Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great map and great price.
This is the most popular atlas used by visitors to France.The loose leaf style and extra information make it a great tool for touring in France.Amazon price is well below other internet rates and is excellent value.
Published on 12 Feb 2012 by Allantoton

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Impressive to look at but fragile in use
I bought this road atlas specifically for its spiral binding making it easy for use on a short holiday in Brittany. After just a few references to the maps pages, several tore away from that spiral binding and loose pages ended up on the floor. I would like to return it as unfit for purpose but have not yet worked how. Such a shame, because it looked really good and just...
Published on 9 May 2012 by jcopas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Impressive to look at but fragile in use, 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: France 2012 - Tourist & Motoring atlas (A4-Spiral) (Michelin Tourist and Motoring Atlases) (Spiral-bound)
I bought this road atlas specifically for its spiral binding making it easy for use on a short holiday in Brittany. After just a few references to the maps pages, several tore away from that spiral binding and loose pages ended up on the floor. I would like to return it as unfit for purpose but have not yet worked how. Such a shame, because it looked really good and just what I wanted. Don't buy it if you want to refer to it as a way of getting from A to B in a car!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great map and great price., 12 Feb 2012
This review is from: France 2012 - Tourist & Motoring atlas (A4-Spiral) (Michelin Tourist and Motoring Atlases) (Spiral-bound)
This is the most popular atlas used by visitors to France.The loose leaf style and extra information make it a great tool for touring in France.Amazon price is well below other internet rates and is excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Quality, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: France 2012 - Tourist & Motoring atlas (A4-Spiral) (Michelin Tourist and Motoring Atlases) (Spiral-bound)
The atlas itself was very good and easy to use, but I totally agree with other people who have reported that the pages are very flimsy and tear away from the spiral binding. We only used our atlas for one return trip to France and it's now falling apart. If you want something that lasts a few years, then don't buy this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 10 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: France 2012 - Tourist & Motoring atlas (A4-Spiral) (Michelin Tourist and Motoring Atlases) (Spiral-bound)
I bought this on 5th June but didn't really look at it until I was in France from the 15th onwards. Pages 247 to 282 were duplicated, and pages 283 to 318 were missing. Great! And I didn't get home until after the 30 day returns window had closed. Lesson - look at this sort of thing very closely the minute you receive it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for cycling in France, 21 May 2012
By 
Rupert (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: France 2012 - Tourist & Motoring atlas (A4-Spiral) (Michelin Tourist and Motoring Atlases) (Spiral-bound)
I bought this map for a cycle ride I have just completed across France from Le Havre to Provence. It has just about the right amount of detail, including arrows for the steepest hills, and green for the scenic routes, and a pretty clear indication of how busy the road will be. It did miss out one junction, but these were farm roads on the top of the Massif Central. I worked the route I wanted, then cut out the pages I needed, and folded them in four. This meant that they fitted really well into my map holder (much better than the individual maps would have) and worked out considerably cheaper too. I had about 12 sheets for the 1,200 km. Well wrapped in a sealable sandwich bag they lasted well enough. Very pleased.
Just noticed, this review is for the A3 version - much better as individual maps than the A4 for cycling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROAD ATLAS, 19 Mar 2012
This review is from: France 2012 - Tourist & Motoring atlas (A4-Spiral) (Michelin Tourist and Motoring Atlases) (Spiral-bound)
THE ATLAS ARRIVED ON TIME AND WAS AS DESCRIBED. THE ROADS ARE MARKED OUT CLEARLY AND THE ROADS THAT WERE BEING CONSTRUCTED LAST YEAR ARE NOW ON. (MORE UPDATE THAN GOOGLE EARTH)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars France Michelin map, 10 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. P. Fry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: France 2012 - Tourist & Motoring atlas (A4-Spiral) (Michelin Tourist and Motoring Atlases) (Spiral-bound)
Really pleased with the quality and the detail of this map. Previous (non michelin map, non-spiral bound) fell apart after 12 months. This is a bit large to sit on your knee as one winds their way through the back roads of France, but you can't have this sort of detail without the size. Campsites Bridge heights and a clearer illustration of the pay toll roads would be even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MICHELIN FRANCE ROAD ATLAS 2012, 27 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: France 2012 - Tourist & Motoring atlas (A4-Spiral) (Michelin Tourist and Motoring Atlases) (Spiral-bound)
As usual, one cannot fault the quality of the Michelin cartography - it is the best there is for driving in France. However, the flimsy nature of the paper on which the maps are printed mean that one will have to be extremely careful not to tear or damage the pages when using the atlas. Perhaps this is Michelin's way of ensuring that we buy our atlases more frequently than hiterto. However I feel that this very flimsy paper is a backward step and I would rather pay a little more for decent quality paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Messy and virtually illegible!, 20 May 2012
By 
Ms. Teresa L. Earl "Tel Earl" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: France 2012 - Tourist & Motoring atlas (A4-Spiral) (Michelin Tourist and Motoring Atlases) (Spiral-bound)
I bought this map book as I had a lengthy drive on my own through France. Although I have a Satnav, it doesn't hurt to have a back-up. I attempted to plan my route and it was virtually impossible. There is no way I could read this map - it's a complete mess. I have read maps for years and never had any problems, but this was untidy and not at all user-friendly. I ended up borrowing a friend's map which was easy to read and navigate with.
I purchased this on the recommendation of an Amazon Review, but even the pages are thin and flimsy.
Avoid this map book, and find yourself a decent one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michelin Road Atlas of France, 14 Mar 2012
This review is from: France 2012 - Tourist & Motoring atlas (A4-Spiral) (Michelin Tourist and Motoring Atlases) (Spiral-bound)
Do not go on holiday to France without this. It has virtually everything you wll need for your road journey and unlike some road atlases it also includes railway lines and stations. Compared with the cost of buying maps individually it is excellent value and the spiral binding makes it easy to use and store when travelling. My only criticism is that it does not include the simplified route planning map which shows all the motorway services at a glance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

France 2012 - Tourist & Motoring atlas (A4-Spiral) (Michelin Tourist and Motoring Atlases)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews