Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good selection of good campsites
Michelin have long rated campsites in France. If it's in the current guide you know it will be of a good standard. But it's not simply done on price. Sites are selected across the budget range, from simple council-run ones upto deluxe ones. The guide is easy to use with good symbols, index and maps and the judgement is consistent. I have been using these guides for 40...
Published 23 months ago by staffsdriver

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
just got back from a holiday in France with this book was really disappointed and didn't find it much use, i think you need to use it with the michlin map to be able to find them as all the references are to the map and with out it you can not locate them.
Published 22 months ago by miss f kingsbury


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good selection of good campsites, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camping France 2013 (Michelin Camping Guides) (Paperback)
Michelin have long rated campsites in France. If it's in the current guide you know it will be of a good standard. But it's not simply done on price. Sites are selected across the budget range, from simple council-run ones upto deluxe ones. The guide is easy to use with good symbols, index and maps and the judgement is consistent. I have been using these guides for 40 years and they are reliable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very comprehensive, 18 May 2013
By 
D. Howarth - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camping France 2013 (Michelin Camping Guides) (Paperback)
A must have if you are going camping in France. As far as I can see it lists all the campsites there are, and gives brief details of each, such as cost, size, amenities, Michelin grading etc.
I can't understand why the previous reviewer says there are no maps, there are clear maps at the start of each regional chapter which have all the sites in the region listed.
If you are going camping in France, buy this book, and it's cheap too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but basic information., 7 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camping France 2013 (Michelin Camping Guides) (Paperback)
This is a good guide to campsites in France, but the information is fairly clinical. There's no pictures, no real reviews as such, it's a list of campsites with information on the facilities. No more, no less. The information is very good, but I've always looked for a campsite in the book, and then gone on to look for more information on the internet. Well laid out, informative, but fairly clinical in its approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camping France 2013 (Michelin Camping Guides) (Paperback)
just got back from a holiday in France with this book was really disappointed and didn't find it much use, i think you need to use it with the michlin map to be able to find them as all the references are to the map and with out it you can not locate them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive but uninspiring, 24 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camping France 2013 (Michelin Camping Guides) (Paperback)
You know when you have too much information and not enough judgement and opinion? Well this is it. Every amenity at every campsite is listed but you have no way of knowing what the campsite is actually like e.g. the view, ambiance, privacy of pitches etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cross referencing needed to use, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camping France 2013 (Michelin Camping Guides) (Paperback)
Difficult to extract info quickly. Will need to cross reference with a large map. But useful for giving small municipal sites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 22 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camping France 2013 (Michelin Camping Guides) (Paperback)
Its a heavy old book and I had doubts about taking it on the bike (motorcycle) as space and weight are precious, however I'm really glad we did as it allowed us to pinpoint areas for the next leg of our trip, review all the campsites in the vicinity and home in on the one's that looked most viable. The info provided is simple and accurate without being overloaded with photos etc and you can have a pretty good idea what to expect before you get there, a particular plus point for us is that it allowed is to avoid the higher cost 'child/family friendly' sites with facilities that we don't need. All in all its up to the usual standard from Michelin guides/maps that we have come to trust over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy enough to use, 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camping France 2013 (Michelin Camping Guides) (Paperback)
This is fine, although I'd prefer a bit more detail on the directions as to how to find each site. In busy places, there are numerous sites which don't feature so that's not always straightforward. Also, ignore the the number of pitch guides. It completely depends on what what facilities you want. We are a 30-something couple without kids, so having a pool and pizza place is of little interest to use, but higher star ratings are given. These sites tends to be bigger too, which usually means more noise at night and less clean toilet facilities due to the over usage. This type of information isn't detailed though in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, used for every campsite we stay in., 3 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camping France 2013 (Michelin Camping Guides) (Paperback)
very good guide, though we did find some details missing, opening times etc. so we didn't know if sites were open till we got there.
More description would be useful as we found some sites that listed as basic but were beautiful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful book, 23 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Camping France 2013 (Michelin Camping Guides) (Paperback)
The book was helpful with its reviews and was accurate with the camp grounds we stayed at.
We would have like some up to date colour pictures of sites as we were often out of reach for Wifi and couldn't access the camp grounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Camping France 2013 (Michelin Camping Guides)
Camping France 2013 (Michelin Camping Guides) by Michelin (Paperback - 4 Feb. 2013)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews