Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flatfoot
I have walked the Camino before and used the Camino de Santiago Map from Pili Pala Press. This book has better examples of elevations and better route maps. The only information that is lacking is information on hotels at the various towns along the way, which the Pili Pala map has. If all you intend to use are the Albergue and or Rifugo's along the way, then this...
Published on 20 Jan 2012 by Terry Sweetland

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I wouldn't recommend it
I just did the Camino and I found this book rather unreliable. Distances are not really accurate and landscape is not always depicted correctly. You can get a general feeling of the way but I felt dissapointed quite a few times trying to follow it. As a matter of fact you don't need a map because the route is very well marked. What you actually may need are maps of towns...
Published 23 months ago by Emilija


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I wouldn't recommend it, 7 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MICHELIN LOCALKARTE CAMINO DE SANTIAGO (Michelin Kaarten Zoom) (Map)
I just did the Camino and I found this book rather unreliable. Distances are not really accurate and landscape is not always depicted correctly. You can get a general feeling of the way but I felt dissapointed quite a few times trying to follow it. As a matter of fact you don't need a map because the route is very well marked. What you actually may need are maps of towns you're passing but this book includes only 3 or 4 of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flatfoot, 20 Jan 2012
By 
Terry Sweetland "winetime2" (winetime2) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MICHELIN LOCALKARTE CAMINO DE SANTIAGO (Michelin Kaarten Zoom) (Map)
I have walked the Camino before and used the Camino de Santiago Map from Pili Pala Press. This book has better examples of elevations and better route maps. The only information that is lacking is information on hotels at the various towns along the way, which the Pili Pala map has. If all you intend to use are the Albergue and or Rifugo's along the way, then this would be a great map for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight, compact and to the point., 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MICHELIN LOCALKARTE CAMINO DE SANTIAGO (Michelin Kaarten Zoom) (Map)
I bought this after visiting Santiago de Compostella in March 2012. I'm considering walking the Camino when I go there next and I seen this in a shop and liked it's style.

The route is divided into 34 sections and displayed over 68 pages. The remaining pages contain plans of major towns, index, keys, etc. There are also a few for camino 'stamps'. There are 96 pages in total, 16 more than indicated by Amazon.

Each double page spread has a clear, 1:150,000 scale map on one side with your route clearly marked. The opposite page has a diagram showing the stage in elevation and the towns that you'll pass through. You view the pages with the staples running horizontally. There are symbols describing the main facilities on offer in each place including: food shopping, medical facilities, transport links, etc. There are details of all Refugios and Albergues including whether they have facilities for the disabled, numbers of beds, opening dates and hours, telephone number, etc. The previous reviewer pointed out that there are no other accommodations listed, but you'll find these well advertised locally. Each stage has it's distance and a three-level 'difficulty rating' indicated.

I reckon this guide would help you plan and execute your walk quite well. There's no 'fluff' - just fact - so you'll be happy to take it along with you. It's small enough to go in a reasonably sized shirt or trouser pocket and you won't grudge the weight of it.

There's absolutely nothing about the spiritual side of walking the route, or your destination, and this may be a downside for some. My plan is to find out more about this aspect online and from friends. Then, if it's for me, I'll take this as my 'factual' guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An easy to use lightweight compromise to large scale maps and detailed guides., 8 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MICHELIN LOCALKARTE CAMINO DE SANTIAGO (Michelin Kaarten Zoom) (Map)
As an ex Graphic Artist and seasoned walker, mountaineer and trekker I appreciate the clear graphics of the maps, and elevations with refuges and other accommodation clearly marked. However the maps are at a smallish scale and can only give an approximation of the route, though this may not be an issue since by all accounts when walking the Camino the route is clearly marked and regularly changes anyway, so large scale maps like the Spanish IGN maps though clearer will still be inaccurate and will weigh considerably more for the full set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pilgrimage Essential, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MICHELIN LOCALKARTE CAMINO DE SANTIAGO (Michelin Kaarten Zoom) (Map)
I have read and looked at a lot of books about the Camino, this is informative, concise and great info to take on my pilgrimage. Many thanks. Christine Collins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MICHELIN LOCALKARTE CAMINO DE SANTIAGO (Michelin Kaarten Zoom) (Map)
This is proving to be the most useful itemI have acquired - lots of info about the various stages, routes, phrases which may be needed and it is so light & portable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely easy to follow..., 25 Oct 2012
By 
S. Riches - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MICHELIN LOCALKARTE CAMINO DE SANTIAGO (Michelin Kaarten Zoom) (Map)
I love the way this map shows you a sort of "side on" slice of each part of the walk...hills are obvious, towns and villages are easy to see, and the gradients become obvious. It gives you a chance to see what you are in for! All in all a very useful and toughly constructed publication, also it won't add much weight to your backpack. Steve Riches, Northampton, UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good map and up to date info., 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MICHELIN LOCALKARTE CAMINO DE SANTIAGO (Michelin Kaarten Zoom) (Map)
Great map for the Camino, very useful and easy to carry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MICHELIN LOCALKARTE CAMINO DE SANTIAGO (Michelin Kaarten Zoom) (Map)
Excellent service and quality

h b h j jk k g g f f f f d s d e
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

MICHELIN LOCALKARTE CAMINO DE SANTIAGO (Michelin Kaarten Zoom)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews