Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will notice it's been a few hours since you took it in your hands
“Cool Tools: A Catalog of Possibilities” by Kevin Kelly is an incredibly funny book to read on which hours can be easily “lost” while reader is going through all the innovative reflections, ideas and suggestions that can be found on its pages.

The book contents are result of ten year user reviews experience published on website Cool...
Published 14 months ago by Denis Vukosav

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's a catalog
A catalog. I spent £20 buying a catalog.

It is quite interesting if you sit down and start reading it.
Probably ideal when you are shopping for a man for a present.
Published 3 months ago by mike williams


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will notice it's been a few hours since you took it in your hands, 16 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Cool Tools: A Catalog of Possibilities (Paperback)
“Cool Tools: A Catalog of Possibilities” by Kevin Kelly is an incredibly funny book to read on which hours can be easily “lost” while reader is going through all the innovative reflections, ideas and suggestions that can be found on its pages.

The book contents are result of ten year user reviews experience published on website Cool Tools and contain countless reviews of things related to music, software, hardware, cooking, crafts and other, explaining their characteristics and advantages.

Like authors said on their site “…A cool tool can be any book, gadget, software, video, map, hardware, material, or website that is tried and true. All reviews on this site are written by readers who have actually used the tool and others like it… We only post things we like and ignore the rest…”

Of course, given the amount of information, it was impossible to put all or even most of things that can be found on website, but the authors carefully chosen the best ones, sorted them in categories and presented them in an oversized format together with QR codes which take reader to the product pages.

So if you have a lot of free time or you think you don’t, but will notice it's been a few hours since you took it in your hands, this book can be strongly recommended, because that amount of good information in one place is almost too dangerous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big Book of Awesome!, 31 Mar. 2014
By 
Charles - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cool Tools: A Catalog of Possibilities (Paperback)
To best describe what this book is we need to understand the book that inspired it, the Whole Earth Catalog.
In 1968 Stewart Brand traveled around American hippie communes selling from his truck store. He put together a catalog of his recommendations of the best tools to show to customers "Here's a tool that will make drilling a well, or grinding flour easier", people liked the catalog so much it became his most popular product. The catalog had a massive effect on hippie culture as people used it to discover how to do things like raise bees or build their own homes.

When the internet came along the Whole Earth Catalog faded from view as you could get the same information off the net.
But Kevin Kelly (editor of book) kept the idea alive with a website and we now the modern successor in the form of Cool Tools.

The book itself is 472 pages and a massive 11 x 14 inches in size. It covers a huge range of subjects with over 1,500 recommendations e.g book to learn tracking animals, best chainsaw, best rice cooker, making a low budget movie, world travel on a shoestring budget, build an underground home, ergonomic keyboard, websites with free eBooks, improve your memory, grow edible mushrooms, raise chickens, publish a eBook, wilderness survival, start a business, draw comics, make your own chair, best bike light, make books, solar panels and wind turbines, bread making, home brewing and far too many other things for me to list them all.

If I was to criticised this book I would say I don't agree with some of the choices, some recommendations will be outdated in a few years and to state the obvious it is just a catalog e.g your not actually going to learn how to build a underground home from the catalog, it just tells you some of the basics and recommends a book for further details.

It is easy to see why the hippies loved the Whole Earth Catalog so much, it is incredibly inspiring to think you can do all this stuff and this modern version is just as great, so go get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly engrossing, 28 April 2015
By 
Dow "Dow" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cool Tools: A Catalog of Possibilities (Paperback)
Utterly engrossing.
What I really valued: having someone so sentinent as editor to curate the mountains of information on the web, which brings just what is needed so that I can easily access what I need.
Although it appears counter-cultural, it was delightful being able to read a paper book rather than attempt to browse a website.
I've now bought 3 further copies for friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Like a modern Whole Earth catalogue, 7 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cool Tools: A Catalog of Possibilities (Paperback)
Like a modern Whole Earth catalogue. Yes it's a catalogue but it's full of fascinating things and informative reviews. If you like this type of thing you will have weeks of fun! It is a HUGE book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 22 April 2014
By 
D. J. C. Cuffe "Dave Cuffe" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cool Tools: A Catalog of Possibilities (Paperback)
This is a great resource, although US biased. Also a website for updates/ongoing. I love it! Keep going back to it, even for stuff I'll never want or buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great guide for cool tools, 18 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cool Tools: A Catalog of Possibilities (Paperback)
Fantastic book. My husband loved it so much he ordered a copy for his brother. Already purchased a few cool tools, when have really worked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars everything you might want, 27 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cool Tools: A Catalog of Possibilities (Paperback)
this book is great just to find tools you didnt even know you needed its cost me a fortune allready but well worth the time saving
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it's a catalog, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cool Tools: A Catalog of Possibilities (Paperback)
A catalog. I spent £20 buying a catalog.

It is quite interesting if you sit down and start reading it.
Probably ideal when you are shopping for a man for a present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cool Tools: A Catalog of Possibilities (Paperback)
no comment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cool Tools: A Catalog of Possibilities
Cool Tools: A Catalog of Possibilities by Kevin Kelly (Paperback - 3 Jun. 2014)
£21.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews