Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Adventure In A Land Far, Faraway
Where we left off: With a new Geomancer in place and the Eternal Warrior mostly calmed down, Archer & Armstrong were able to defeat the Null and prevent the destruction of, well, everything. Further mysteries around Archer’s true origin were discovered, and the Eternal Warrior was able to set A&A on the right path to begin investigating… a path that leads...
Published 3 months ago by Keith S. Borders

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Yes some of the revelations in the book are amazing but if nothing comes of them then what was ...
Fred Van Lente's writing strikes me as lazy and lacking editorial control, he seems to throw out concepts just for the hell of it and nothing really seems to come of them and they are just swept aside. Yes some of the revelations in the book are amazing but if nothing comes of them then what was the point? It's much sound and fury signifying nothing. I am a year ahead in...
Published 2 months ago by hawkeyeps


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Adventure In A Land Far, Faraway, 24 Sep 2014
This review is from: Archer & Armstrong Volume 3: Far, Faraway (Paperback)
Where we left off: With a new Geomancer in place and the Eternal Warrior mostly calmed down, Archer & Armstrong were able to defeat the Null and prevent the destruction of, well, everything. Further mysteries around Archer’s true origin were discovered, and the Eternal Warrior was able to set A&A on the right path to begin investigating… a path that leads right to the doors of Project: Rising Spirit!

There is so much to love in this trade paperback! Not only do we get an amazing tale crafted by Fred Van Lente and drawn by Pere Perez, but we also get a Zero issue that detailing the Anni-Pada brother’s fateful first adventure into the Faraway. This issue serves two purposes: give us an “origin” story, but also provide setup for the Far, Faraway story arc.

To say that a lot goes down in this story would be the understatement of all understatements. We get glimpses of Archer’s mysterious connection to Project: Rising Spirit, explanations of many of the world’s disappearance conspiracies, tantalizing glimpses into the surprising future of our characters, humanity in general, and the Valiant Universe overall, love, betrayal, dinosaurs, probe happy alien grays, and (best of all) the return of the Valiant hero known as the Timewalker!!

As I write this review, we are now almost 2 ½ years into the publishing of new Valiant comics. I love the company, love the entire line, and have enjoyed many brilliant tales so far. But, ladies and gentlemen, I humbly submit to you… the Far, Faraway arc of Archer & Armstrong is one of, if not THE, best piece of work Valiant has put out to date.

Read it and find out why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is like the Lost Land of the valiant of old sans ..., 21 Sep 2014
This review is from: Archer & Armstrong Volume 3: Far, Faraway (Paperback)
This trade collects Archer and Armstrong issues #10-13, and #0. Issue #0 is about the 3 immortal brothers who set out to find a land called faraway. This is like the Lost Land of the valiant of old sans Turok where time stands still. The brothers find everything in the land looks good but it is not what it appears and there are dinos to boot. This leads into Issue #10 where they go to area 51 with Archers possessed sister love interest Mary-Maria. Here, they end up going through a portal to faraway. We then find the faraway they go into is in the future. Here, human have evolved into gray aliens with less than average intelligence. They are lead by General Redacted, a harsh general from the 50's. Different people and animals from different times were sucked into the portal and landed in his future faraway earth. Eventually Archer and Armstrong meet up with the Seven Sages who look just like Archer and tell them everything is as Archer foretold. Archer will write religious and philosophical teaching which speak to nonviolence. Many people will follow it and these Sages exist because of Archers teachings. The current Archer does not agree with the no violence philosophy since he wants to save the people in farwaway from General Redacted attack. He tries to find a weapon but instead frees the Timewalker who was trapped in the Timestream. The Sages warn Archer by saving the world with this current path he will end up breaking the world and himself. Ivar and Armstrong reunite and Archer learns about the Timestream from Ivar. The possessed Mary-Maria does it with Armstrong. Infuriated Archer uses a Timemap to get out of faraway leaving behind Armstrong, Ivar and Mary-Maria.

You got to love this fun crazy buddy book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Over the hills and Faraway., 21 Sep 2014
This review is from: Archer & Armstrong Volume 3: Far, Faraway (Paperback)
If you are looking for a good TPB with quality storytelling that keeps you enthralled with each twist and turn, and amused that you find yourself laughing over a simple turn of phrase, then Archer & Armstrong is for you.

This third volume collects issue #0 plus #10-13. Issue #0 is a logical starting point as it introduces us to the first encounter many millennia ago by the Anni-Paddi brothers Ivar, Aram and Gilad, to the Faraway, a dimension without time. Issues #10-13 deals with Obi, Aram and Obi's adopted sister Mary-Maria stumbling into the Faraway from a present day portal in Area 51.

Fred Van Lente succeeds again in presenting a wonderful tale with bizarre interactions between very larger than life individuals. Obi's meeting with General Redacted, a very full on McCarthy era General with anal probe issues, is hilarious, as is Redacted's pep talk to his pilots before they launch an attack. Obi's confusion and our amusement, is exasperated further with his meeting with acolytes from a strange future order that preserves the words and teachings from Obi himself. If this isn't confusing enough, throw in more characters from our past and future, and you're in for a fun filled climatic battle. Yes battles should not be fun but Van Lente has an uncanny ability to make light even in the most tense situations and lust triangles. A favourite moment of hilarity for me was when Mary-Maria during a battle, sees Aram in a far more desirable light. This image is priceless and had me laughing about it to myself days later.

There are only a few books out there at present that make me laugh so much on a regular basis, and this is one of them. I cannot praise the storytelling by Fred Van Lente highly enough. He has the ability to craft an entertaining tale and throw a few curly questions in the mix regarding the whole of the Valiant universe, for us all to ponder as well. If you are a fan of Ivar (The Timewalker) this volume is a must read for you. Even if you have no idea who any of these characters are, pick this volume up and find out what all the fuss is about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Archer and Armstrong Vol. 3: Far, Faraway, 23 Sep 2014
By 
Jaden_Sai (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Archer & Armstrong Volume 3: Far, Faraway (Paperback)
This trade paperback includes Valiant's Archer and Armstrong issues #0, 10-13, from the mind of Fred Van Lente with art by Clayton Henry and Pere Perez.

Issue 0 gives us the true story of The Epic of Gilgamesh as told by the man who lived it, Armstrong retells it to Archer and the story involves Armstrong, his two brothers - Gilad (Eternal Warrior) and Ivar (Timewalker), and the Boon. As the epic journey to the Faraway unfolds, the story serves to clarify the differences of the brothers, in their actions, reactions to danger, and their chosen pursuits in life. This issue was a joy for me, since I love seeing the brothers Anni-Padda together.

Issues #10-13, begins with a journey to a Project Rising Spirit base, Area 51, to investigate Archer's true origin, Mary-Maria is back and she's not alone (even within her own body), a portal takes them into the Faraway, where we get a crazy general with probe issues, dinosaurs, Native Americans, more conspiracies, individuals from our past, future insights, sages, the Timewalker, and all the absurdity made reality that Van Lente can throw at us and it all works to make for a hilariously, fun adventure.

Few comics can actually make me laugh and this is one of them, with every volume Fred Van Lente is crafting a wonderfully entertaining, buddy adventure that I hope you will pick up and enjoy as much as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get lost in the Faraway, 23 Sep 2014
This review is from: Archer & Armstrong Volume 3: Far, Faraway (Paperback)
Valiant has plenty of strong, diverse titles in their range but Archer & Armstrong occupy their own unique corner of the Valiant Universe.

Vol.3 is a prime example of this stature. Fred Van Lente crafts a deft, crazy tale, full of crazy conspiracies, exotic locale and truly insane villains, but he also weaves the drama and friction of the friendship of Archer and Armstrong throughout. We learn more of the origins of Armstrong and his brothers, Gilad and Ivan. Archer learns some tantalizing clues of his origin and his future. The Faraway, the time-lost land our intrepid duo visit, is destined to become a huge cornerstone of the Valiant Universe. General Redacted, the focal villain of this piece, is twisted and hilarious. His firm beliefs in his goals and purpose threaten to engulf and destroy not just our heroic pair but the Faraway land itself. But for me, what shows the heart and scope of this hilarious piece of fantastic fiction is the arrival and actions of Archer’s ‘love’, his adopted sister Mary-Maria. Her presence causes even more friction between Archer and Armstrong, leading to a moment that is stunning yet so human.

With this volume, Archer and Armstrong hit their stride, confident in their tone and zaniness. Certainly one of the best titles Valiant is publishing so do yourself a favor, check it out and get swept up into the conspiracy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Yes some of the revelations in the book are amazing but if nothing comes of them then what was ..., 29 Sep 2014
This review is from: Archer & Armstrong Volume 3: Far, Faraway (Paperback)
Fred Van Lente's writing strikes me as lazy and lacking editorial control, he seems to throw out concepts just for the hell of it and nothing really seems to come of them and they are just swept aside. Yes some of the revelations in the book are amazing but if nothing comes of them then what was the point? It's much sound and fury signifying nothing. I am a year ahead in reading since this volume came out and as of now next nothing has happened from the events of this book.

Having Armstrong sleep with the very young Mary Maria was completely unnecessary and has ruined the Armstrong character for me forever. I no longer respect, like or relate to him anymore. In fact I find under Van Lente's pen Armstrong is little more than an indestructible old fart frat boy wanna be, embarrassing and goofy. The more the series progresses the more Armstrong becomes this. The Armstrong from VH1 was wise and very ethical in spite of his ways, he wasn't always right but he could always be respected. Now VEI's Armstrong is dead to me and all for the sake of a cheap scene to shock the reader, thanks FVL!

The art in this volume is stupendous however, very pleasing work Clayton Henry, Pere Perez and Dave Baron really stunning visuals but the story annoyed me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved every wonderful panel of this one, 22 Sep 2014
This review is from: Archer & Armstrong Volume 3: Far, Faraway (Paperback)
Archer and Armstrong Volume 3: This one goes up to eleven! Hilarious, chock full of conspiracy references, and zany action, it is in this volume that Van Lente really hits his stride. I loved every wonderful panel of this one. From Gray "aliens" with the mind of 7th graders to Ambrose Bierce and his Dodo, Hearst, there are so many great things about this volume. General Redacted is the funniest and most satirical villain I may have ever seen in a comic. Without doubt or hesitation: a 5+ star book. Anyone who loves conspiracies, science fiction, humor, adventure or just clever writing should check this out.

At this rate, I'm going to give anything that makes me smile 4 stars. But I get the feeling this series deserves them. As per usual, it's a good mix of goofy and interesting.

So, I am not going to try and explain this. What I will say is that the rebooted Valiant Universe is wonderful, and this book might be the prime example. I thought I had some sort of sick need to tie everything together, but Fred Van Lente is able to wrap the entire (wonderful) Valiant universe around this one book. I just want more. I highly recommend everyone reading this issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this was an odd corner of the universe where time stood still and some of the great stories for that line of comics were born, 23 Sep 2014
By 
Rob McG (Jacksonville, FL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Archer & Armstrong Volume 3: Far, Faraway (Paperback)
Remember the Lost Land? If you read Valiant comics in the 1990s, this was an odd corner of the universe where time stood still and some of the great stories for that line of comics were born. In the third Archer and Armstrong trade paperback, which collects issues 10-13 as well as a “zero” issue, Valiant’s oddest heroes visit a place called The Faraway. It’s not exactly like the Lost Land, but it’s the same type of place and you can see the potential for many good stories to come from here.

Writer Fred Van Lente is funny in an offbeat way and really has a handle on the characters. He’s creating his own little corner of the Valiant universe, and you would have to call it the most fun – especially if you are into wacked out conspiracy theories. Some great new characters are introduced during this story, including the well-named General Redacted. Pere Perez took care of the art. It is clean as usual, as there is almost a “house style” to the Archer and Armstrong books.

Like the first two trades in the series, this is a great read. Archer and Armstrong is one of the best books out there, and this book gives you a solid look at what makes it great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Far Faraway, 6 Oct 2014
This review is from: Archer & Armstrong Volume 3: Far, Faraway (Paperback)
Archer & Armstrong: Far Faraway is the third story arc in the Archer & Armstrong comic series, collecting issues 0 and 10–13. In this arc, the duo heads to Las Vegas in a quest to uncover what “Project Rising Spirit” is, and what it might mean to Archer’s past. But the two are quickly whisked away to a place called the Faraway, a land out of time (that Armstrong had previously visited, as recounted in the 0 issue included in the collection), where they encounter a variety of people that have disappeared without a trace. And aliens. There are butt-fixated little gray aliens.

Van Lente hits another homer with this arc, and Perez’s art works nicely in establishing a continuity of style in the Archer & Armstrong series (even if the art in each arc has been handled by a different artist). The story is a perfect mix of adventure, humor, and in some cases plain silliness, while also advancing the overall story of the duo, and raising a lot of new questions. Readers who enjoyed the first two arcs will not be disappointed. Readers that are new to A&A but are followers of other Valiant series have a few teases about upcoming events in store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In a Galaxy....., 1 Oct 2014
This review is from: Archer & Armstrong Volume 3: Far, Faraway (Paperback)
This was an interesting, well crafted storyline where Van Lente does a credible job mixing comedy with serious plot points. We find Archer and Armstrong stuck in the Far, Far Away (after visiting Area 51) which old school Valiant fans will certainly equate with the Lost Land. In the FFA we are introduced to General Redacted a 1950's era general leading a lost squadron of fighter planes now piloted by aliens in battle with a primitive tribe protected by Archer & Armstrong and Mary Maria.

Keep in mind Mary Maria is possessed by the Archer parents and it's a little curious to see 'her' attracted to Aram, eventually sleeping with him. Of course this leads to disastrous results for A&A's buddy relationship since the virginal Archer is in love with Mary Maria - only to discover his drunken friend has callously deflowered the woman he's long pined after! Classic! Finally, we discover Ivar (the time travelling Ani-Pada brother) is also in the Far Far Away and get glimpses into key future events regarding Archer and his future disciples.

Great storytelling by Van Lente and clean artwork by Henry & Perez. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Archer & Armstrong Volume 3: Far, Faraway
Archer & Armstrong Volume 3: Far, Faraway by Fred Van Lente (Paperback - 17 Dec 2013)
£8.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews