Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars michelin road map sicily
We used this map for a weeks trip around Sicily and it catered perfectly for our needs. Italy has a tendancy to wait until the junction before putting up directional sign posts so the map being the scale it was is not ideal for navigating through towns but to plan your route using main roads was ideal. We travelled throughout the island and never had a problem reaching...
Published on 3 Oct 2009 by animacol

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sicilia map
It is what you get for the price and French. I found it a disadvantge not having local train stations marked! We could have done with that!
Published on 3 Jun 2010 by Mr Edward Ashill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars michelin road map sicily, 3 Oct 2009
This review is from: Sicilia (Michelin Local Maps) (Michelin Regional Maps) (Map)
We used this map for a weeks trip around Sicily and it catered perfectly for our needs. Italy has a tendancy to wait until the junction before putting up directional sign posts so the map being the scale it was is not ideal for navigating through towns but to plan your route using main roads was ideal. We travelled throughout the island and never had a problem reaching our destination though id recommend getting a more indepth local street map to find hotels etc. The only negatives are the size of it and that its easily wet or torn with all the folding. The city guides on the rear were not much use other than a rough guide to direction. All in all, it served us perfectly well with additional support from google and the guide book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sicilia - road maps, 2 Aug 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sicilia (Michelin Local Maps) (Michelin Regional Maps) (Map)
One of the proudest moments of my life was handing a hire-car back in Sicily without a dent or scratch - a considerable achievement after seven days of white-knuckle driving across much of Sicily, including Mount Etna. Trying to follow the spirits of George S Patton (west), Omar Bradley (mountain middle) and Montgomery (east coast) we saw much of it by car. Having driven in many countries of the world, for most fun and enjoyment, I have grown into the view that one must become one of them, i.e. when in Rome, drive like them. In most countries, I found this easy; "In Cyprus, we drive on the right, left and sometimes in the middle" said the advertising many years ago. The same is true of Sicily but it should also read "at speed, with scant regard for anyone else and, 'certamente' without signals. By day five, I was driving a little like them but, unfortunately, still indicating my future intentions with signals, thereby giving myself away as a hesitant stranger with time to spare.

One of the secrets to avoiding accidents, is knowing where you are going and this map provided all the information required, although it was in small print. Even when I use a SatNav - for which the inventors should be awarded the Nobel Peace Prize - I always look at a map to have a mental image of where I am going. Despite the problems of using a large map in the sea-breezes and finding how to fold it again, it was a useful addition to the holiday packing as have others in the past.

P.S. Having said all that about Sicilian drivers, we never saw an accident in our time there despite constantly feeling we had just narrowly avoided one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sicily Michelin map, 30 July 2009
By 
D. Churchill (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sicilia (Michelin Local Maps) (Michelin Regional Maps) (Map)
good map. Signposting in Sicily very random. Navigating through towns very difficult. Would prefer larger scale map of smaller area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great map - very detailed, 16 May 2011
This review is from: Sicilia (Michelin Local Maps) (Michelin Regional Maps) (Map)
I bought this map for a week-long road trip in Sicily. The map was thorough and didn't let us down. The road signs, on the other hand, are another story.

The only reason it didn't get five stars is because folding the map is a bit fiddly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great map!, 22 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sicilia (Michelin Local Maps) (Michelin Regional Maps) (Map)
This map is excellent and detailed. It marks the important historical sites (although rather oddly misses out the nature reserve on the north west coast) and makes planning a visit to Sicily very straightforward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good map, 25 Jun 2010
By 
This review is from: Sicilia (Michelin Local Maps) (Michelin Regional Maps) (Map)
While travelling with a GPS this map was valuable because sometimes the GPS didn't send us through the best road but through the quickest, so the Michelin map was an asset to certify that the indications given by the GPS were the best ones, and also, for me personally, a map "on paper" helps to give a more accurate idea of the geography of the area and of the location of places in relation to others. It's a good quality-price choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Map of Sicily, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sicilia (Michelin Local Maps) (Michelin Regional Maps) (Map)
Just the job for a trip to Sicily. Use it with a Sicilian book and you will not get lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality map, 21 Nov 2011
By 
C. Goodship (Warlingham, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sicilia (Michelin Local Maps) (Michelin Regional Maps) (Map)
If you need a good quality road map, this is the one to get; it even shows the location of speed cameras on the motorways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sicilia map, 3 Jun 2010
This review is from: Sicilia (Michelin Local Maps) (Michelin Regional Maps) (Map)
It is what you get for the price and French. I found it a disadvantge not having local train stations marked! We could have done with that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sicillia ( Michelin Maps ), 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sicilia (Michelin Local Maps) (Michelin Regional Maps) (Map)
I was pleased with the map and will probably purchase others in the future as we plan to keep travelling using Portugal and Australia as our base. We were however a little disappointed that it took a few days longer to arrive than expected. Maybe this is was due to us living outside the UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafaa0d50)

This product

Sicilia (Michelin Local Maps) (Michelin Regional Maps)
4.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews