Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iconic French classic
One of the most important and influential works of the time. Beautiful and haunting poetry by a tormented genius. A must read for anyone interested in French literature.
Published on 25 Jan. 2013 by Lectrice

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing edition
This edition of Les Fleurs du Mal is a british publication. It does not contain all the poems of the final edition of 1868 and does not follow the order of the list of contents of any of the earlier editions of 1857, or 1861. Some of the banned poems are included such as 'Les bijoux' but other poems for example 'Lola de Valence' are not included here. There is no list...
Published on 15 Mar. 2012 by moorpatch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing edition, 15 Mar. 2012
By 
moorpatch "moorpatch" (Harrogate, North Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Les Fleurs Du Mal (Paperback)
This edition of Les Fleurs du Mal is a british publication. It does not contain all the poems of the final edition of 1868 and does not follow the order of the list of contents of any of the earlier editions of 1857, or 1861. Some of the banned poems are included such as 'Les bijoux' but other poems for example 'Lola de Valence' are not included here. There is no list of contents and no index.
A disappointing purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iconic French classic, 25 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the most important and influential works of the time. Beautiful and haunting poetry by a tormented genius. A must read for anyone interested in French literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick delivery and in good condition, 30 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I probably didn't chose the best edition in terms of beauty of the cover sleeve but that is totally superficial. For the price, it is all that I needed. A french edition of the text in good condition and it arrived very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for one particular poem which I like very much: the part that starts: "mais parmi les chacals..."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Wish it worked better, 9 Oct. 2013
The idea for this prodect is excellent. Unfortunately on my Kindle Fire its working is very erratic. Returning from the glossary may take me to the original text or to another glossary page or even to the book info page. This makes it more frustrating and long winded than necessary as I also have to note the place i am reading at so that I can refind itagain when the glossary puts me back somewhere else. Prrobably Ok who hardly need the glossary at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hypocrite Lecteur, Mon semblable, mon frère!, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a recognised masterpiece in French poetry and needs no review from the likes of me. Just read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Les Fleurs du Mal, 15 Nov. 2010
Great price and perfect condition. An amazing yet challenging read, essential for scholars of French literature. Perfect arts reference for students studying 19th century French culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Les fleurs de mal, 9 Jan. 2011
I should warn customers that this book is 100% in french, this is not a translated version of Baudelaire's work.
However, I feel it's more satisfactory to read the poems in the language they were written, French is such a beautiful language anyway that I feel these poems only merit being read in it.

You don't even need to translated to get the feeling of how beautiful, or sorrowful, grave, upbeat or humorous each poem is, it's as if despite the language barrier, you know exactly what Baudelaire is saying and how he is saying it.

Baudelaire is possibly the greatest poet of the 1920s and lived a typical artistic 'á rebours' lifestyle that allowed him to write so beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I read the book few years ago and loved it. The movie is great too, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Les Fleurs du mal (Paperback)
I read the book few years ago and loved it. The movie is great too! Very different and quirky, takes you away from reality. You enter a different world but emotions are very human. I loved it , it took me away for a while, very magical and visual. Beautiful love story. Would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Les Fleurs Du Mal
Les Fleurs Du Mal by Baudelaire (Paperback - 31 Dec. 1993)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews