Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars12
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£18.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2014
Despite the title of the book there is little specific detail about Imhotep. Instead there is much about the science linked to the design of the Step Pyramid and complex at Saqqara. There is coverage of the archaeological site at Nabta Playa (in the Egyptian Sahara) with its link to the later dynastic period as well as the origins of the ancient Egyptians.

Overall this is an intriguing insight into the science of the early Egyptians and their origins. Saying that I was a little disappointed to find that much of the book did focus on topics already covered in the previous book, "Black Genesis".
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
very dissappointed. Having had to trudge through the authors ramblings that never gets to the point, padded full of who said what so book becomes book length, one comes away knowing nothing about Imhotep, ( in fact no reason he should be the title) knowing very little about the stepped pyramid and very little new that hadn't already appeared in author's other books . I. I would have returned the book if I hadn't pre-ordered it for my kindle and not realising they'd delivered it so I missed the deadline for return.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2014
A well written book, love the idea of Imhotep coming from a fairly normal family. Kept referring to previous books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
Once again we have been treated to a thoroughly intriguing insight into ancient Egypt. The contention that Imhotep may have been descended from a black African nation is intriguing. Until his tomb is found and DNA tests are performed on his remains, any hypothesis regarding his ethnicity is possible. Robert Bauval, this time in partnership with Thomas Brophy, has produced another thought provoking book.

Thank you Robert and Thomas for a brilliant read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
Very wonderful and informative book, and I do encourage anyone care for the African gagged history to read this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
Another Bauval classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
intersting book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
This book is an excellent read as all Mr. Bauval's books are . The only fault that I
have with the book is the cover picture of Imhotep . Imhotep looks like a
Caucasian white man with a tan . If we are finally going to be truthful about
the original creators and builders of ancient Egypt , let's depict them for what
they really looked like , Black Africans . Strong images of Black Africans would
help leave no doubt whom these people were .There are still loud bigoted Eurocentric
academic voices that keep insisting that even though Egyptians were dark brown skinned,
they were still white caucasians . Those notions are illogical and ridiculous .
This kind of thinking unfortunatly still exists and must be put to rest forever.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2014
I think you need to have some knowledge of Egypt before being able to truly appreciate this book. It is full of interesting information and is a quest for the truth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
This was a gift for my son. HE was very impressed by it! Thankyou.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)