic
The central character of "L'Etranger" is an Algerian, Meursault, who murders an Arab for no clearly specified reason: he is and remains an outsider to society. The novel is in two parts, both grippingly narrated by him in the first person: before and after the killing. The tone - or lack of it - is set in the opening sentences: "Aujourd'hui, maman est morte. Ou peut-etre...
Published on 16 Aug 2012 by Doc Barbara

versus
1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Inaccurate listing
Not as specified I didn't really want an ex public school library book with a label stuck in the ifc.
Published on 22 Jun 2009 by M. Agnew


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic, 16 Aug 2012
By 
Doc Barbara "Barbara Daniels" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: L'Etranger (Folio) (Mass Market Paperback)
The central character of "L'Etranger" is an Algerian, Meursault, who murders an Arab for no clearly specified reason: he is and remains an outsider to society. The novel is in two parts, both grippingly narrated by him in the first person: before and after the killing. The tone - or lack of it - is set in the opening sentences: "Aujourd'hui, maman est morte. Ou peut-etre hier, je ne sais pas." He seems to have no normal human feelings or motives and yet he does form relationships; we are drawn to him because of the lucidity and honesty of his persona and the intriguing nature of his story. When he is sentenced for execution he has a revelation about the true nature of life and then wishes:"Qu'il y ait beaucoup de spectateurs le jour de mon execution et qu'ils m'accueillent avec des cris de haine." Some readers have called it an existentialist work but it can be read on a simpler level: the French is quite easy and could possibly be understood by anyone with GCSE, a dictionary and the desire to learn more of the language; the past tense is the perfect not the past historic. A must for anyone interested in French Literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rereading a classic, 13 Aug 2013
By 
Edward Doherty "Eddie Doherty" (Wolverhampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L'Etranger (Folio) (Mass Market Paperback)
I firs read this at secondary school for A level and it has always remained a favourite. So, when planning my first visit to France in years, I bought this copy to read in French to see how my language skills hold up. It was remarkably easy to read and enjoyable. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L'Etranger (Folio) (Mass Market Paperback)
Certainly a thought-provoking book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Frappant sur la porte du malheur sous un soleil insoutenable, 17 Jan 2014
By 
Antenna (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L'Etranger (Folio) (Mass Market Paperback)
Meursault is a young Algerian `pied-noir' given to observing the world with a clinical detachment. He enjoys a largely physical relationship with his girlfriend Marie who shares his love of swimming and, since Mersault does not judge others, he has an easy, tolerant acceptance of people, including his unsavoury neighbours the aged Salamano, dependent on the pathetic dog which he continually abuses, and the sadistic pimp Raymond.

From the outset there are somewhat chilling indicators of Mersault's unusual and amoral attitude to life. He renews his relationship with Marie and goes to see a comedy film with her the day after attending his mother's funeral. Then, on an afternoon of intense heat, in an almost hallucinatory state of mind, he commits a serious crime for which he appears to feel no remorse.

In the second part of the book largely given over to his very artificial, theatrical trial, we see how Mersault, the outsider, is incriminated as much for how he has behaved in the past - not weeping at his mother's funeral - as for his offence. As he begins to reflect on his situation, we see him in a more sympathetic light.

This famous novel which has attracted a huge amount of attention, may be read on different levels. It could just be the tale, written in clear, minimalist prose, of a man whose lack of 'normal' emotions and values, combined with extreme honesty, seal his fate. On another plane, it illustrates Camus's preoccupation with the absurdity of man's desire for reasons and 'rational behaviour' in a world without meaning. Mearsault's accusers have set up arbitrary conventions and rules by which to judge him, but Mearsault himself, although for a while afraid of death, is able to come to terms with the essential unimportance of everyone's life, regardless of the value accorded to it by others.

It is also interesting to compare the simplicity of this first novel with the complexity and more self-conscious philosophical digressions of one of Camus's last works, `La Chute'. Both culminate in very powerful final sections, and both need to be read more than once to appreciate them. Camus is a little too bleak for me, but definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Engaging and thought provoking - a classic that all should study. I would recommend this book. Arrived on time and in good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite books!, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L'Etranger (Folio) (Mass Market Paperback)
I love this short, yet powerful psychological and philosophical book. I've read it in English, however since I study french I thought that it would be excellent to go through since I already know the content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars L'Etranger in french, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book I think is from the 70's so definitely is used (which I knew it would be ) also had vocab section at bottom of pages for colloquial or difficult french. I'm trying to revive my french knowledge so this was a good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful novel, 4 Jan 2011
By 
Callum Jackson (Macclesfield, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: L'Etranger (Folio) (Mass Market Paperback)
I am a student learning French and German at A-Level and decided the best way to learn another language (I started at age 11) was to read foreign literature. I can recommend L'etranger to anyone who wants not only to learn or improve their French but to anyone with a passion for literature and for French culture. The ideas are profound but expressed simply and Camus' writing style and his choice of character, narrative technique and setting are perfect.

I'm going to start my course at Oxford University this October studying Modern Languages and I owe a great deal of my success to L'etranger. Definitely a brilliant read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great books of all time, 13 Jan 2010
This review is from: L'Etranger (Folio) (Mass Market Paperback)
The narrative is simple, deceptively straight -forward and easy to read, but you soon realise that it is so cleverly written that it needs and deserves to be re-read in order to appreciate the often chilling irony.

Every scene is telling you a lot more than just the bare story, and is taking you deep into Mersault, into society and into yourself.

It is worth learning French just to read L'Etranger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L'Etranger (Folio) (Mass Market Paperback)
I remember reading this book for my O Level many years ago and now my son is doing A Level French and enjoying the book as much as I did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

L'Etranger (Folio)
L'Etranger (Folio) by Albert Camus (Mass Market Paperback - 7 Jan 1972)
6.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews