Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and impressive reproduction with excellent booklet.
Since Leo Mayer first discovered the Mamluk cards in the Topkapı Palace in 1939, the history of playing cards has grown and developed. Piatnik have produced wonderful reproductions of early German packs with accompanying booklets, such as Karnöffel, Ambraser Hofänterspiel and the like, and this Race Point box with reproduced cards and hardcover booklet...
Published 24 months ago by I. R. Lowell

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great quality but...
It is a great deck, with a nice book, and of a good quality.... BUT As I saw the picture on amazon before ordering it, and by reading golden deck etc, I though it would be shiny. You know like some playing cards that are printed with nice shiny golden ink or paper etc.... Instead it is just printed to look like a golden photocopy. So it is basically shades of orange and...
Published 13 months ago by constantinvonb


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and impressive reproduction with excellent booklet., 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Tarot of Visconti: Sforza Deck (Paperback)
Since Leo Mayer first discovered the Mamluk cards in the Topkapı Palace in 1939, the history of playing cards has grown and developed. Piatnik have produced wonderful reproductions of early German packs with accompanying booklets, such as Karnöffel, Ambraser Hofänterspiel and the like, and this Race Point box with reproduced cards and hardcover booklet adds wonderfully to such productions. Obviously by calling it ‘The Golden Tarot’ the publishers are aiming at the New Age Spritualism market, and the majority of the booklet is about using the cards for ‘readings’. however, it is clearly pointed out in the introduction that the cards were produced in this form — that is four suits and the extra trionfi or trumps suit to play agame, rather than for divination. Indeed this did not become the use for such card packs until the end of the eighteenth century. More properly known as the Visconti-Sforza (or Sforza-Visconti) Pack or Deck, this wonderful production supersedes the previous publication by Lo Scarabeo of just the trionfi or trumps in ‘The Tarot of Visconti’. Whether you are interested in the Italian Renaissance historically or artistically, or in the history of the development of cards, or just looking for a beautiful tarot pack, I recommend highly this beautiful publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Value out there - get them before the price goes sky high again!, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Tarot of Visconti: Sforza Deck (Paperback)
When this arrived I was so pleased with it that I immediately ordered a second one for a friend. The cards and book are of good quality and contain a comprehensive (if short) introduction to the genesis of Tarot cards and the ruling family who invented them.

Regarding "authenticity" people should be aware though that these are NOT the cards from the Pierpoint Morgan Visconti Tarot that were taken from actual photographs of the original items, the cards in this set are redesigned digital approximations of Morgan cards. The re-imaging and repainting of the Morgan images that come with this package is open for debate and personal taste, some will love them and some will hate them and while some of the fine details have been clarified others have either been changed or removed completely with all the faces having been changed to look more "Jolly" than the sometimes dour expressions on the Pierpoint Morgan cards.
Being lucky enough to own a set first edition of Pierpoint Morgan cards I would say that in some respects the embellishment on this version enhances them but also takes away a great deal in regards to the "Emotional Feel" of the cards while the four "Missing" cards in this set are completely different to the ones that were commissioned for the Morgan set so please be aware of this before purchase to avoid being disappointed. Personally I like this version of the Visconte cards and I am glad that this publisher hasn't coated them in an inch of shiny resin so no sunglasses are necessary when reading with these.

The book itself is also a High quality product giving a brief outline of the Visconte family and the circumstances that brought the cards into being. However that being said this book is not for people with delicate sensibilities because it also exposes a lot of the late Eighteenth Century fraud claiming that Tarot cards were from Egypt so be discerning whom this is given to (I'v seen people having to be scraped off the ceiling because of the uncomfortable truth about the Egyips origins fraud).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Tarot of Visconti: Sforza Deck (Paperback)
I was astonished when this arrived. Not only did it contain the wonderful Tarot deck based upon the very first Tarot, the Visconti-Sforza, but it also had a hard-backed and beautifully illustrated guide to the cards, plus a bag for the cards. The box was sturdy and attractive. Very impressed indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly Surprised, 10 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Tarot of Visconti: Sforza Deck (Paperback)
I have to admit, I am very pleasantly surprised by this purchase.

For mere 16 pounds (at the moment), you get a set of beautiful cards; along with them, a hard-cover book with history and meaning of tarot and Visconti-Sforza lines, which helps appreciate the historical value of the art, as well as provide a little insight into the game of triumphs where tarot was originally used.

The purple reading cloth mentioned in description is not folded under the book - it is, in fact, held in a small paper container of it's own, which prevents damage or creases. Entire set is encased in a high quality hard-back-like box closed with magnetic lid. All in all, it's a really good, high quality set for extremely decent price and I am highly pleased with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Deck, 7 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Tarot of Visconti: Sforza Deck (Paperback)
The cards are absolutely beautiful (much better than I expected) and I think this Tarot deck really is a piece of art. Perfect for colectors or everybody who, like me, admires the history of Tarot. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars really good!, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Tarot of Visconti: Sforza Deck (Paperback)
This box is amazing! the cards are really big (i didn't expect that big actually) the book is really good but doesn't have so many 'games' to do. Any what they immagines are soo god!

Questa scatola è molto bella e comprende tante cose, le carte sono un pò troppo grandi personalmente, ma i disegni sono bellissimi. il libro è scritto molto bene, molto sotico ma pochi modi per leggere le carte.

lo consiglio!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was bought as a gift but it looks amazing, 27 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Tarot of Visconti: Sforza Deck (Paperback)
The Golden Tarot was bought as a gift but it looks amazing, Packaging and quality are very good. very good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful cards and a purple headscarf!, 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Tarot of Visconti: Sforza Deck (Paperback)
Amazingly good value - opnly £15.99 with free p&p when I bought the set. The cards are excellent quality and very well produced. The book is also nicely printed and presented - I've yet to read it so can't comment further. For me, the main purpose is to acquire one of the keystones of Tarot history. As someone who has been interested in Tarot for many years, I really appreciate the chance to buy reproductions of historical packs, and this is a beauty. An amusing bonus included with the pack and book set is a small square of purple satin cloth - presumably to lay out the reading on? Though it's a trifle small for that. To wear on one's head when divining?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great quality but..., 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Tarot of Visconti: Sforza Deck (Paperback)
It is a great deck, with a nice book, and of a good quality.... BUT As I saw the picture on amazon before ordering it, and by reading golden deck etc, I though it would be shiny. You know like some playing cards that are printed with nice shiny golden ink or paper etc.... Instead it is just printed to look like a golden photocopy. So it is basically shades of orange and yellow, not even close to remind gold.
I wouldn't but it if I knew it, but for a product that cheap I guess it's ok to keep it as a spare deck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully illustrated Tarot, 20 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Golden Tarot of Visconti: Sforza Deck (Paperback)
This is a very nicely packaged set of Tarot cards. It contains an informative book by Mary Packard about the cards included which are based on a 15th Century pack produced for a wealthy Italian family. The odd card missing from the original pack has been cleverly recreated by the illustrator Rachel Clowes. In fact, the high standard of illustration helps to make this beautifully produced boxed set even more special.It was a nice touch too, to include a purple satin Tarot cloth. All round, a lovely production which would make a handsome gift for anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Golden Tarot of Visconti: Sforza Deck
The Golden Tarot of Visconti: Sforza Deck by Mary Packard (Paperback - 15 Mar. 2013)
£16.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews