Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guide to the Canon Powershot S100
This is a very well written book and is laid out in a logical way to help the owner of a Powershot S100 to get the best out of their camera.
Published on 24 Jun 2012 by Anthony

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings
As with many books about photography this one contains far more about basic photography than a reasonable photographer needs, what I want to know is how the camera works and how certain effects can be achieved. To be fair it covers these but interspersed with a bunch of stuff which is not camera specific. The author also has an annoying habit of starting to explain...
Published 20 months ago by Kitchen fiend


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guide to the Canon Powershot S100, 24 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photographer's Guide to the Canon PowerShot S100 (Paperback)
This is a very well written book and is laid out in a logical way to help the owner of a Powershot S100 to get the best out of their camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative, 9 Nov 2012
By 
William I. Whitaker "Williamtje" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The manual that comes with the camera is really just a start up guide .... if you want to learn more and understand how to set the camera up properly, then this book is for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Missing Manual, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Photographer's Guide to the Canon PowerShot S100 (Paperback)
The excellent little S100 unfortunately comes without a printed manual - or at least mine did. You can print one from the CD, but it's huge and it's loose-leaf. You could print and bind but you could more easily buy this, which is comprehensive, comprehensible, and easy to use. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide, 29 Jun 2012
This review is from: Photographer's Guide to the Canon PowerShot S100 (Paperback)
Think of this as a printed copy of the instruction manual on ths disc, but with practical tips too. Cheaper than printing it from the disc and you can read it in the bath. Seems to cover everything you'd want to know. I'd recommend it. A good camera too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with many books about photography this one contains far more about basic photography than a reasonable photographer needs, what I want to know is how the camera works and how certain effects can be achieved. To be fair it covers these but interspersed with a bunch of stuff which is not camera specific. The author also has an annoying habit of starting to explain something in one chapter and then instead of finishing it says "we will cover that in a later chapter". Yes the book is usable but I would have preferred more of a quick reference book than the rambling involved in this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good guide, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very useful but preferred a printed book - still packed full of useful stuff to help get to know camera in an easier way than with manual form Canon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, this is great!, 18 Dec 2012
By 
Lindsay R. Bayne (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a tremendous resource for the person new to the S100 and its amazing versatility. I haven't found any criticism or anything I've not understood, yet - although, with underwater use in mind and with the Canon S100 much utilised amongst SCUBA colleagues in this high end compact area, I would have expected and liked to see some guide on getting the best out of the camera in this environment specifically. Oh well, a niche clientèle!
So, that's my criticism - There is a lot of camera in the S100, and similarly in this guide - for a comparative digital novice like me, I can appreciate this - and the fact that expertise and understanding will take some time and effort - although there is an 'idiot' auto mode as well which works well above water, but not so great under.
My conclusion appreciates the help that this text will provide, especially for me, and represents by far the most logical and organised approach that I have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Photographer's Guide to the Canon PowerShot S100
Photographer's Guide to the Canon PowerShot S100 by Alexander S. White (Paperback - 18 Dec 2011)
£15.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews