Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great historical resource
I went on a battlefield tour of the D-Day landing beaches and the Normandy campaign, and found this fantastically useful. Having things like the flooded areas marked on the map helped put it all into context on the ground.
Published on 27 Aug. 2008 by Dr. Amanda Kear

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent ww2 Normandy zone map
Useful map of the ww2 Normandy area with troop advances indicated on the map. To be honest you would do just as well buying the modern Michelin map of the area. I hardly looked at this on my trip but could be useful if your not fully aware of the historical timeline/areas of the invasion
Published 16 months ago by M. Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great historical resource, 27 Aug. 2008
By 
This review is from: Michelin Historical Map 102: : Battle of Normandy (Michelin Historical Maps) (Map)
I went on a battlefield tour of the D-Day landing beaches and the Normandy campaign, and found this fantastically useful. Having things like the flooded areas marked on the map helped put it all into context on the ground.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Battle of Normandy, 21 Sept. 2009
By 
Mr. Robert White "Rob White" (Totnes, Devon,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Michelin Historical Map 102: : Battle of Normandy (Michelin Historical Maps) (Map)
Like many, I find Dday and onwards fascinating. However so much is going on that the overall progress of the advance - or lack of it at times, is difficult to take in.
This excellent map shows the advance of the main units of all the allied armies, with the relevant dates shown. One can easily see who the adjacent units were and where hold ups occured.
My only major criticisms are
the small scale - ok I accept this is difficult to do on a standard map size,
the dominating weak single colour used to show movements.
That said this is the best single map I have seen of the Normandy campaign and is recommended for use of anyone interested,students of all levels and abilities, re enactors etc. should find information of interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent ww2 Normandy zone map, 21 Sept. 2013
By 
M. Johnson (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michelin Historical Map 102: : Battle of Normandy (Michelin Historical Maps) (Map)
Useful map of the ww2 Normandy area with troop advances indicated on the map. To be honest you would do just as well buying the modern Michelin map of the area. I hardly looked at this on my trip but could be useful if your not fully aware of the historical timeline/areas of the invasion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for D Day buffs, 29 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michelin Historical Map 102: : Battle of Normandy (Michelin Historical Maps) (Map)
If you want a better insight into the D day landings and after, buy this map. Really useful addition to your bookshelf and in a rucksack on visits to the Normandy beaches, excellent value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good complement to a guide book, 23 Nov. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michelin Historical Map 102: : Battle of Normandy (Michelin Historical Maps) (Map)
Fascinating document and a surprisingly useful map if touring the region too.

We used this on a self-guided tour of Normandy along with the Holts Guide, and they complement each other well. Regarding the comment below about the colour and scale, this is true, but it is a facsimilie of the original so blame the 50s!

If you're curious about the day itself, we also found the Ambroses's D-Day oral histories very powerful (if somewhat US-focused, as one would expect).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bringing history to the present., 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michelin Historical Map 102: : Battle of Normandy (Michelin Historical Maps) (Map)
I purchased this map prior to a visit to Normandy two weeks ago. The map is good for comparing the present day road system with the roads in 1944, and this helped us find our way around to see some of the many Battlefield sites, some of which are less known than the main sites.
The quality is satisfactory, though care needs to be taken to avoid accidental tearing. The identification of the D-day beaches and the routes taken following the invasion are quite clear, and easy to follow. It gave us a different perspective on the beach areas to just the present day touring maps.
Delivery was relatively slow, though it did arrive in time for our trip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not the easiest to read, 17 April 2014
By 
A. T. Hickman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michelin Historical Map 102: : Battle of Normandy (Michelin Historical Maps) (Map)
We are all spoilt these days with lovely clear graphics, and this is of course a step back into the past. Still a useful publication and adjunct to studying the history of the battle,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Historic, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michelin Historical Map 102: : Battle of Normandy (Michelin Historical Maps) (Map)
Very clear map,will really bring the area and history to life when we visit for the D-Day 70th anniversary this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good buy, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michelin Historical Map 102: : Battle of Normandy (Michelin Historical Maps) (Map)
Bought this map for going on a trip to the Normandy landing grounds. it was a very good reference map showing all the landing giving dates etc. would recommend this to anyone with an interest in doing the Normandy landing grounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great map, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michelin Historical Map 102: : Battle of Normandy (Michelin Historical Maps) (Map)
A pity these are so hard to come by these days. Michelin produced a fantastic series. Can highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews