Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars16
3.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is the "Bible" for those who are wanting to camp in France, and is constantly updated, incorporating user comments. A single multilingual version is produced every year, although it does help if you have a smattering of French (which campsites tend to appreciate anyway!). It comes with a wealth of helpful regional, local area and town/city maps, which give an indication of where each campsite is located.

For a fun fortnight in France, book the first couple of nights only, and then see where you fancy going after that. Just make sure you take the book with you, although you should manage to pick up another one in France if you forget... (there's a great bookshop in Chartres that we visited for that very reason!)

We really enjoyed some of the campsites on Ile de Re ("La Providence" in Les Portes-en-Re) and in Larmor Plage ("Camping des Algues") but see what takes your fancy. The 'municipal' sites are usually pretty good value for money, although occasionally they can be rather grim and basic compared to the better independently-run campsites.

Bonnes vacances!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2012
My previous edition of this guide was 2004 and was printed on very thin paper. The 2012 version is printed on decent paper and is much easier to manage. In addition it is now split into regions which makes comparison of sites much simpler. Definitely an improvement.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2012
I have been using the Michelin Camping Guide for Years, and this Year I hade to by a new one. It is very informative, but driving instructions to the campsites is not always very good, but all campsites has got longitude and lattitude for use with a GPS.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2012
Really useful guide, especially if, like us, you prefer to see where the road takes you rather than booking in advance. We found some really nice campsites and the book's description and rating was accurate. It would take a bit if getting used to if you're not a French speaker as the main description on each page is in French, although the key is clear and we had no problems because we do have a basic grasp of the language but the Amazon description of the book doesn't clearly communicate this we feel, hence the 4 stars rather than 5. Highly recommend though.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2012
We bought this in a bit of a hurry because we were returning to camping after a gap of almost 20 years and had an opportunity for a couple of weeks in France. The format of the entries is straightforward and, because much of it is in symbols, it's easy to work out what's what. There are many more camp sites in most localities than the guide covers, but it's good to have some to aim at if you're arriving in an area from some distance away. The chapters are organised by Department with maps at the beginning of each section which, handily, also show camp sites in adjoining Departments which you can find in other chapters. From our point of view it was especially useful that sites with facilities for motorhomes are distinguished. The prices were from 2011 but were little different at the end of the 2012 season. The latitude and longitude for sat-navs need using with discretion. One set led us to a Tourist Information Centre and another to a notional point about 1.5 km from the actual entrance. Only then then did we realise that, if the site operator has not provided them, Michelin use generalised co-ordinates, which are distinguished by being in lighter type. The street names Michelin quote are not always marked. However, overall the guidance is helpful and reliable. We hope to get several year's use out of it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2012
Excellent camping guide, not bought one for years. still as good. Prices of sites included. Invaluable when on a budget. Half price too cant go wrong.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2012
This book has the Normandy section, i.e. pages 448- 512 missing. Did not notice this at first as assumed it would be complete!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2012
I had expected a book full of campsites throughout France. However, this unfortunately is just a select few. Wherever we look, or intend to stay, there appear to be very few campsites (if any) and we know from past trips that there are good campsites there. Maybe this book only selects the best of the best. What we wanted is a book showing lots and lots of good campsites.
The caravan club Europe Book is much better - but we wanted just for France!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
I bought this to primarily assist me in sourcing suitable campsites for following the Tour de France.
It's not a bad listing but in some areas it doesn't show some sites that I am/was aware of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
I have always used the Michelin guide while camping in France. It is clear and comprehensive and a pleasure to use while planning trips as well as while actually on holiday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)