Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best guide available
This is the "Bible" for those who are wanting to camp in France, and is constantly updated, incorporating user comments. A single multilingual version is produced every year, although it does help if you have a smattering of French (which campsites tend to appreciate anyway!). It comes with a wealth of helpful regional, local area and town/city maps, which give an...
Published 23 months ago by Kenneth F. Mcara

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Michelin Camping France 2012
This book has the Normandy section, i.e. pages 448- 512 missing. Did not notice this at first as assumed it would be complete!
Published 18 months ago by sissers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best guide available, 3 May 2012
By 
Kenneth F. Mcara "Kenneth F. McAra" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Camping Guide France 2012 (Michelin Camping Guides) (Paperback)
This is the "Bible" for those who are wanting to camp in France, and is constantly updated, incorporating user comments. A single multilingual version is produced every year, although it does help if you have a smattering of French (which campsites tend to appreciate anyway!). It comes with a wealth of helpful regional, local area and town/city maps, which give an indication of where each campsite is located.

For a fun fortnight in France, book the first couple of nights only, and then see where you fancy going after that. Just make sure you take the book with you, although you should manage to pick up another one in France if you forget... (there's a great bookshop in Chartres that we visited for that very reason!)

We really enjoyed some of the campsites on Ile de Re ("La Providence" in Les Portes-en-Re) and in Larmor Plage ("Camping des Algues") but see what takes your fancy. The 'municipal' sites are usually pretty good value for money, although occasionally they can be rather grim and basic compared to the better independently-run campsites.

Bonnes vacances!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Michelin Camping Guide, 18 Mar 2012
By 
L. Needham (Aylesbury, Bucks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Camping Guide France 2012 (Michelin Camping Guides) (Paperback)
My previous edition of this guide was 2004 and was printed on very thin paper. The 2012 version is printed on decent paper and is much easier to manage. In addition it is now split into regions which makes comparison of sites much simpler. Definitely an improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for camping in France, 11 Mar 2012
By 
I. E. Henneman "Inger" (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Camping Guide France 2012 (Michelin Camping Guides) (Paperback)
I have been using the Michelin Camping Guide for Years, and this Year I hade to by a new one. It is very informative, but driving instructions to the campsites is not always very good, but all campsites has got longitude and lattitude for use with a GPS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for camping in France!, 6 Aug 2012
This review is from: Camping Guide France 2012 (Michelin Camping Guides) (Paperback)
Really useful guide, especially if, like us, you prefer to see where the road takes you rather than booking in advance. We found some really nice campsites and the book's description and rating was accurate. It would take a bit if getting used to if you're not a French speaker as the main description on each page is in French, although the key is clear and we had no problems because we do have a basic grasp of the language but the Amazon description of the book doesn't clearly communicate this we feel, hence the 4 stars rather than 5. Highly recommend though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars camping in france, 25 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camping Guide France 2012 (Michelin Camping Guides) (Paperback)
Excellent camping guide, not bought one for years. still as good. Prices of sites included. Invaluable when on a budget. Half price too cant go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reliable - but directions need using with care, 21 Oct 2012
By 
B. J. Juniper (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camping Guide France 2012 (Michelin Camping Guides) (Paperback)
We bought this in a bit of a hurry because we were returning to camping after a gap of almost 20 years and had an opportunity for a couple of weeks in France. The format of the entries is straightforward and, because much of it is in symbols, it's easy to work out what's what. There are many more camp sites in most localities than the guide covers, but it's good to have some to aim at if you're arriving in an area from some distance away. The chapters are organised by Department with maps at the beginning of each section which, handily, also show camp sites in adjoining Departments which you can find in other chapters. From our point of view it was especially useful that sites with facilities for motorhomes are distinguished. The prices were from 2011 but were little different at the end of the 2012 season. The latitude and longitude for sat-navs need using with discretion. One set led us to a Tourist Information Centre and another to a notional point about 1.5 km from the actual entrance. Only then then did we realise that, if the site operator has not provided them, Michelin use generalised co-ordinates, which are distinguished by being in lighter type. The street names Michelin quote are not always marked. However, overall the guidance is helpful and reliable. We hope to get several year's use out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Michelin Camping France 2012, 29 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camping Guide France 2012 (Michelin Camping Guides) (Paperback)
This book has the Normandy section, i.e. pages 448- 512 missing. Did not notice this at first as assumed it would be complete!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's Okay, 9 July 2012
By 
B. S. Hunt "Reviewer" (GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camping Guide France 2012 (Michelin Camping Guides) (Paperback)
I had expected a book full of campsites throughout France. However, this unfortunately is just a select few. Wherever we look, or intend to stay, there appear to be very few campsites (if any) and we know from past trips that there are good campsites there. Maybe this book only selects the best of the best. What we wanted is a book showing lots and lots of good campsites.
The caravan club Europe Book is much better - but we wanted just for France!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camping Guide France 2012 (Michelin Camping Guides) (Paperback)
I have always used the Michelin guide while camping in France. It is clear and comprehensive and a pleasure to use while planning trips as well as while actually on holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Camping Guide France 2012 (Michelin Camping Guides) (Paperback)
As we go campng each summer in France this book is a must in order to choose good camp sites. Well written and user friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa25eaf3c)

This product

Camping Guide France 2012 (Michelin Camping Guides)
Camping Guide France 2012 (Michelin Camping Guides) by Michelin (Paperback - 2 Jan 2012)
Used & New from: 4.97
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews